We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Ranked #35 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disgusting Hotel!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We recently stayed here for one night thankfully! The room we stayed in was disgusting so small! The "EN-SUITE" as they described it was filthy it smelt of urine and we had to put towels on the floor to protect our feet! We only stayed because we had paid as we were asked on arrival! The bed linen looked clean so we reluctantly stayed but would never stay again and anyone that stays here just be warned it is dreadful!!

Room Tip: sea view if you are so desperate to stay in this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 3babsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    215
    92
    47
    30
See reviews for
181
316
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

spent 3 nights here from 29th june. Paula&Paul give you a 5star service,from the minute you arrive until you leave. have a problem with my knee and paula moved us to another room after one night so i did not need to use the stairs. I would never have asked but she came and offered me a room change. Which i was so grateful for. rooms are lovely, breakfasts are charged extra but the choice is good, and a good quality of produce, unlimited tea,coffee,and fruit juices,cereal fresh fruit, for a charge of £5. This as paula told me is budget accomodation, in my opinion it is way above that, and is one of the best B&B i have stayed in.
look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julieh629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is an excellent guest house in a fabulous location in Scarborough. The rooms are clean, cosy and with the comfiest bed ever. The owners cannot do enough for you and you are assured of a very warm welcome. One of the four legged guests even settled down to her own breakfast of scrambled eggs - very impressive! This will definitely be the place to stay for all our future visits in Scarborough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Me and my partner stayed in the guest house for two nights and it couldnt have been better. The room was spotless with a comfy bed and a beautiful view of the sea in the morning. Paula and Paul went above and beyond and even printed some tickets for us. Lovely people and cant do enough to help!

The price was really good, the location was perfect and we will be back, hopefully soon!

Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lothop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This Hotel is lovely and clean and the owners are fantastic, they are friendly and are only too happy to help The location of this hotel was excellent for us, it is a little walk into the town but not to far, Scarborough is hilly. The breakfast is lovely and the bed was very comfortable, we both slept excellently. We will be returning, annually hopefully.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here one night for a short break, and had a fantastic sea view right across the north bay, from our family room at the front. The owners are very friendly and helpful and made our kids feel really welcome. The breakfast was lovely, and we used the pool table and the bar. Great value, and the room though small had everything we needed. The off road parking was also very useful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANCHESTER
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed here for one night with our two small children while visiting Scarborough. The room was big enough for what we needed and the bunk beds went down well with the kids. Very friendly welcoming owners Paul and Paula. We used the bar in the evening and the games room. The breakfast was very nice plenty of it and lots of choice. Would recommend to any one looking for a guest house in Scarborough. It's very central to north and South Bay and close to the castle. Really enjoyed our stay. Thanks ..

Room Tip: Excellent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHEBS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#22 of 182 in Scarborough
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#12 of 182 in Scarborough
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airedale Guest House
Airedale Guest House
#46 of 182 in Scarborough
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 182 in Scarborough
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Gardens Hotel

Property: Clarence Gardens Hotel
Address: 4-5 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished in January 2016 with a £100,000 makeover, The Clarence Gardens Hotels boasts breathtaking sea views over Scarborough's famous and historic North Bay, you are only a short walk to all the major sights and sounds. The town centre is also on your doorstep with the South Bay beach only 5 minutes away. With facilities including a fully stocked licensed bar with panoramaic views of the North Bay, a large function room - perfect for all occasions and events, a games room with Nintendo Wii and flat screen television, the Clarence Gardens provides fantastic affordable accommodation in a superb location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarence Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing