We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough about our stay”
Review of Bow River House

Bow River House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bow River House
Ranked #14 of 23 Newbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed over 2 nights for a visit to Highcler Castle over the bank holiday in June and Roma was a wonderful host. The B&B is clean, quiet, and has a lovely view of her daughters horses. Since it was a holiday week end she told us that we could probably get food at the Crab which was very good and the next night we were going to go to the village pub but as we were walking Roma called and found out they were closed (she jumped in her car and picked us up as it was raining) so she called over to the next village and we went there for a lovely pub dinner. You have the whole down stairs to enjoy and there is always milk in the frige for tea/coffee. We loved the rooms as we had a large room with tub and my son had a smaller room with shower. All in all a wonderful stay made better by the inn keeper Roma.
It is easy to get to Newbury and the Castle, also it only took about an hour during the week to get to Heathrow in the morning so it made for an enjoyable last few nights in England.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank respbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2011

I was getting married in Brightwalton close by and chose here to stay the night before with my mum and bridesmaids. Roma the owner and her daughter were incredibly helpful from the moment I first contacted them and they simply could not do enough for us. They made the stay perfect and it became a really key part of a wonderful wedding. I could not recommend enough- incredible welcome, beautiful rooms, stunning location - just wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w3dnesday_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

possibly the best i have ever stayed in, a nice welcome from Roma the room was excellent and the little touches make it so, the views are outstanding to a city dweller like myself so quiet at night the local pub was a ten minute walk away(3 to walk down the long drive) food was all to the best standards i have ever encountered including some of the nice hotels we have stayed in, stay here and complain, there is nothing to complain about, thank you Roma for a lovely stay, will definately be going back

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koppykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed here for my sister's wedding with my mum, sister and her oldest friend. We had the place to ourselves and Roma the owner was just fantastic, never mind B&B Roma was a discreet and intuitive presence the whole time, there when and if you needed her but leaving us to enjoy our family occasion. The bedrooms and sitting room was spotlessly clean and wonderfully supplied with fresh water, milk, tea and coffee, proper stuff as well as instant. Every possible need was catered for. We felt so at home. Roma was fantastic, I could not recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomoreideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Incredible - that describes our overnight stay in the Royal Oak room at Bow River House on the 2lst September 2011. Roma is one of life's great individuals who we meet rarely and deserves her gold star award from Visit Britain. Our room was quite exotic and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and well presented but above all absolute peace is assured in this quiet environment

Room Tip: any room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here with some friends for a wedding - such a beautiful house in a pretty peaceful little village with a lovely looking pub (which unfortunately we didn't get to try this time around!) Lovely rooms, beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Gorgeous views over the owner's paddocks/stables which house their many beautiful horses. Wonderful breakfast in a lovely large sunny room. The owner is incredibly friendly, helpful and courteous. We all agreed that we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here (a couple and one single) for a family celebration nearby. Very welcoming and accommodating, attractive rooms, very peaceful location. Particularly good breakfast with lots of local produce.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrshopkins1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
4.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
10 mi away
The Carnarvon Arms Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
664 reviews
4.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.2 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#6 of 17 in Newbury
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow River House

Address: Leckhampstead, Newbury RG20 8QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range: £93 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bow River House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bow River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow River House Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing