We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great local pub - restaurant”
Review of The Bunk Inn

The Bunk Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bunk Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 187 Restaurants in Newbury
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Bunk Inn, a traditional village pub full of charm and character situated just moments from Newbury Racecourse, minutes from Highclere Castle and just over an hour from London. Set in the beautiful village of Curridge, the 9 warm and stylish rooms are each equipped with flat-screen TVs, tea/coffee facilities, free Wi-Fi and en-suite bathrooms. Head Chef Lewis Spreadbury is earning rave reviews for his carefully crafted seasonal lunch and dinner menus offering traditional pub classics and more refined dining. A full breakfast menu is also available daily. A superb selection of real ales from nearby Upham Brewery are on offer alongside a fine choice of wines and champagnes. The pub itself is easily accessible from the M4 and is ever-popular with locals, holidaying couples and families, business travellers and, of course, race goers. Both Reading and Oxford are a short drive and the pub offers ample free on-site parking.
Hermitage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great local pub - restaurant”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Always great service and good food and wine. Came here with a friend and had a lovely meal. No fuss or overly attentive service they get it just right. Recommended

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tayloriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    46
    11
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent service and fine food.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I visited the Bunk for a meal with a business colleague recently and I'm actually struggling to think of any negatives from that visit (quite uncommon for me).

Firstly, the service - despited looking like it was fairly busy, we were welcomed in and served pretty much straight away (but without feeling hurried) and the staff were all friendly and alreadys ready to offer suggestions re the ale and food selection.

The food was several levels about the usual pub fayre - I initially thought the prices looked a little high but the quality of the meal justified it.

I actually managed to fit three courses in - starting off with Chicken oyster, egg yolk, broad beans and hazelnut - an odd sounding combination but was extremely tasty and well presented.

I went with a steak for my main course and it was cooked to perfection accompanied by some garlic fires that I could probably eat all day. And to top it off, I squeezed in a small chocolate pudding (I ish I could remember the name of).

The atmosphere is great with an old pub feel and there's even a nice little outdoor seating area for the summer days.

Definitely top of my list when next in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MProudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely rustic watering hole”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had lunch here - the menu looked fab but we only had a light bite but very nicely done. Recently refurbed it was delightful. Will definitely be back probably to stay overnight.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We visited one sunny Sunday and enjoyed an excellent Roast Beef sunday lunch. One of the best I've ever had.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“One of the best meals !”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Me and my partner have visited the Bunk Inn on various occasions as he is based nearby and the food is fantastic - one of my best meals was here ! Every bite was a sensation of flavour!! I have to say the service / food has gone slightly downhill since previous visits but it is somewhere I would specifically drive to visit still as the food is still that good - can't wait to visit again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubblepop8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bunk Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Bunk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing