We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel(Newbury)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge(Newbury)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hare and Hounds Hotel(Newbury)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill(Newbury)(Great Value!)
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
241
190
89
39
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
190
89
39
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssummer housegolf courselake viewthe main houseunderfloor heatingclay pigeon shootingset in beautiful groundsround of golfwet roomtravelzoo dealafternoon teathe main hotel buildingplay golfno liftwonderful weddingold housebeautiful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Thank you to all the people at Donnington Grove for making my day so special & go without a hitch.

Everyone has said their rooms were lovely & the food was fantastic especially the hog roast!

Dani - Your are fantastic & I was a calm bride thanks to you!!

Mr & Mrs P

Room Tip: Try & get a summer room or lake view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boo1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Having made a mistake on LateRooms booking (assumed I was booking into Donnington Valley), we arrived here. Greeted in dingy reception by what looked like the only member of staff, shown through "breakfast area/bar", which consisted of about 6 bridge tables and a closed shuttered bar, to our rooms. These were charged at £93 a night, and consisted of three (??) single beds in each room with a portable tv in the corner. Grotty carpet, dirty doors and windows, dead flowers... ...Looked around then turned around and checked straight out. We were more than prepared to pay NOT to stay there. Judging by the pigeon holes at Reception no-one else was staying there either. Went up the road to the Donnington Valley and paid £79 for fab room there, 4 stars, spa etc etc. Known forever now in the family as the day I booked into Fawlty Towers by mistake.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank HeffalumpEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The room was slightly away from the main hotel and was excellent on all fronts however this was tainted by poor communication about my original booking. Evening restaurant staff were very distracted when it came to providing a quality customer experience. Breakfast staff initially ignored you on arrival and gave all the wrong messages by looking at their watch when I tried to get their attention and order a cooked breakfast after 7 am ....?

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights as hotel very well placed for Newbury Races. Our room was very large with plenty of windows, needed them open at night as room was quite hot. Bathroom equally large. Could have done with more than 1 towel each but was provided with some more when asked. Hairdryer was a waste of time. The staff were helpful and pleasant. Was not able to order newspapers which was a bit disappointing. The restaurant is housed in a new annexe to the hotel (golf club), we ate there the 2 nights we stayed and the food was excellent £16.00 for a three course meal was such good value for money. Breakfast was equally as good and cooked to order - made a nice change from a buffet. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again if we go to the Races. Newbury itself has a good shopping centre.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinehEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Having looked at several venues for our wedding in the area we saw Donnington Grove and loved it immediatly it is a beatiful venue and we were very keen. The lady in charge of organising weddings was very helpful and talked us through everything and prices and we were really looking forward to booking and having our wedding there.

After our initial visit everything went quiet! After a couple of phone calls telling them that we would like to commit they said they would get back to us and didn't so we had to keep phoning and everytime they forgot our names and it was as if the keen atttitude they showed when we first approached them had completely disappeared even after we showed interest and were willing to pay them money for our wedding.

Not impressed with this service, luckily we have now found a perfect venue but we were disappointed that we weren't offered more help after our initial visit especially as the lady seemed so keen and helpful at first meeting.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doddysavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews