We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vineyard at Stockcross

The Vineyard at Stockcross
Ranked #7 of 186 Restaurants in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$46 - US$158
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Vineyard, aka ‘food heaven’ for those in the knowChoose from our new 18 dish menu that changes regularly and have fun creating your own tasting menu and selecting wines. Or choose the 5 or 7 course tasting menu with wines matched by our wine coaches.Our French chef, Daniel Galmiche regularly appears on Saturday Kitchen and draws upon his unique experience and passion to share his love of food and authentic French/Mediterranean cooking. In addition, many seasonal dishes are locally sourced from sustainable stocks - a triumphant blending of Old World taste and New World values you might say.Whether you're here on a romantic weekend, celebrating an anniversary, enjoying a family reunion or just getting together over a light supper and a few glasses of delicious wine, you're guaranteed to enjoy a very special gastronomic experience at The Vineyard, Berkshire
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

If you are happy to pay through the nose for poor service, tiny portions, dowdy decor and a setting that looks more like a home for the geriatric, then I can commend a visit to The Vineyard.

The restaurant is completely lacking in atmosphere - on the day of our visit there were three family parties (a 50th wedding anniversary for 18, an 18th birthday party and a 50th birthday celebration) and yet there was not even piped music let alone any signs of a pianist.

The staff are disorganised and the whole place lacks the charm that we thought we would enjoy in a hotel that charges £40 for Sunday lunch.

Given the opportunity to do so the Hotel Manager treated our feedback with arrogant complacency and naively suggested that he hoped they would perform better on our next visit. He will have a long wait!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    100
    46
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sadly very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We visited The Vineyard for a birthday occasion this weekend.

This is our feedback:

- We experienced extremely slow service for lunch on arrival
- Our room was unclean. The clothes brush was covered in human hair and the bed linen had what looked like blood marks on it
- We went to the reception to ask for some ice to refresh our champagne bucket. The receptionist said it would be sent up to our room. After half an hour passed and there was no sign of the ice arriving we went downstairs and asked if it would be coming shortly. Another member of staff said it would be sent to the room. Given the half hour wait last time we decided it was in my best interest to follow the woman to the bar area and collect it ourselves. Over an hour after the first request another member of staff came to our room with a bucket of ice. After we explained the situation he offered no apology.
- Sitting down to dinner we were intent on only selecting certain items from the menu, having decided that the 4/5 course tasting menu wasn't what we wanted. After we ordered what we would have considered a starter and a main the maître'd laughed in what can only be described as a snide, derogatory manner. We felt bullied into ordering more than we wanted and had to be quite firm to get our point 'accepted'. Once the order had finally been placed we waited over an hour between the two dishes despite those around us receiving several dishes in that period.
- When our second dish finally arrived the wild rice served with the duck had the most horrendous smell, akin to a wet dog. It was that rank a smell it made us nauseous to the point we couldn't even conceive of tasting it. This was the final straw. We made a complaint to our server which was met with a limp apology. Ordinarily a complaint of this nature would at least warrant a personal apology from the Food & Beverage Manager. No one appeared.
- After this ordeal had ended we decided to commiserate with a drink at the bar. Despite none of the staff really doing anything, there was no one there to serve the three people already waiting to order a drink.

Unfortunately the list could go on. What seems apparent is a complete lack of management, communication between staff and general customer care. We truly were shocked that a supposed 5-star hotel with a renowned reputation could fall so short of expectations. We had hoped to stay again and recommend the hotel to friends. Neither will happen now.

So much is good about the Vineyard. However, what we experienced this weekend, if not improved upon, will harm the reputation of the establishment significantly in the long term.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 10023Matthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kintbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal for a special occassion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and daughter treated me to Sunday lunch at The Vineyard for my Birthday. It was the first time we had been there, and we were not disappointed. We went on a beautiful summer's day, and it certainly showed the place off at its best.

Our meal was superb and a good price for the quality of both the food and the surroundings.

The really lovely thing about the Vineyard, is that it manages to combine a smart and sophisticated environment, with a relaxed approach. This was certainly borne out in the way that they dealt with our 9 year old daughter, making her feel very special in an unpretentious way. They also had a great children's menu which was delivered with just the right blend of ,child friendliness meets fine dining,

All in all a memorable Birthday, and we will certainly return, and we would definitely recommend.

I have since been to the Spa for a half day package including one treatment and lunch, which is also to be highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nearly 5 Star!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Well not a total disappointment but could still do with improvements on the staff reception area! Breakfast wonderful. Spa not 5 star. Treatments fantastic. Rooms 4 star. Balcony furniture dirty & green mould on so can't sit on. Reception greeting poor! Not shown to room just told to go down this corridor turn left turn right up stairs etc etc etc! No help with luggage help to room.No tea facilities in room. No public computer or printer to use. Nearly there keep working hard to achieve 5 star!

Helpful?
Thank facepainting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I were giving a voucher from friends for a wedding aniversary.
The service and the meal were of the highest standard yet we were made to feel very welcome.
It is expensive but certainly value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vineyard at Stockcross also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to The Vineyard at Stockcross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing