We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Regency Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regency Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
1 review
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Best hotel I have stayed in in Newbury. My room was spacious and comfortable, the room service was good (if a little expensive) and staff were very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aijisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest, I very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    260
    143
    47
    34
See reviews for
105
319
24
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Hotel, Staff, Food and spa where fantastic it made such a change from the dreaded Hilton

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrh0nesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words following your stay at the Regency Park Hotel. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed all aspects ot your stay and will gladly share your feedback with the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had a super weekend - the whole experience was very relaxing!
The valentine dinner was superb and the service outstanding - rooms are spotless and staff most helpful. Pool/steam room/sauna - very clean
Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissiecakecrumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your stay. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our special Valentines event and your kind comments about our staff and facilities are much appreciated
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome back to the Regency Park Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Excellent 4 star hotel set in a rural setting which had a feel of a country house hotel which retaining modern standard.

Spa was excellent with gym, pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna

Only had a salad in the bar due to late arrival but even this chicken and bacon Caesar salad was excellent. Friends ate in the restaurant and commented on its excellence. Drinks were expensive but to be expected in a 4 star hotel. Numerous different seating areas around the bar which were comfy and something to suit every taste ( quiet, sociable, sport).

Room was spacious, clean and had plenty of extras as expected in a 4star. Bathroom could do with modernising but the shower was excellent.

Staff accepted a urgent fax on my behalf with no issues

Breakfast had an excellent selection of continental and cooked food with hot drinks and toast brought to your table upon arrival.

Only problem i could find was the newspaper i ordered for the morning wasn't there due to a staff error and the receptionist didnt seem to care or even apologise which put a slight negative upon a brief but enjoyable stay.

In future i would love to stay again although would arrive in the afternoon to allow time to use all facilities and try out the restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 311 was great as penthouse feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachiepagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
I very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and that you were impressed with our facilities. I am so sorry we failed to deliver your requested newspaper. Please be assured that the front of house manager will be speaking with the relevant member of staff
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

After reading other's reviews i was really looking forward to a relaxing weekend at this hotel, but unfortunately i was very disappointed.

We choose this hotel for the spa facilities as desperately needed to relax and recharge. The pool area was nice, but it did not have a spa feel and was deffinately more a nice hotel pool. The water was cold, as was the area around pool and there was not many loungers, so it wasn't really suitable to sit and lounge around.

Our room was an ok size, clean and nicely decorated, but nothing special. we had a very dated bathroom, with an excellent power shower although rather small bath. The bed was lumpy and the matress felt well past it's use by date and the sheets didn't fit properly so they just bunched up under you in the night.

All small things that may have been overlooked if i had been able to get any sleep. But i didn't. Our room was at the end of a corridor near the stairs so we could hear people coming and going all night and the walls are so thin we could hear other people flushing thier tiolets, taking showers and even talking. I left this hotel feeling exhausted.

I must compliment the restaurant though, we pre booked dinner, bed and breakfast as it worked out cheaper. Both dinner and breakfast were lovely.

On checking out nobody asked how our stay was and despite writing to them via thier website with my feedback, i haven't had a response.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
I am very sorry to read that the hotel facilities did not live up to your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for not responding to the email you sent via our website, which for some reason was not received. If you would like to contact me personally I will respond accordingly. Please be assured that I will relay your compliments about both the breakfast and dinner to the chef and his team. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

A great hotel with comfortable and large rooms. Bonus points for having a fridge and free water and biscuits. Restaurant has delicious food for dinner and a reasonable breakfast selection, although no hot waffles or pancakes. There are two menus, an a la carte and a market menu which changes every Wednesday. This is great as I stayed there for a month on business so did not get too bored of eating in every night.

While I was there, there was a large Scottish group staying who swore quite a bit while eating which was uncomfortable.

Room was spacious and had free wired internet, too slow for watching BBC iPlayer though.
Even though the receptionist said laundry would take two days it was returned the same day.

Room Tip: Definitely need a taxi or car to travel into Newbury town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GodAtum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind words following your recent stay at the Regency Park Hotel. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and will gladly share your feedback with the team here.
All of us look forward to welcoming you back once again in hopefully the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Arrived 5pm on Monday, front desk staff were polite and professional.

My room was a good little walk away from reception but worth every footstep. My rrom was very well presented and included all the necessary comforts.

The shower was quite possibly the best i've ever experienced, nice and hot and loads of water pressure.

Food at the Regency is well presented and efficiently expedited. As a vegetarian, I was perhaps disapointed at the limited options but to be honest, thats a UK hotel issue not just the Regency.

Staff within the restaurant and bar area are terrific, very friendly and helpful.

If I was to highlight just the one negative I experienced within the hotel it would be the terrible, terrible draft beer served in the bar! Specifically Fosters, honestly the worst i've experienced in years. Overall, a small sacrifice to suffer in light of the whole experience.

Thank you Regency staff for a very positive stay. I will be back for a weekend stay but please, please address the draft beer problem in the bar.

Thanks.

Room Tip: Executive Double was very well presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooko666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words following your recent stay at the Regency Park Hotel
I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and will gladly share your feedback with the team here. We very much look forward to coming back for your weekend break
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
6.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
2.6 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.1 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,707 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
615 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Park Hotel

Property: Regency Park Hotel
Address: Bowling Green Road | Thatcham, Newbury RG18 3RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newbury
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#5 Family Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary AA 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regency Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Newbury
Regency Park Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing