We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food when eating in is always first class”
Review of Jaipur

Jaipur
Ranked #110 of 188 Restaurants in Newbury
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Food when eating in is always first class”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We've tried most of the Indian restaurants in Newbury over the years, and as you'd expect there is quite a mixed bag depending on what suits your taste buds.

We first visited the Jaipur about 3 years ago, and have been visiting periodically ever since (probably about 20 visits). The staff are always incredibly friendly, welcoming and considerate. I've tried most of the dishes across the menu and have yet to have a bad dish. The sauces on the various meals are rich and full of flavour, and we particularly enjoy their naan breads which are delicate and light compared to some (the peshwari is particularly good). Restaurant environment is traditional and clean, as are toilets so no complaints here.

However it's not all good news, more recently we've tried their take away service and the delivery times were anything up to an hour and a half. The result of which is that food which is usually first class starts to feel a bit second hand which is a real shame when you are paying £30 plus. I appreciate deliveries are not a cheap service to offer customers given current fuel prices, but in future I would probably order and collect as it's likely to be far fresher to the table (the onion bhajee's were dried out by the time they arrived). Otherwise I can't fault it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren_Cox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Jalfrezi in Town!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The two poor reviews are a bit unfair as this was The Beer Festival night and the restaurant was swamped by people, some deeply inebriated.

I have always found the food very good and service excellent.

Tonight we had a takeaway and, as always, it was very good. Very little oil in the sauces, crisp fresh vegetables used and friendly welcome on arrival

Helpful?
Thank Pierregourmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disgusting food, poor service.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Worst food, let alone just worst curry, I've experienced in a long time. Service to match.

They appeared to prioritise take away orders over those placed in the restaurant.

This meant a wait of over an hour and twenty minutes and included having to get up twice to walk to the bar to order drinks (twice because once didn't appear to be enough to actually get drinks).

When the food arrived it was seriously poor quality. Gristly and overcooked. Two of the four meals were left uneaten.

£79 for that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaneOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Late service & poor quality food”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Our home delivery order took 2.5 hours to arrive so when it did the food was cold and the meat dry. No apology from the restaurant. There are plenty of better Indian restaurants in Newbury to go to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good curry”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I've only had a take away from here but it was very good - the chicken didn't seem to be the ubiquitous lumps of 'meat' that you find in other places and the curry actually had flavour and not too much oil. The rice wasn't anything special but they threw in puppadoms and sauces.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonathan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaipur also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to Jaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing