We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come on - give it a go”
Review of Three Horseshoes Donnington - CLOSED

Three Horseshoes Donnington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Come on - give it a go”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Met friends for the quiz night - what a great evening. Such a shame it wasn't that busy. If you like a fun evening out this is a must as long as you're not the 'really serious quiz types'! That's not to say the quiz was easy - far from it - but its still fun all the same.
Some of the group ate once the quiz was over (sadly I'd eaten beforehand) & everyone said the food is excellent. We've had Sunday lunch here before and had a great roast.
There's seating across the road by the river for sunny days - really nice setting.
This is a lovely pub, great food, great staff and definitely worth a visit.
Come on - give it a go!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    33
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous village Pub - lovely Landlady!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Have eaten here several times because the food has been fresh and delicious. My father lives locally and this is where we all love to go for lunch with him. Highly recommend the mussels! Why not walk up to the Castle afterwards? It is only up the road.

The total refurbishment has been beautifully done, with great attention to detail. There are always fresh flowers on the tables. Well, worth a visit you will enjoy the experience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curerscottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Another lovely evening, food delicious, staff very friendly, nice atmosphere. Will definitely keep coming back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dstalker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Pub”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good day readers.

My friend and I has a very pleasant lunch in the 3 Horseshoes, outside by the river.
The outside dining area is fairly small, tucked away by the river adjacent to the car park.
It's not the most beautiful place in the world, but is a great little sun-trap and not very busy of a Tuesday lunchtime either.

We both had sandwiches from the light bites menu (delicious looking burgers and whatnot are available too). Both were decent, nice bread and the home-made coleslaw is very nice.

The barmaid was very nice and polite and service was good.

The inside of the pub is lovely - it looks very rustic and I am sure in the winter it is very cosy.

I don't really know why I haven't tried this pub before, but I shall certainly do so again, if only to sample the other yummy looking foods from the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great village pub”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This is a completely different pub/restaurant now, it closed down and has now been refurbished. It has re-opened a few months ago with new, talented landlords serving great food and good beer (albeit a limited choice).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LunarBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Horseshoes Donnington also viewed

 
Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing