We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alma House Bed and Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel(Newbury)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hare and Hounds Hotel(Newbury)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill(Newbury)(Great Value!)
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
24
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have stayed at the Alma House several times over the last year. Each time, the hosts were most welcoming and always made sure that my stay was comfortable.
It's a beautiful house, clean and well maintained throughout with big, comfortable and well equipped bedrooms. There is a good shower and sufficient number of toilets in the property to support everybody.
Alma house is very conveniently located within Newbury, a short walk to the city centre, pubs, restaurants and Waitrose is right next door. I had a great stay each time and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loukik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot R, Owner at Alma House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Thank you Cole for your kind review. We wish you well in your next assignment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Have been staying at Alma House with Dermot and Katie on and off for over a year now. I keep going back because it is warm, friendly and welcoming, and nothing is ever too much trouble for them. It's particularly convenient and good value for those like me working away from home during the week. I heartily recommend it - sweetest dreams I ever had in a B&B! Simon G

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot R, Owner at Alma House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Hi Simon. It's nearly 2 years now you have been staying with us! We must be doing something right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Recently stayed at Alma House on business.

Dermot, the owner, was a gracious host, sincerely welcoming and very helpful at all times. Rooms were very comfortable.

Worth noting there are some fabulous artwork and décor around the public areas of the house!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot R, Owner at Alma House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It is always good to know our guests are happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Alma house is a tastfully renovated Victorian house located just outside the centre of Newbury. The rooms and facilities are very comfortable and clean. It's very valuble and the owners are super.
//Pontus

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot R, Owner at Alma House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

You are always a pleasure to have stay with us. Your fishy tales always amuse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Location is great only a short walk from the centre of Newbury but outside it enough so as not to be bogged down by traffic. The rooms are extremely comfortable and clean and make for an extremely pleasant stay. Parking can be a bit hard at times but you can usually find a space with in a short walk of the vicinity. Oh and as far as value for money goes, look no further. Would stay here over the Hilton or Travel lodge any day!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theosaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot R, Owner at Alma House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Always a pleasure to have you stay Theo, thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews