We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill(Newbury)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveller rating
333
228
179
90
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
228
179
90
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roomcountry housefriends weddinglovely settingbreakfast was buffet stylelovely hotelevening meallounge arealovely roomstayed for two nightsone night stayrelaxing breakfood was lovelyenjoyable stayold buildinghighclere castleorangery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
808 - 813 of 890 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This was our third stay at this lovely country house hotel. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with tennis courts and a small but nice in door pool with steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. The main parts of the hotel are lovely and decorated in the period style.

I would liked to have rated this hotel higher than I did but it lacks a few things that would really bring it up to modern day standards such as...

There is no mini bar or fridge in the rooms. You are expected to pay £20 to watch movies of satelite TV.

There is no WIFI or internet connection in the rooms and at the time of out stay anywhere in the building.

There is no A/C.

The decor in the rooms is very tired and badly requires up-dating. The flat pannel tv in the rooms is way to small.

It took over 25 minutes to check out and when it was my turn I was informed that there was a £5 plate fee to have breakfast in our room. to be fair, they lost the charge as we had been waiting for so long but even so, a plate fee to have breakfast in our room!

If Management is reading this, you have a great hotel but it's the little things that count and make the difference between a great stay and one that will be recommended to me writing a review like this one.

Sort it out guys and we will gladly return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DavidC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Elcot Park your review is much appreciated and the comments you have made are taken on board. A programme of refurbishment is currently under review and this should address the issues you have mentioned. It is normal practice in hotels to charge for room service, however I am pleased that in this instance the charge was waived as you had not experienced our normal standard of service. I do hope that you will return to Elcot Park, please call me on 01488 607327 and I will be happy to deal with your booking personally.

Fiona Rumsey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed only one night. The staff at reception and in the dining room were courteous and helpful. Fiona, the assistant manager, was especially helpful.

The hotel overall has a somewhat tired appearance and money needs to be spent on refurbishing the public areas. However, the lounges are comfortable and spacious. There are lovely grounds for walking around the hotel.

Our evening meal in the restaurant was excellent although service was a little slow. Breakfast was adequate.

Our bedroom was generally satisfactory. One great plus point was the view from our bedroom window. We overlooked the back of the hotel and could see for miles across open countryside. Hungerford and Newbury are short car drives away.

The Mercure is okay for a night but I would hesitate to recommend it for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the back garden.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikey077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for your review on Elcot Park. Feedback is very important to us in our pursuit of excellence and I have made the staff on reception and Fiona aware of your comments, much appreciated. As mentioned previously a programme of refurbishment is currently under review which should address the other points mentioned. I do hope you will return to Elcot Park in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me when doing so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel is exceptional we are currently staying for two nights checking out Friday. After paying a very cheap rate for our bed and breakfast my expectations were not high, but we have been pleasantly surprised the rooms are very nice. After eating out at the nearby halfway inn (also excellent) on our first evening we decided to stay for dinner in the hotel tonight and the meal did not disappoint, and the good food was enhanced by the totally charming waiter service. The staff in general have been very helpful not least the lady that serviced our room this morning who could not do enough to help. I would not hesitate to come back to this hotel the only small point was our room was very warm at night but we did stay on what has been so far two of the hottest day of the year.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you so much for the feedback on your stay. The team have been informed of your comments which are important to us in providing excellent customer service. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Fiona Rumsey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom K, Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our experience here was a bit of a mixed bag; somewhat of "the good, the bad and the ugly".

The good: The hotel is in a lovely setting. It fitted the bill for providing decent accommodation in our preferred area. It was spotlessly clean. The decor, on the whole, was fine. We were welcomed with a smile. When asking about dinner, the Receptionist politely proposed a time from 7.45pm onwards.

The bad: Although very pleasant and quick, check-in lacked detail; along the lines of "Your room is to the right". Nothing about when and where breakfast was to be served, where to find the bar or restaurant, opening/closing times of the leisure facilities, or any offer of help with luggage. Neither was there any mention of a wedding taking place, nor the fact that our rooms were allocated above the function suite (albeit a couple of floors above but we could still hear the disco).

The ugly: The other Receptionist on duty seemed fairly curt with some guests on check-in. The evening dinner menu seemed overpriced for pie and pizza so we went out instead. The breakfast for £10 per head was average, although we appreciated the offer of fresh tea and coffee mid-way through breakfast. The leisure facilities at weekends open 10am-7pm, so if checking in late could be disappointed to not get to use these.

Would we go back? Possibly if visiting the area again, but would try and make a mid-week visit to avoid function noise. The room rate seemed pricey for the service received. If the latter was up to 4* standard - or maybe if the usual service is better than we experienced - it would be a much better overall experience.

Room Tip: If booking through the Mercure call centre, ask the representative to connect you to the hotel directly to find out if there are functions taking place at the hotel. Executive rooms are spacious with super kingsize beds. (i.e. 2 singles on a 'zip and link' set up).
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank EmbleTheBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay here at Elcot Park. The issues you encountered on check in have been addressed and procedures instigated to ensure all guests are provided with full information. Your comments regarding the Leisure club are being addressed and the opening times are now currently under review with the new General Manager. I do hope you will visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist with the booking.

Fiona Rumsey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews