We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely building, lovely situation, excellent hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tall Storeys Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tall Storeys Guest House
Ranked #26 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely building, lovely situation, excellent hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights and will have no hesitation in returning. The bed was really comfortable and the breakfast very very good. Mona and Ian were attentive and friendly as well as helpful. A really positive experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
102
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haxey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a little gem.

A gorgeous amd spotless place, and we had a fantastic stay.

The hosts were such nice people and the breakfast was outstanding (Including the homemade lemon curd)

We will definately be back again very very soon

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a lovely hotel, with lovey host's, fantastic breakfast and much much more.
This place would leave the hotel inspector speechless!!
It is small but very well thought out, everything in it's place with those all important little touches.
I couldn't find any dust or dirt, carpets and curtains where spot less.......
Simply fantastic. We are going back in a few days :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicster83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morna2013, Owner at Tall Storeys Guest House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is great to know how much people enjoy staying at Tall Storeys and that we seem to be on the right track considering we are so new to the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Tall Storeys Hotel . Our room was like something from Downton Abbey. The room was beautifully decorated in Edwardian Style and spotlessly clean. A grand four poster in which we had a really good nights sleep, a lovely sea view and tea coffee and biscuits were nicely set out on a side table next to the fire place. The chocolates were a nice touch. Two comfy chairs to sit and drink your tea. For breakfast there was everything you could wish for. I had muesli with a selection of fresh berries fruit and a full English breakfast which was very tasty. Ian and Morna were perfect hosts. Friendly and helpful, we will definitely return

Room Tip: Sea view and four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdsundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have just had one of the nicest stays we have ever had , whilst visiting the Olivers mount road races, what a beautiful building and fantastic owners , We had a really lovely room with one of the nicest views we have ever had over the south bay..
we found this gem of a place just by chance searching late rooms , The whole place is spotlessly clean & well maintained, fresh flowers made the place smell lovely.
The breakfast was the best we had ever had, There was so much choice cereal fresh fruit seeds yogurt, Then full English which was cooked to perfection, we are vegetarian & Quorn sausages were offered they were perfect... everything is cooked to order & presented perfectly
both Ian & Morna make a great team they are very warm friendly people, we felt very welcome instantly .
we can't wait to visit again next September for the next years racing

Room Tip: The sea view was lovely but would be happy in any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiedays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morna2013, Owner at Tall Storeys Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review - we do our very best to make your stay the best we possibly can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just stayed overnight at this hotel and we think this Hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in. It is just perfect in every way. The owners are friendly without being over the top, the decor and room are superb with attention to detail, there is nothing to fault here. It is the best place to stay for a relaxing break from it all, it is close enough to the sea front but located in a quieter part of Scarborough. Yes it can be difficult to park near the Hotel, but it is definately worth perservering as once you are over the Hotel threshhold you enter a delighful harbour of rest and tranquility. The breakfast is just scrumptious with everything anyone could want, fresh fruit salad, porridge, accompanied with a freshly cooked full english freshly breakfast. I would definately recommend this Hotel and we can't wait to return to this Hotel when we visit Scarborough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Best guest house we have ever stayed in. The view over the bay was amazing, the room with the four poster was gorgeous and lovely finishing touches in the Room with the dressing gowns and chocolates. The hotel was spotless and the breakfast best ever. Would definitely recommend. The location was spot on too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichGill66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morna2013, Owner at Tall Storeys Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
What a lovely review - thank you so much, we really appreciate your comments and hope to see you again when you come back to Scarborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Storeys Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Storeys Guest House

Property: Tall Storeys Guest House
Address: 131 Longwestgate | Old Town, Scarborough YO11 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Storeys Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Storey’s is Grade II listed Regency period town house that has been sensitively renovated to retain many period features. Situated in the Old Town overlooking the harbor and across the South Bay it is a couple of minutes walk from the harbor, sea front and town shopping centre. Bedrooms feature either four poster or half tester beds elegantly decorated to provide cozy, intimate surroundings. Vegetarian, vegan and special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tall Storeys Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing