We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Essential!! and very pleasing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carpenters Arms
Ranked #4 of 24 Newbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quaint Essential!! and very pleasing!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

meet up with a group of friends for lunch. it was a very endearing location and the food very pleasing.. great lunch offers too.. no rush put on our party of 6 to leave and we sat drinking hot drinks for a couple of hours as they were quiet mid afternoon it was ok. Good parking and would highly recommend for food or for a drink in a very nice comfortable setting.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 422Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    38
    21
    3
    7
See reviews for
30
49
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I & my boyfriend stayed here for two nights end December (27th-29th) as we were off to Newbury Races on the Saturday.
After reading the reviews i decided it was just what we were looking for & to my delight it was.
We chose the Double En-suit room and it was perfect. It has old features & decor which i felt gave it character & a homely feel.
The kitchen was shared & had complimentary tea,coffee,orange juice plus an assortment of cereals, pastries & cereal bars. They do offer a cooked breakfast at £7.50pp which you must book the day before in the pub.
The pub had the same welcoming homely feel & the staff & locals were very friendly. We ate both nights in the restaurant & found the food & service top notch.
The only thing i would point out is that the pub dose allow dogs in the bar area as many people stop in on they way back from a walk so if you not a fan of dogs or you are allergic then the Carpenters Arms may not be for you.
All in all we have a wonderful stay and would defiantly stay again & would recommend to friends & family.

Room Tip: I would say to get the double with en-suit as i believe some of the rooms have a shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Not for me!! the staff were friendly enough, and I didn't use the pub, but the accommodation was very poor, rooms were in a rickety old building across from the pub, my room, wasn't very clean, and the furniture, was literally dropping to bits! room was badly lit, cold, & poorly decorated, with an uncomfortable bed, but worst of all, one bathroom shared between 6 rooms! on the plus side, free cereal, toast etc, but again available from a shared kitchen! I wont be back

Room Tip: keep driving!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian and christi... C, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
We're sorry you were disappointed with your stay. The cottage was built in the 1700's and is therefore quirky. All of the rooms were redecorated in January of this year, the twin room that you stayed in had new beds in June of this year. We have 6 rooms in the cottage and in fact only three share a bathroom and it was quite clear on the Late Rooms website where you booked that your room shared a bathroom. We were aware that the cupboard door had become detached at its hinges but had not had the opportunity with it being in the middle of the festive season to fix it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

It is very much a traditional "local", and not gastro or chain. They have a good selection of beers for those that want them, and the food was very standard pub with a few interesting specials. The staff were welcoming, helpful and patient (one indecisive diner slows the whole process down!)

Everybody in our group had something different - vegetable lasagne, belly pork, steak burger, pork and apple pie, and plaice. We all agreed that the quality and quantity represented good value,

On the whole, entirely acceptable for a village pub - hearty and unpretentious, just what you want on a cold day in November!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

i have just spent the most wonderful weekend with a group of friends celebrating my cousins 60th birthday. We stayed at the Carpenters Arms for 2 nights. The accommodation was superb, clean so homely, staff were so lovely, we had a meal in the evening and a wonderful breakfast. I would certainly recommend the Carpenters and will defintley be staying there in the future. Thankyou for a wonderful stay

Elaine Saunders

Room Tip: Family room adjoining made our weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here after visiting the Sandham Memorial Chapel just down the road. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the service was great. We both had the soup of the day followed by Brie and cranberry tartlet with new potatoes and salad, both of which were delicious. The other dishes coming out to the tables, including the enormous sandwiches, looked very good, too. They certainly offered a wide choice on their menu and we are so pleased we went there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level 6 Contributor
598 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Recommended this pub for lunch by a member of staff at Highclere Castle. This is a proper english country pub. Don't expect gastro and top notch decoration but if you want a good atmosphere, friendly relaxed service, a good pint and a selection of newspapers to read then this is for you. We arrived on a Sunday at about 1.30. The place was packed. Sunday lunch was £12.50 for two courses. Main course was pork or lamb. Whilst in both cases the meat was not the best you will ever get it came with loads of veg and potaoes and very edible. Puddings were good and sizable. Overall good value and a pleasant place to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
4.6 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
623 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill
6.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#11 of 17 in Newbury
31 reviews
5.1 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
4.3 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#13 of 17 in Newbury
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carpenters Arms

Property: The Carpenters Arms
Address: Harts Lane | Burghclere, Newbury RG20 9JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carpenters Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carpenters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carpenters Arms Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing