We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect we loved the location, building and friendlyness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I booked Donnington Grove as a surprise Birthday treat for a Golf weekend and extended the invite to friends. We had a wonderful time the chaps loved the golf course, club house etc. The first night we ate in the restaurant which is part of the club house lovely food and great friendly service. I don't want to say anything bad about this lovely place but they could make so much more of the restaurant it would have been lovely to eat in the main house with table linen. My friend and I had to go 5 minutes up the road for spa facilities we would have loved Donnington Grove to have its own so we could have been pampered whilst the lads played golf. Everything about Donnington Grove is about customer service they really have got the right ingredient. Our friends were given the most beautiful room over looking the lake on the 3rd floor they loved the space,furniture,views. We liked the fact by inviting them the hotel had made our friends feel so special. We also had a lovely room on the first floor in an annex on the way to the club house still with views smaller but well appointed. Breakfast, there was such a wide selection of fresh and healthy produce or the option of cooked with little extras great before a round of golf. We were lucky enough to see a Donnington Grove wedding every attention to detail was given, it all looked perfect for the happy couple in very romantic surroundings. We are hatching plans to return as we all had a really lovely experience. Thank you Nigel and your team your just what hospitality should be.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house with a view of the lake, stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Effie811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Effie811,

Firstly an huge thank you from all at Donnington Grove for taking the time and trouble to write your review, I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your comments were a delight to read.

As I write this we are awaiting another wedding party, every one is so different and transforms the Hotel enhancing its romantic charm and characteristics. I was pleased that you were able to enjoy the rooms in the manor house with the spectacular views, even the classic rooms in the main house overlook our idyllic setting.

We continually train and encourage the team to excel in all they do and I know they are encouraged to receive such praise as you describe.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back upon the next occasion you visit Newbury.

Kind regards,

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Recently stayed at Donnington. Stunning location. A traditional hotel, no lifts or pool. Staff went out of their way to help. Our room was on the third floor, overlooking the golf course and river, absolutely stunning. The room itself was a superior room which gave us a very large bedroom and large bathroom. The food was first class, served by really cheerful and helpful staff. The bar manager was exellent and went out of his way to make us welcome every night and would spend time asking how our stay was going. The manager also went out of his way to show us how to visit Donnington Castle which was appreciated. All those little touches led to a very relaxing stay. Would go again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to upgrade. Having said that I don't know what the standard rooms were like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imuscatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Imuscatt,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay, I was really pleased that you enjoyed your recent trip.

I was delighted that you refer to so many of the team assisting you through your visit and I will share your comments with them.

We have a wide variety of bedroom in the manor house, Summer house and individual lodges in the walled temple garden, next time you wish to stay please contact me to discuss which room you may prefer.

kind regards,

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We travelled up from Cornwall for a family wedding at this hotel and have to say it was the loveliest hotel wedding we have ever been to. We arrived early and the receptionist managed to get our room ready early so that we could get ready there which was great, The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are out of this world, huge in size and loads of old world charm, very romantic. The barman was so friendly and went out of his way to help us with anything we needed and even got a print out of train times for my son to head back to Uni the next day he made us feel very welcome. The wedding itself was so lovely with beautiful grounds for the photographs, the food was absolutely amazing which is quite rare when catering for so many people but it was as good as a top restaurant. We would love to come back to this hotel one day, will have to ask my niece to have a first anniversary party there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HEIDICOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Hedicot,

Firstly thank you for posting your review, I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the wedding celebrations at Donnington Grove.

Your comments have been shared with my team and they are always encouraged by great feedback, I do trust your journey home was ok. It would be a delight to see you all again for the first anniversary celebrations and we all look forward to welcoming you back in 2015!!

Kind regards,

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel is in a lovely location with beautiful views. Mu colleague had an enormous room in the main house and I was out in the wilds. This was the only disadvantage, there was no lighting on the way back in the dark - it did not feel very comfortable.
The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The food was good and it was a treat to be in such a pleasant environment on a business trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timetraveller39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Timetraveller39,

Firstly thank you for staying and also thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to Donnington Grove.

We do have a wide range of accommodation from Manor house, Summer house, Lake View and Temple lodges if you stay again It would be a pleasure to show you them so you can select a favourite?

May I apologise for the lack of lighting, we lost some spectacular trees in the earlier storms that affected the electric supply however all lights are now illuminating the driveways and paths, I am sorry for any inconvenience.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

kind regards,

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed in the lakeview rooms. These are set away from the main hotel with own parking. Very clean, spacious and perfect for my stay, with beautiful views. Very tranquil and relaxing. Staff very friendly too.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are set away from the hotel but peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oddjobb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear oddjobb777,

I was delighted to read your positive feedback and that you enjoyed your recent stay at Donnington Grove.

The team are always encouraged by great comments and may I thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, you will always get the best rates direct with the hotel too.

Kind regards,

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

As far as entrances go, you can't get much better, especially when the sun is shining. A sweeping drive through the golf course leads you to the hotel. We had a warm welcome on arrival which was nice. First impressions were good. We asked at reception about food as we had booked afternoon tea, but we saw the advert for the Sunday Carvery on the way in and we fancied that. The girl on reception told us that it started from 6pm. We thought, Great, a tenner for a Carvery dinner, perfect.

We went to our room, room 303 and were immediately impressed with the sheer size of the room and bathroom. But that's really all there was in there, there was these beautiful fireplaces, but they were just empty... Maybe a bit of decorative items in there would have made it feel more homely? Maybe the addition of a couple of magazines would make the room feel more welcoming?

We went down for dinner at 6pm, and by this point, we were really looking forward to this Carvery.... We got to the restaurant, only to be told the Carvery finished at 4pm, and if we wanted to eat we had to eat off the restaurant menu... £22 for two courses. We thought this was well on the pricey side, especially as there are no other options available. We went for this and, the food was really good to be fair - the lamb shoulder was good, and not too fatty as lamb shoulder can be. My wife's chicken was ok, albeit a bit plain.

We noticed this bit of dried up bacon on the floor, but never thought anything of it until we came back down for breakfast, when it was still there....

Breakfast was of a high quality, a very good buffet and the cooked breakfast was cooked well, and not greasy. The Stornoway black pudding is a nice touch.

So the cleanliness of the entire public area needs a bit of work, was quite dusty, and there just needs to be a better attention to detail from everyone. I could have looked past the need for a redecoration if it wasn't the only thing wrong, but it wasn't.

The most frustrating this is, is that the things we found wrong, could have easily been avoided by attention to detail.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we were very happy to have chosen this property for our stay - we were originally looking at Premier inn hotels for our stay. Our rooms had a lovely view of the golf course and the room itself was warm, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was good too with very good water pressure. Walking outside was very relaxing and we all enjoyed it very much especially out little girls. Parking was not a problem. Hotel staff were always friendly and helpful.
We did not have breakfast or dine at the hotel so we cannot comment on the food/service.
We had a very pleasant experience :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandMMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,888 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
660 reviews
3.1 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#6 of 17 in Newbury
814 reviews
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club

Address: Grove Road, Newbury RG14 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range: £93 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18Th Century manor House set in 500 acres of Berkshire's finest countryside. Offering rooms in the Manor House, Sunmer House and lodges. 18 Hole championship golf course, Clay shooting and Fly fishing by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Grove And Country Club Hotel Newbury
Donnington Grove Hotel And Country Club Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing