We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Ranked #37 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Spent a long weekend at the Clarence Gardens. As ever, the owners could not do enough for you and always have a sunny smiley disposition. The room was immaculate and the breakfast tasty and filling. Despite this stay being during the recent storms the hotel was lovely and cosy for the duration. Other advantages are the private car park and the fact that the hotel is dog friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The premier room, although slightly more expensive, is extremely cosy and has a spectacular sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Really nice clean hotel with welcoming and helpful owners . Ideal location for everything in Scarbourgh with all things only a few minutes away in all directions . Lovely views of North Bay from the rooms and bed was really comfy . Didn't have breakfast as we were visiting friends but it did smell nice and they do a great price if you book the night before . The nicest place that we have stayed in Scarbourgh so will be staying again in the future !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirky65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

we have been going to the Clarence for years now and allways get a warm welcome,the hosts paul and paula are lovely and friendly and will look after you,the rooms are clean and cosy I cant fault it at all if ever we are going to scarbrough we stay there they have a bar a games room as well and the breakfasts are great, and the price is right.

Room Tip: the front rooms are the best for a lovely view, but we don't mind the back rooms there fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A very warm and friendly hotel, Paula could not do enough to make us comfortable. Very nice Breakfasts. Free car parking, nice little bar open every night and kids loved the games room with pool table. We had a family room on 2nd floor, great view of north bay. The hotel lift meant we did not struggle with cases. Thanks for a lovely stay, we will return!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank LeedsGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We booked online for two nights in the middle of March 2013 for our mini honeymoon. I rang up a few weeks before and explained it was our honeymoon and we were upgraded to a fancy room free of charge. When we arrived on the 15/3/13 we were greeted in a very friendly manner by all the staff, our room was clean and very comfy, it had everything in it we needed for our weekend break The bar area and pool table were a lovely and very relaxing, our breakfast was wonderful and catered to every dietary need anyone could possible have. The staff could not do enough for us we didn't have a problem with any of our stay. The hotel is in a ideal location you can walk to any park of Scarborough in a ten minutes. There is a lovely Indian restaurant five minutes from the hotel.
Thank you Paul and Paula and everyone else who made or stay brilliant and for a wonderful start to married life.
We have already booked to go back for your 1st wedding anniversary 2014.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute to say 1 night and thought for the price why not... From the minute we walked in Paula and Paul were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent quality and value.

We would stay again as we are sure for the price you would not find better or the level of service that Paula and Paul give. They have it just right, which makes you want to return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 16lemonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is situated perfectly to be walking distance to both the North or South shore and also close to town centre. Me & my partner stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute.

The room was beautiful - a double sea view room with a large bay window with a table and chairs to enjoy watching the tide go out in the morning. The bed was extremly comfy (im sure it had a memory foam mattress topper), there was a tv with freeview and the shower ensuite was faultless. Each day the room was cleaned and our tea & coffee was replenished.

The breakfast was lovely at a great price and plenty of selection on the menu.

Paula & Paul who run this lovely place were the most friendly people i have ever met! Always happy to help and checking everything is okay when we saw them on our way out/in.

Thank you for our stay, we have agreed that we have found our hotel to stay in from now on. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arron-Danielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
404 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#35 of 183 in Scarborough
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Oakwheel Inn
The Oakwheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Burniston
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#26 of 183 in Scarborough
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#122 of 183 in Scarborough
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Gardens Hotel

Address: 4-5 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £40 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished in January 2016 with a £100,000 makeover, The Clarence Gardens Hotels boasts breathtaking sea views over Scarborough's famous and historic North Bay, you are only a short walk to all the major sights and sounds. The town centre is also on your doorstep with the South Bay beach only 5 minutes away. With facilities including a fully stocked licensed bar with panoramaic views of the North Bay, a large function room - perfect for all occasions and events, a games room with Nintendo Wii and flat screen television, the Clarence Gardens provides fantastic affordable accommodation in a superb location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarence Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing