We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return to one of our favourite hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Return to one of our favourite hotels”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We always look forward to staying here, secluded beautiful views over the old park. This time we were in the 'newer' wing which given the wedding reception meant that we were not disturbed. Room good size and well appointed and spotlessly clean. Bed was amazingly comfortable.
It has changed hands since we were here last and a shame they have moved the reception from the impressive entrance hall to a small desk near the bar which means that given the wedding we were competing with the reception guests at check in. Breakfast serving area is now too small which makes for over crowding and not enough room for the variety of the breakfast buffet we were used to in the past which was a bit disappointing. A snack on the terrace one evening was speedily prepared and excellently food. All staff helpful and professional.
Will we come again? Yes we will.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet K, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel. It is always pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback.

I am delighted to hear that Elcot Park is one of your favorite hotels. I have carefully noted your comments and where neccessary direct action willl be taken as required. I will share your comments with the team and as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kidn regards,

Mehmet Kandemir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    204
    144
    75
    54
See reviews for
133
317
11
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely wedding venue with great service and attention to detail. Master of ceremonies was very efficient and guided us all very well. Staff very friendly and some may over the top but it was genuine. Loved the setting. rooms very good and food was outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EBMK1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet K, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel. It is always pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am delighted to hear that overall you had a great stay with us and were looked after well. Thank you for your kinds words about my staff, I will share your comments with the team and as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kidn regards,

Mehmet Kandemir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A single overnight stay pre Ascot in hotel we were familiar with over many years . Pre booked with website DB@B rate £167 seemed reasonable given our memories of the place. Arrive mid afternoon , no problem with check in but asked if sandwiches were available to receive reply that t his was "not receptions job" and he would have to ask the kitchen also as a first communication we were strongly advised to dine at 6-00pm as an incoming coach party would overload the restaurant, defaulted to local coffee house and as dinner was in the rate had to ring our guests and move schedule forward two hours.Dinner in splendid isolation in conservatory restaurant starters were acceptable but main courses poor. Service slightly amateurish but rescued by a smooth performance from the maitre de. Large screen for world cup set up in public area handled well.
Adjourned to room after England defeat which was small and poorly maintained , as a hot night had to prop decayed sash window open with waste paper bin. View from window is as it should be for country house hotel but surprised at level of noise from A4 and railway. More surprised by thin walls and occupants of the adjoining suite auditioning for 50 Shades of Grey the entire night , had to admire the stamina but no sleep as a result.Arrive early for breakfast but not as early as the continental coach party , result absolute chaos in several languages and every man or women for themselves.Checked out early with a friendly hall porter admiring gardens as we left.

Room Tip: South facing rooms in main hotel have lovely views but are ageing. More modern rooms at rear but les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet K, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that your comments are being investigated and will be taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind regards,

Mehmet Kandemir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very good hotel with spacious public areas. views from bedrooms are wonderful over looking the estate. Very good range of wildlife, birds, dears and rabbits! Staff very accommodating. we stayed on thursday and it looks like they are well geared to look after business and leisure customers alike. very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet K, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel. It is always pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am delighted to hear that overall you had a great stay with us and you like the hotel and the setting. Thank you for your kinds words about my staff, I will share your comments with the team and as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kidn regards,

Mehmet Kandemir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I visited Mercure Newbury for 2 nights on a business trip. Given the price of the hotel around 200 I had high expectations. Rooms were big in size but with a wired structure. My room had 3 beds which made it a bit too much in the given space. Furthermore, every time anyone would walk on the floor above my room, I could hear the squeaky noise made, which was disturbing, GIven the hotel was recently renovated, I think there is a lot of scope for improvement. Full marks to courtesy of staff. Since I was vegetarian, the staff at breakfast made vegetarian stuff at my request which was not included in the buffet

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_one2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet K, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. We have recently updated all our public areas and curretnly in the process of investing and upgrading our bedrooms. Thank you for you kind comments about my team which I shall share with them.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind regards,

Mehmet Kandemir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel has had a major face lift! They have updated all their public space but I would have prefered if they had spend some effort updating the rooms in outer building and perhaps the corridors. Staff at this hotel are very good and service is always very good. Not sure about the color scheme - too much blue! looks very good especially clever use of space in the old conservatory, now a very good restaurant. Like staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet K, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback.

I am delighted to hear that overall you had a great stay with us and you like our htoel. We are currently looking to referbuish bedroom corridors. Your comments with regard to our Mews are also carefully noted. Thank you for your kinds words about my staff, I will share your comments with the team and as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kidn regards,

Mehmet Kandemir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very elegant hotel and appears to be recently refurbished as we could still smell paint. Spacious and luxuries lounge with a contemporary restaurant perhaps may be too modern for this hotel? The menu was well balanced with various home comforts. Loved the grounds and overall feel of the hotel. It was also very clean all around including car park

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marknewton666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet K, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback. Your comments with regard to our new Restaurant are carefully noted.

I am delighted to hear that overall you had a great stay with us. I fully agree that he New Look Elcot Prak is looking great. will share your comments with our team as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kidn regards,

Mehmet Kandemir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
3.8 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.6 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
4.3 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel

Property: Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Address: Elcot, Newbury RG20 8NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Country Mansion with modern extensions set in 16 landscaped acres. The Brasserie Restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for Culinary Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Elcot Park
Ramada Newbury
Newbury Ramada
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing