We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and staff”

Teashop by the Canal
Ranked #2 of 11 Coffee & Tea in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and staff”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I went for the first time last Friday, it won't be my last visit. I had smoked salmon open sandwich, the best I have ever tasted, presentation was beautiful. Staff are young, attentive and want to please. Coffee excellent, would put any of the chain places to shame. Give this place a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    44
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“tip top tea and cakes”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a traditional tea shop, proper tea, not tea bags, china cups and plates, buttery tea cakes and delicious cakes. Friendly service and on nice days you can sit by the canal. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfc282d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“cute little place”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I often meet friends here for coffee, the staff are friendly and the cakes are fab. Teas come in proper tea pots. Beautiful location next to the canal, you can sit out side on sunny days.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Porcha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful authentic breakfast with our Newbury friends”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a great traditional English here in September at the recommendation of friends who live in Newbury. The young servers were personable and helpful and the food was delicious. Do not miss the opportunity to order clotted cream!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrRicOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Favourite Café”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have been coming here for years and I have no idea why I haven't thought to review it before! It is my absolute favourite café in the UK! The atmosphere is lovely, the staff are always friendly and helpful, and the food is fabulous. Whether you are after a cappuccino and a cake or a bowl of soup and bread or a sandwich, the standard is excellent and the food delicious. The café also offers gluten free bread and a different gluten free cake (all cakes are homemade) each time we have visited. A favourite place for me to visit with family and friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJF710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teashop by the Canal also viewed

 

Been to Teashop by the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing