We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice country retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed 1 September 2012

A nice hotel, rooms were fresh and modern. Restaurant meal was very nice and reasonably priced. Good selection of breakfast.

Complaints there was a wedding under our room, so very noisy until midnight, I feel hotel could keep those rooms for wedding guests rather than normal guests!

I was charged £13.85 each for breakfast but I thought it was £10 each, I was told this was on,y when younprebooked it, luckily I had proof that I had, so was refunded, but there was no apology for their error.

This wouldn't deter me from staying again, as enjoyed the break. Nice location in nice grounds,

Room Tip: Ask for room away from celebration venue if there is a wedding or similar on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear paulafrenchp,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to record your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to note that you awarded us 5 stars for cleanliness,value and location.

We have noted areas we can improve upon and thank you for sharing this with us.

Your feedback is extremely important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and we look forward to welcoming you back to Elcot Park Hotel when you are next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Tom Keaveny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a nice place to stay for one night only. after that you would run out of things to do. Me and my wife have been to Mercure chain hotels and this is one of the basic ones. Dinner was pretty average. Value for money wise a very poor deal.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank escaliber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Escaliber,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review on Tripadvisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies that on this occassion we did not exceed your expectations of our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel in the near future which will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Kind regards

Tom Keaveny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed for a weekend business trip, being an exhibitor at C4rfest South, and booked online through a broker, about £80 per room. The hotel is in lovely, fairly well maintained extensive grounds. The main building is wonderful, a mini mansion with large rooms, and there are a modern extension and a coach house where some rooms are located. The communal areas are large, a bit old fashioned but perfectly comfortable, but high style they are not.

When we arrived at 23.00 on a Friday night, we were first shown quite a nice room in the old building. The only problem was, there was a wedding on, and it was extremely noisy. As we were working the next day, we asked for a quieter room, and we're given a room in the coach house. This room was really nice, new furniture, comfy beds, soft clean bed linen, and the room could not be faulted. There was no air on but windows opened, and I could not see the need for air Con anyway in the cold English summer...

Yes, the bathroom looked a bit institutional, but was perfectly serviceable and very clean. Nice hot powerful shower. At breakfast, decent rolls, fruit and a full English are offered. The bread and fruit were really nice, the full English a bit on the mediocre side... Cheap beans, cheap eggs but obviously pitched to hungover wedding guests who Might not notice what they are eating. Coffe came from a caffeine the first morning, and an urn on the second. We are vegetarians, and there was a good choice of breakfast items for veggies but half cooked veggie sausages but perfectly cooked ones the next day. Consistency is obviously an issue in the kitchen.

The hotel is situated halfway between Newbury and Hungerford, making this a perfect place to shop or do business, and the A34 is only a couple of minutes away.

Altogether, we liked our stay. We did not pay too much for a perfectly decent room and a good nights sleep, and would have no hesitation in staying there again. Special thanks go to the Duty Manager who went out of his way to find us a quieter room on the Friday night.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask for a room in the mews. It is 100m from the main hotel, much less grand, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anja-Superlekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Anja- Superlekker,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay here at the Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel.

I have noted your constructive comments in relation to areas that you feel can be improved and these we will certainly take on board.
In addition I have also noted the many positives in your review and I am glad to note that you found the Duty Manager to be most accomodating to your request.

Customer fedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel when you are next visiting the area thus allowing us the opportunity to extend our outstanding levels of hospitality to you.

Kind regards

Tom Keaveny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Location

The hotel is signposted from the A4, and travelling from Newbury is just after a lay-by on the right hand side of the road. The hotel lies partway along a narrow bumpy lane so take care when driving. Parking is free of charge on marked gravel areas and plentiful. The location is rural though just 5 minutes from the A34 and a ten minute drive from Newbury, and easily accessible provided that you have your own transport.

Reception

Check-in was quick and simple, with help offered to carry luggage. There are rooms in the main part of the hotel and also off the courtyard, so stipulate your preference if you have one when booking.

The room

Room 65 was on the first floor, accessed via a spiral staircase of perhaps 30 steps. There was no lift. A card was provided to access the room. The room itself was spacious, with the modern bathroom being its best feature. The décor was slightly sombre, caused by the use of dark wood furniture, dark carpeting and heavy curtains plus blinds, but the room was clean and tidy.

The double bed was two singles pushed together but comfortable nonetheless. The TV offered a limited selection of channels (not full Freeview) and web access is charged at £4.99 per hour or £19.99 for 24 hours which is rather pricey given the rate paid (£158 for the two nights, staying on a Monday and Tuesday).

The restaurant

Breakfast is good and included within the room rate, offering guests cereals, fruit, breads and hot food from a buffet style counter. Some of the hot food was lukewarm on one morning and the hotel could usefully consider providing a microwave for guests who like food piping hot.
Evening meal can be taken in the Orangery restaurant or in the bar area and the same menu is available in both areas. I would not want to rely on this menu for more than one night due to the limited range on offer and the high prices (typical of hotel restaurants) but the evening meal was ok. My starter and main course arrived at the same time which was not ideal, but the restaurant was catering for a coach party of guests at the time so on reflection service speed was quite fast.

Other facilities

The hotel has a Sebastian Coe health club which I had no time to use, and substantial public areas including a bar with TV and a room designated as a Library, which may or may not be in use.

Overall

Though tucked away in the countryside, this hotel is convenient for Newbury and the A34, and on this occasion offered better value than similar hotels in the area; that is not to say that it was inexpensive, just not as expensive as the others. The overall experience was okay, with a couple of strong positives (good breakfast choice, nice modern bathroom, slightly less expensive than other hotels) and a couple of negatives (lukewarm food at breakfast, limited tv channels and a surcharge to access the web).

If the hotel can upgrade to full Freeview and provide a microwave in the restaurant, then those two steps would make a big difference.

Would I stay here again? Yes I would.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor to avoid the spiral staircase. Also, the hotel is used for functions so be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GeorgieChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, Sales Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay her at Elcot Park, it is very much appreciated. I am glad that you would return to visit us please give me a call on 01488 607327 and I will be happy to book this for you personally. Your comments regarding the breakfast and also the freeview channels have been taken on board and this is currently under review.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Fiona Rumsey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Me and my girlfriend recently stayed here for one night and we liked it.

At first i had concern as i had not been charged or my restricted rate booking and upon calling the hotel i was told everything was ok, they were right though we arrived and check in with no problems and soon were on our way to our room.

We had booked a Superior room and it was a nice big room, included a big double bed, nice comfy sofa with very nice view of the front gardens, tv with on demand movies and some freeview channels, tea and coffee and a nice sized bathroom.

I did wonder if the room would get very hot but luckly this was no a problem, there is a fan should it get warm,, the room and hotel were clean and everything worked, the staff were friendly so i cannot complain.

We didn;t take breakfast or dinner so i cannot comment on them, nor did we use the swimming pool, had we been longer we would have probably used it.

It's in a bit of a remote location off a small road on the A4, the nearest train station is Kintbury although the train service varies through this station and i don't think there are busses nearby.

Overall we had a nice stay and we will return next time we plan to stay near Newbury

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c8bondUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, Sales Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay here at Elcot Park. We do appreciate your comments and I have informed the team of them. Should you wish to stay with us again please give me a call on 01488 607327 and I will be more than happy to book this for you personally. We look forward to seeing you.

Fiona Rumsey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Place is in a stunning setting.However we were disappointed. The place was a little dirty especially the restraurant and lounge where dead flies was an issue.The staff tried hard but it seemed lots of temporary young people were on duty and they didnt knoew too much.
Our room was fine but very small bed & sleeping was difficult to say the lewast. Plus there was no air conditioning in the room, very hot nights!
However you can get a good deal and its good value for the money

Room Tip: Go in late summer, fewer flies & cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LeonieL163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, Sales Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Elcot Park. I am sorry that there were issues that marred your stay, procedures have been put in place by the new General Manager which should ensure there is no recurrence. We do have a variety of room types and should you wish to stay with us again please contact me on 01488 607327 and I will handle your booking personally.

Fiona Rumsey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

An old large manor home now a hotel, it is located away from the maddening traffic and light polution. the hotel has a extention with new rooms and a gym and a pool. Our room was located in the old part of the house and we had a view looking across the hills and it was quite, we actually slept with the window open and there was no light to disturb us or any traffic noise which was fantastic. However there was a duvet for bedding in August which was hot and heavy and I really do not understand why hotels have such heavy bedding in the summer months. Our room was adequate in size and bathroom was the usual. We had dinner in the hotel and stuck to the set menu which was quite nice better than we expected. Breakfast was self service. the lounge was a nice homely feel and loads of old fashion board games for the kids which is a lovely touch. Staff were all very friendly, polite and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugaraunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for your review of Elcot Park and your kind comments which have been passed on to the team. As a reference for future visits, should you find the bedding too warm please let us know immediately so that we can offer you an alternative. I do hope to welcome you back in the future and when booking please call me on 01488 607327, I will be happy to help.

Fiona Rumsey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
3.6 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
689 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,955 reviews
3.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.8 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#6 of 17 in Newbury
838 reviews
5.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel

Address: Elcot, Newbury RG20 8NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
Price Range: £64 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Country Mansion with modern extensions set in 16 landscaped acres. The Brasserie Restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for Culinary Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Elcot Park
Ramada Newbury
Newbury Ramada
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing