We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient in a travellodge sort of way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pilgrims Guest House
Ranked #3 of 24 Newbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Efficient in a travellodge sort of way”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This place is huge - 14 rooms - and is surrounded by a massive car park, which has presumably obliterated the former gardens of this property. I was initially dismayed by the tired-looking entrance area, the cable trunking hanging off the wall in the room and the failed double glazing unit in the window of our room. However, the room was very clean, there was a view of countryside from the window, the shower worked well and the towels were soft. It is on the edges of Newbury so is quite quiet, and we didn't have any trouble sleeping. The breakfast service was good and well cooked. Tea but no biscuits in the room, and those horrible little sachets of cheap shampoo made it feel a bit mean. It's above average for your standard B&B/small hotel, but I found it all a little lacking in character.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morrisey159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    16
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
13
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My family and I stayed in a family room at Pilgrims for one night and couldn't fault it. The room was spacious, very clean and the ensuite bathroom very clean and modern. The breakfast was very nice and plenty of it. It's situated only minutes from the town centre and some wonderful little shops and plenty of places to eat. I would stay here again and would recommend it for a peaceful, value for money place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackJackBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston,Ma.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I found this b&b by looking on a map of England and guessing how far it was from Heathrow. We arrived from Boston late, hired a car and made an easy drive on the M4 motorway out of London.
The guesthouse is lovely, the owner made special arrangements for our late arrival, the room was quiet, comfortable and we had a restful sleep. The breakfast was amazing, a true British experience.....eggs, bacon, tomatoes, toast, coffee, juice. It is an elegant building, set back from a main road. A wonderful
break on our way to Wales, much less expensive and stressful than staying in London.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I've been in Newbury to visit some friends and I've booked a room at the Pilgrims because it's was near the town centre. It was lovely, the room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gretelle_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibford Gower, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Once again we had a team of 8 cycling this time from south Oxfordshire to Bath along the Thames and Kennet and Avon canal towpaths. Pilgrims is ideally located just to the north of Newbury town centre. Our bikes were locked in a secure area and our rooms were faultless. I had a single under the eves and slept very well. Breakfast was well cooked and served with a smile. Very friendly, very helpful and good value

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelPDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Pilgrims for one night. The Guest house was only a couple of miles from our friends whom we were visiting, so ideal for our purpose. The accommodation wasn’t flashy but everything was clean and to a good standard. Most importantly the bed was very comfortable and we both slept well. The breakfast the next morning was very nice and the service was friendly.
For the money we paid we were very happy and would definitely visit again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinTheHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I had a single room for two trips.

-Courteous staff
-Good breakfast spread, as I would expect for a B&B
-Good breakfast options
-About 30 min walk from Newbury Station
-Shared bathroom always clean and stocked up
-Communal dining room AMAZING microwave, cutlery, plates and spoons with no charge. Really good, meant I could go to the supermarket and knock up my own food.
-Free Wi-Fi
-Walls of rooms a bit thin so could her soft noises

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oppenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,701 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newbury London Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrims Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Guest House

Property: Pilgrims Guest House
Address: 33 Oxford Road, Newbury RG14 1XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pilgrims Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pilgrims Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrims Guest House Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing