We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill!”
Review of The Furze Bush Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Furze Bush Inn
Ranked #14 of 23 Newbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have stayed here a few times in the past to visit a friend and each time I have been, there has been a deterioration in standards.

On my most recent visit, I stayed for two nights (bed and breakfast) and had dinner one night. The front of house bar area is still tidy and they serve a good range of real ales and wines, and the evening food served there was reasonable in both quality and price.

However, the rooms are now looking shabby. The bathroom had curling old linoleum, mould in the grout and the hot water took 10 minutes to arrive.

On the first night, there was a raucous party in the bar area that carried on until 2:30am. I appreciate this is a pub, but the staff made no effort to curtail the noise after we asked them to.

The breakfasts were poor, with value-style sausages and unprepared tables even at 9:00am.

Overall, not a disaster but I think this was my last visit.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frogflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
furzebushinn, Manager at The Furze Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the points you have risen.

On the rare occasions that a party continues after midnight we do try to limit the noise for the rest of our guests and are disappointed that on this occasion we seem not to have succeeded.

Our rooms are currently in the proccess of being up-dated. We apologise you had to wait for hot water and can only surmise that if you were using the hot water early in the afternoon it takes a while to pump around the system because, in common with other establishments the pump is on a timer to help reduce our carbon footprint when there is usually no demand.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and would be happy to discuss your review with you further. As you can imagine we are always striving to improve.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Furze Bush over the weekend. Had a great time, staff made us feel so welcome, the room was spotless even had ironing board and iron in the room. The food was first class plenty of it. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALLANT235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I grew up near the Furze Bush and went there all the time because we knew we'd get good food and friendly and relaxing service/ atmosphere. The last two visits (one about 3 years ago and one about 2 weeks ago) were completely different. On both occasions we were just there for drinks and the bar staff were really unfriendly/unwelcoming and the drinks expensive (£2.40 for a pint of lime and soda!?!) Such a shame...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eight83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
furzebushinn, Manager at The Furze Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Hello,

Thank you for providing your feedback, and I'm sorry you weren't completely satisfied with your visit.

Your comment regarding the service is very concerning as this is one area we pride ourselves on. I would be grateful if you could provide the time and date of your visit so we can investigate and provide further training to our staff where required.

I look forward to hearing back from you.

The Furze Bush Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed at the Furze Bush Inn for a long weekend with family and friends and what a wonderfull experience! The staff we so welcoming and accomodating with no request too difficult.

The bar is full of character and atmosphere with friendly locals and staff. The restaurant is fabulous with a wide varity of meals for all tastes and superior quality as was the breakfast.

The romm was extremely clean and welocoming with all the refinements of a top class hotel.

Spent many hours in the wonderful garden, soaking up the relaxing atmosphere whilst sipping a glass of fine bodied wine!

Overall a marvelous experience and will most definately be returning (in fact already booked!!)

Room Tip: Room 4 is very spacious with large en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobWalesPorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We went down to the country to meet with old school chums I had not seen in 45 years.
Very warm welcome & reception from the staff.
We were booked into a wonderful large room, with an equally large bathroom - complete with modern shower and a claw foot bath tub!
We then went down had drinks with our friends, and then all trooped into dinner. The service was magnificent - and the food was inventive and delicious. Good value was well.
My wife then went and found some local ladies in the bar having a night out without their husbands and kids - and so that involved us staying up much later!!
Breakfast next morning was the "full English" and was the best we ate during our trip.
Go and visit this inn - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBDWINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Over the last 2 years, I have visited the Furze Bush on about 6 occasions. Each time the welcome - particularly from the landlord, has been less than welcome - unless he seemingly knows you. Easy requests such as a glas of ice are met with a curt response, the reason being that 'it's more glasses to clear away'. When a pub is half empty, i hardly think this is hardly a difficult task.

Food is average, roast was ok - over salty gravy and unattentive service. I wouldn't plan a visit back

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed a few weekends ago and I hesitate to write being in the same industry. Our welcome was warm and coffee in the lovely garden and sunshine was wonderful. From then on it was downhill. The bedroom was tiny for two although would have been adequate had the bathroom been clean, the carpet was okay but tired and crockery in the room non existent or dirty - none was produced later on request and we gave up! However the bed linen was absolutely spotless! I suspect that the Inn is tired and in great need of a facelift as in peeking into other rooms it appeared we had the short straw. We didn't eat in the evening so can't pass comment. Breakfast was slow, slow and slower. Choice was limited too as fresh fruit and yoghurt would have been nice. Cereal, toast, fruit juice - only orange - and the usual cooked in variation was available.
Although cheerful the staff didn't really seem to care too much spilling food and not cleaning up, breaking crockery and glass just didn't seem to matter - it does as these leave impressions. The bar was busy and cheerful but overall the pub seems to have little soul and is relatively characterless for somewhere that should be a goldmine. If it is then please update and clean up as we would actually, despite what I have written, like to return. I may be super critical being in the business but it is little things that count and cleanliness is a big thing in my book.
Come on management buck up as you have a great venue and it should shine!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neill81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
3.7 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
689 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
6.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,955 reviews
4.2 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3 mi away
The Carnarvon Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Furze Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Furze Bush Inn

Address: The Furze Bush Hatt Common | Hatt Common, Newbury RG20 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range: £75 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Furze Bush Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Furze Bush Inn lies in an area of outstanding natural beauty just four miles from Newbury Town Centre, with the inns various dining areas , whatever the weather there’s a perfect place to eat either inside in the restaurant or bars or alfresco on the outside restaurant terrace or in the gardens.The menus are a mix of modern international cooking and traditional English pub food featuring authentic far eastern dishes which are a specialty of the inn's head chef. Prices at the Furze Bush Inn are very reasonable and there are no obligatory service charges it’s possible to get a three course meal for well under £20 and difficult to spend more than £30 on food. Their carefully chosen wine list features many well known winemakers but the House Wines are excellent Chilean Reds and Whites which at just £12.95 are superb value for money. For the beer drinker they’ve always a wide choice of draught lagers, stout, ciders and of course well kept real ales. The Furze Bush Inn is open for lunches and dinners every day from noon til 2.30pm and from 6pm until 9.30pm, they serve food all day at weekends and on Bank Holidays. The Bars are open all day every day. If you’ve imbibed slightly more than you intended or just don’t fancy driving home, they may have a room available in their 3 starred hotel with all rooms air conditioned and en-suite. They serve a delicious full English breakfast which is included in the room rate. If you’ve never visited The Furze Bush Inn, i'ts quite easy to find, signposted off the A343 Andover road just outside Newbury. If you're travelling from further afield take the Highclere and Wash Common exit from the A34, turn left towards Newbury and you’ll see the signpost just after the humpback bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Furze Bush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Furze Bush Inn Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing