We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicate flavours, interesting choices.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Just Lucky's Indian Restaurant & Tapas Bar

Just Lucky's Indian Restaurant & Tapas Bar
Ranked #106 of 186 Restaurants in Newbury
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicate flavours, interesting choices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The service is very good and the menu has a range of dishes that are a step up from the take away list that arrives with local junk mail. A satisfying Indian restaurant experience that is a tad more expensive than those on the main drag.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank needysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    35
    11
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Five of us went last night for a birthday dinner. Our table was decorated before we arrived and the service was brilliant. The food was amazing, one dish was not to our friends liking even though it was as described, the staff offered straight away without us even asking to get something else for her, which she absolutely loved!!!♡
We had a great evening and will definitely be going back again soon!!

Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We have been tempted to try this Indian for a while and finally gave it a go. The service was very good and couldn't be faulted. Unfortunately the food did not live up to the attractive menu. Both dishes we had were lacking in flavour although the chicken was cooked well. The bread and bhaji were good. Sadly there are better in Newbury so we won't be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank 1978bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

There were 30 of us for a night out, Lucky's had arranged for us to be upstairs with our group. The meal started with poppadums, and then moved onto a selection of starters for the group. Then a selection of currys, rice and naan breads appeared on the table - as I can only eat Chicken Korma, the kitchen very kindly added that onto our prebooked night for me.
The food was delicious, the service was good, and was a lovely night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really good freshly made curries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Very good food, tastes like it's made with fresh ingredients - no brightly coloured sauces in sight. Really light naans. Only downside was the atmosphere; our group of 4 was seated upstairs where there was one other table of about 8 and another table with a quiet couple - felt a bit out of the way and resulted in a slightly odd atmosphere. Would request a table downstairs in future I think.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieO111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Just Lucky's Indian Restaurant & Tapas Bar also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
 
Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to Just Lucky's Indian Restaurant & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing