We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Building, with negatives....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Newbury
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Building, with negatives....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel was booked for me via work; I arrived late and was swiftly checked in. The layout was a bit confusing and another guest was wandering around looking for his room.
The restaurant was due to close shortly so we were advised to go the restaurant for a meal or order room service.
The room was spacious, clean and had all the facilities required. However, it was disappointing to learn that the shower, over the bath, was very slow and the water did not drain, it was still standing in the morning, so I reported it to reception. The room was also very, very cold and took a while to warm up when I turned the heating up, it would be nice if the hotel did that knowing they had guests booked in!! Especially in January. I ordered room service, the telephone was answered after ringing a few times, and I was told it was busy, however the food arrived in about twenty minutes, a sandwich, and a hot chocolate which was mostly froth, very disappointing in a cold room.
The breakfast room was lovely, spacious and well decorated, with a good selection of food and effiecent service, it was early, and the egg was like rubber so I wondered how long it had been there.

Overall it was a nice, elegant hotel, with a lot of traditional features and helpful staff but the few points raised above would have made it a better experience, in the short time I was there it was disappointing to note these.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet M, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback.

Your feedback is carefully noted and where neccessary direct action will be taken as required. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,

Mehmet Kandemir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    199
    139
    71
    54
See reviews for
130
308
10
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The views from the hotel restaurant are just beautiful. There were two Christmas parties at the hotel when we arrived so Reception placed us in the stable block so we were away from the noise. Nice thought, but the room was a disappointment. Very small, in need of updating - not 4 star. From what I could peek, the rooms in the main hotel were much nicer and deserving of their 4 stars. Tip to Mercure: pleeeeease get rid of the purple pillars in the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet M, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,

Mehmet Kandemir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Exceeded my expectation in every way. Food was delicious and very nicely presented. Setting is most definitely one of the best in surrounding areas. Staff are incredible and only too eager to help and that is throughout. Bedrooms could be better but overall this hotel is magnificent and worth a try.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet M, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards

Mehmet Kandemir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for a business trip. Horrible experience. Worst thing is the quality of food.
Will never come back.
Only good point is the staff...responsive and always available to make up for the flaws of the the hotel....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PugliaL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet M, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Mehmet Kandemir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Fantastic place to go, all the staff were lovely! Hear plenty about it and it never let any of us down. Food good. Beds comfy. Walls were sound proof in the room, so my husband and I never disturbed the kids... ;)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet M, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, friendly staff and comfortable hotel. I will share your comments with our team which I am sure will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

May I also take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year.

With Warmest Regards,

Mehmet Kandemir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

What makes this hotel different is genuine care and concern for customer well being. Couldn't fault staff or food. Rooms are very generous and comfortable but they do need to up updated. Thoroughly enjoyable experience and will back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackandgill45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet M, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am delighted to hear your had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were looked after well by my staff! I will share your comments with our team which I am sure will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

May I also take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year.

With Warmest Regards,

Mehmet Kandemir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
3.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.6 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
4.5 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa
5.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel

Property: Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Address: Elcot, Newbury RG20 8NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Country Mansion with modern extensions set in 16 landscaped acres. The Brasserie Restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for Culinary Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Elcot Park
Ramada Newbury
Newbury Ramada
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing