We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only on a sunny day and if your patient”

Teashop by the Canal
Ranked #2 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Only on a sunny day and if your patient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great setting right by the canal overlooking a park but the service is so slow! And the cream tea I had was mediocre, saying that I'd probably come back for a coffee when passing simply because of the relaxing setting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    44
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best coffee /tea shop in Newbury!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely love this place! Love the quaint tea cups and pots. Really great breakfast and lunch menus. Lots of cake selection. Best cream tea in town! A very varied selection of teas too. Don't miss the eggs royale for breakfast too :)

Babies are made very welcome too which means the world to new mums who want a decent cuppa and nice food!

Helpful?
Thank Lellewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Little Gem Alongside the Canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

With a wonderful position alongside the canal side this little cafe has a great location. With the weather not being great for our visit we chose to sit indoors and it really is quite a cute place.

The young staff provide really good service and a most excellent breakfast was consumed with great pleasure. Very sensible prices and great for kids too (they sell food for the swans) this little gem is highly recommended by us.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Gluten-free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The staff here are really friendly and aren't fazed by our complicated gluten-free and dairy-free needs. The vintage China and wide tea selection makes a visit a real treat. Situated on the edge of the canal no trip is complete without feeding the swans. (Food can now be bought by the cup) We love the open salmon sandwich and American pancakes, all the cakes are homemade and there is always a gluten-free option.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“late sunday breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

very busy especially outside. food very nice. only just in time for breakfast and were told bacon had run out but luckily they found some as it was delicious, i pinched some from my husbands full breakfast to try with my eggs benedict with spinach and it really made it. suggest they offer it as an AND instead of either /or.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShoW611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teashop by the Canal also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
 
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to Teashop by the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing