We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go here..false advertising” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carpenters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Carpenters Arms
Ranked #5 of 26 Newbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Do not go here..false advertising”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

If you leave a board on a road offering food served all day, then one would hope to be fed once you get there. Instead, we were informed there wasnt any. Conclusion. Dont ever go here. From the 29 seconds i was in there looked very run down and needs painting. And some chalk to amend their road sign

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian and christi... C, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We're sorry you feel that our sign was misleading but what it says is that we are OPEN ALL DAY (which we are from 11am until midnight) and that we serve food. There is another board immediately outside the pub and clearly on display that gives the opening hours of the kitchen - we fail to see how that is in any way misleading and feel that this review is significantly more misleading than our advertising boards!

With regard to the decor of the pub as a tenanted property we pay the brewery who own the building a significant amount of money each month towards maintenance and decoration. The brewery feel that redecorating the pub every 5 years is sufficient and to that end we are due to be redecorated in autumn/winter 2014. It is unfortunate therefore, that your only visit to the pub was in the last 6 months of its current decor and that you came outside our kitchen opening times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    34
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
41
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a night after visiting highclere castle and were not disappointed! What a wonderful place. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was amazing. The room was superb aswell. We stayed in room 2 which had an ensuite bathroom. Complimentary continental breakfast was a nice touch too. The pub was just fantastic and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank padcfc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have been here on number of occasions - excellent choices, good food and friendly service. What more could one need?! There was veal on the 'specials' yesterday together with venison pie - the puddings were great, fruit crumble went down a treat!
A really good country pub with friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigeljameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish Hoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Returned to Newbury after a year and a must was coming back to The Carpenters Arms. Booked a table for four and when we arrived we were welcomed by Christine. The warmth was great, the food was excellent and the company cracking. We were well looked after and nothing was too much trouble. Can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loneraider65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Wow!
What an amazing stay here. We had two nights in room six which had so much character very rustic yet quirky room. Well the meal on the first night again fantastic me and my sister enjoyed the steak cooked to our likening and was then persuaded in having a pudding and wow what a treat. We had breakfast both full and continental again fantastic! After a very busy day exploring bampton and highclere we were ready for a late supper the owners were so helpful and although don't serve food on a Sunday night they were happy to order a take out for us (what a treat!) but the main thing that makes the carpenters arms so special are the owners they made us feel so welcome we could have stayed and chatted for much longer and we are planning a return visit soon !!!!"

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Recently met friends here at lunchtime, easy to find off the A34 Newbury Rd in the small village of Burghclere, with a nice relaxed atmosphere with a lot of locals, chatting and passing the time.

We had lunch,,2 persons ordered from the main menu, myself from the specials board. All reasonable priced Service was really quick and good wholesome portions and all homemade. really delicious.
Arkells beer was good too. Would totally recommend this pub with good parking available.

A very enjoyable visit and would definitely return

Room Tip: There are rooms available but didn't see them as only used the Pub. In a quiet position
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneK_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

meet up with a group of friends for lunch. it was a very endearing location and the food very pleasing.. great lunch offers too.. no rush put on our party of 6 to leave and we sat drinking hot drinks for a couple of hours as they were quiet mid afternoon it was ok. Good parking and would highly recommend for food or for a drink in a very nice comfortable setting.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 422Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
4.5 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
5.0 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#10 of 16 in Newbury
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
4.5 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carpenters Arms

Property: The Carpenters Arms
Address: Harts Lane | Burghclere, Newbury RG20 9JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carpenters Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Carpenters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carpenters Arms Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing