We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tall Storeys Guest House
Ranked #25 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great location near castle”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Very near the castle and only 5 mins walk from the foreshore. Room 2 gave great sea views and had a lovely four poster bed.

Owners were very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast fantastic and great variety.

Room Tip: Room 2 great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
111
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TOWLAW
Level Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

lovely little guest house, lots of nice finishing touches very nice hosts, very close to sea front, but not for a disabled person or anyone who finds it hard to get about , Hotel is very clean, a realy sweet guest house,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisatowlaw1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant couple of days in Scarborough, staying at the Tall Storeys. It is exceptionally well located, on the hill, near the castle, a short walk down to the harbour - and also a short walk to the main shopping area - peaceful yet near the hustle and bustle of the foreshore. Scarborough is a glorious mixture of elegance and vulgarity - fabulous views over the two bays - many lovely places to walk - and numerous restaurants where you can consume fresh locally caught fish - and (if you like) mushy peas! We found the 55 fish restaurant particularly good - unpretentious and family oriented. The hotel itself is comfortable, walls adorned with many scenes of Scarborough, good breakfast - the room smallish with a small shower room. The only downside of our stay at Tall Storeys was the lack of a sea view room, which we had booked, but owing to a mistake by the owners was no longer available when we arrived - an error partly excusable since they had taken on the hotel only a few weeks earlier.

Room Tip: Check you are getting the room you booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letchworthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My girlfriend and I recently visited this nice little place as we love travelling to Scarborough and wanted to try somewhere new. It was our first time here, and certainly won't be the last. I will break the review into parts, summary then covering location, building, room and the staff.

Its a couple who run it, who told us they had recently taken it over. Morna made us feel at ease and couldn't have done more for us to make our stay enjoyable. They were both extremely friendly and there was no awkward silences which you sometimes get when its not busy, which it wasn't on our stay.

It is located in a quiet street, 2 minutes walk from sea front, which is quite an odd sensation that you can be in total peace in your room or the nice garden decked out with solid chairs and table, and walk down to the front and your in the tourism central. There's boat rides, gorgeous views and the arcades, cafe's and usual sea front attractions. If you get chance, walk down to the lighthouse during the evening. The reflections of the seafront looks beautiful, a sure camera moment.

The hotel has a very subtle smell from the scented sticks in the hallway that my girlfriend actually liked so much she asked and went out to buy! Smoking is not allowed anywhere and so that's always good, plus you have the fresh sea air a windows-opening away. There is a communal lounge which we were the only ones that used it on our stay. It had a couple of plugs available for us to use our laptop on, and a free fast WiFi point so we were on-line to email and Facebook and whatever else. The garden, which was looking very nice with plenty of flowers and plants, and big enough to sit comfortably with a couple of decent sized groups. Its not big enough for ball games, but I wouldn't have liked that anyway. We wanted peace, and peace we got.

The breakfast consisted of 3 bowls of various fruits to choose from, yoghurt, cereals, toast, jams, honey and fresh orange juice. Then there was a beautiful full english breakfast. Often in B&Bs or hotels, breakfasts are skimped on & use the cheapest stuff which tastes awful, this however was beautiful. Ian certainly knows how to cook it well, and we were asked every morning what we wanted. Small things like having free range eggs, and not half a pound of fat hanging off the bacon - again the quality. The sausages were really good too. I've probably forgotton a bit of other food available, but there was decanted coffee and fresh orange juice which we both enjoyed too.

Our room had a sea view, and of the harbour and had a 4 poster bed which was a first for me. Very comfortable and no springs sticking up your back and so many pillows that we both took one off, but some people may prefer that. The en suite bathroom was small with a shower and toilet with small sink, my only problem was finding somewhere to put all my toiletries, so I kepted most in the bag while not in use. The shower was nice and warm within a second or so of water which was great..

The room was a nice temperature and the window had a security bit so nobody could fall out! In the past we have visited several places that have been too hot or too cold, so being able to control the radiator and window opening a wide way was definitely a boon, especially as it was sunny and we struggle to sleep in the heat. It also had a flat screen TV with loads of channels, alarm clock and several DVDs to choose from. We also had the usual tea/coffee/hot choc and complementary biscuits and chocolates every day.

The place also had a clean and tidy conservatory where a couple of cats clearly preferred to reside. One of them was very playful and loved to be stroked, despite being unknown to me, quite happily rolled over and purred while I tickled him. Its small things like this that made us thoroughly enjoy the place and feel at ease.

Morna and Ian are both very nice people who have obviously got their heart in this place. They were doing everything to make our stay as nice as possible, while not being over bearing or fussy. We were given a card for parking which gave us ability to park anywhere in the zone. My advice would be to take a parking spinner card so that on your last day you can stay an extra couple of hours in the morning if you fancy a last walk around after you've cleared your room out. It is very well kept, clean and tidy everywhere and very difficult to fault.

Aside from the limited space for toiletries, the only other bad bit was that our stay had to come to an end. We will definitely be back, and look forward to it very much Indeed.

Room Tip: higher up obviously has the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertT1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The host Ian could not do enough for us. We had a good nights sleep in this lovely place. The view of the harbour was worth coming all of this way. A good night was followed by a good breakfast and Ian telling us what was worth seeing in the area. This was definitly a place I will return again to.

They have another happy customer.

Paul Davies
MBM ltd

Room Tip: Ask for the Harbour view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulDavieshistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
575 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#10 of 183 in Scarborough
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 183 in Scarborough
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#24 of 183 in Scarborough
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Storeys Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Storeys Guest House

Property: Tall Storeys Guest House
Address: 131 Longwestgate | Old Town, Scarborough YO11 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Storeys Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Storey’s is Grade II listed Regency period town house that has been sensitively renovated to retain many period features. Situated in the Old Town overlooking the harbor and across the South Bay it is a couple of minutes walk from the harbor, sea front and town shopping centre. Bedrooms feature either four poster or half tester beds elegantly decorated to provide cozy, intimate surroundings. Vegetarian, vegan and special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tall Storeys Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing