We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alma House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 23 Newbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I had been let down on prior arranged accommodation. And left a message on dermots answerphone who promptly called me back .
the most warmest of welcomes and the most beautiful maintained and presented property i have stayed in was made available to me .
an absolute gem in newbury and I would of happily payed double to stay there.
looking forward to my next course so I can stay there again .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karl012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot R, Owner at Alma House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Alma House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have stayed at the Alma House several times over the last year. Each time, the hosts were most welcoming and always made sure that my stay was comfortable.
It's a beautiful house, clean and well maintained throughout with big, comfortable and well equipped bedrooms. There is a good shower and sufficient number of toilets in the property to support everybody.
Alma house is very conveniently located within Newbury, a short walk to the city centre, pubs, restaurants and Waitrose is right next door. I had a great stay each time and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loukik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot R, Owner at Alma House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Thank you Cole for your kind review. We wish you well in your next assignment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Have been staying at Alma House with Dermot and Katie on and off for over a year now. I keep going back because it is warm, friendly and welcoming, and nothing is ever too much trouble for them. It's particularly convenient and good value for those like me working away from home during the week. I heartily recommend it - sweetest dreams I ever had in a B&B! Simon G

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot R, Owner at Alma House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Hi Simon. It's nearly 2 years now you have been staying with us! We must be doing something right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Recently stayed at Alma House on business.

Dermot, the owner, was a gracious host, sincerely welcoming and very helpful at all times. Rooms were very comfortable.

Worth noting there are some fabulous artwork and décor around the public areas of the house!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot R, Owner at Alma House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It is always good to know our guests are happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Alma house is a tastfully renovated Victorian house located just outside the centre of Newbury. The rooms and facilities are very comfortable and clean. It's very valuble and the owners are super.
//Pontus

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot R, Owner at Alma House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

You are always a pleasure to have stay with us. Your fishy tales always amuse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Location is great only a short walk from the centre of Newbury but outside it enough so as not to be bogged down by traffic. The rooms are extremely comfortable and clean and make for an extremely pleasant stay. Parking can be a bit hard at times but you can usually find a space with in a short walk of the vicinity. Oh and as far as value for money goes, look no further. Would stay here over the Hilton or Travel lodge any day!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theosaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot R, Owner at Alma House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Always a pleasure to have you stay Theo, thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Working away from home I found staying at Alma House a real pleasure, so much so I am a regular guest and would not choose to stay anywhere else in Newbury. Alma House is located within a short walk of Newbury town centre, with easy access to shops and restaurants. The rooms (I have stayed in all of them) are clean and very comfortable with tea/coffee and free fast wifi access. In short a great place to stay and unwind after a day working or out and about. The hosts, Dermot & Kate, never failed to make me feel at home and welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot R, Owner at Alma House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

We always wish for our guest to feel at home as it can be challenging to work away from home. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
0.2 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#13 of 17 in Newbury
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Newbury London Road
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn, Newbury town centre south
5.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 Oxford Road, Newbury RG14 1PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range: £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room for one person for one night £55 Room for one person for 2 or more nights £45 Room for two people for each night £59 Alma House is a family home providing warm and comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation in Newbury, Berkshire. Within easy walk of the town centre and the Vodafone HQ is only a 20 minute walk away. It is a lovely Victorian building that has been carefully restored. Being just north of the town, it is very well located, only 2 minutes from Waitrose and a few minutes walk from the centre of Newbury, with its many bars and cafes. The M4 motorway is 7 minutes drive away. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the Vodafone shuttle bus stop in Northbrook Street.We currently have 2/3 double rooms available to rent. Beautifully decorated, they each have a double pine bed, TV with Freeview and DVD player, fridge, FREE wireless fibre broadband and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alma House Bed And Breakfast Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing