We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend”
Review of Regency Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regency Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was initially a little wary about this hotel because the summer special deal seemed too good to be true at £120 a night dinner bed and breakfast for 2. After changing rooms,because the balcony looked out over a flat roof and the car park, we had a lovely large room with king size bed, sofa and 2 other comfortable chairs, plus fairly private patio.

The service in the restaurant was excellent, with all waiting staff very friendly and helpful.The menu was small, about 5 choices in each section, however the food was all freshly prepared and was cooked to perfection.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for an executive room to get the patio, we used it every evening and it was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 133Ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting such a lovely review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
We've recently loaded some more special offers on the website – we look forward to your return.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    259
    141
    47
    32
See reviews for
104
317
23
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent 3 days here last weekend for a wedding nearby. On our first evening after a long journey we tried the hotel restaurant (Not repeated) we waited over one hour for one course. The food finally arrived and one meal was not edible, a final option of cheeses and biscuits was the only option. The front of house staff dealt with this brilliantly and we admired them for having to cover up kitchen mistakes.
We upgraded to a superior room with balcony. However, the balcony had not been cleaned (if ever) so we were unable to use the chairs. Such a shame in such fabulous weather. We did receive a discount.
The spa was quite adequate and we did enjoy our visit.
The hotel could be good! It is in a great location for travel, super villages nearby and we were recommended a wonderful pub for Dinner only a 20 minute drive away.

Room Tip: Front rooms are very sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 661Gledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review following your stay here. I am pleased to note that generally your stay with us was satisfactory. Your constructive feedback will be taken on board – I am sorry that we got the service at dinner so wrong on your first night. This was an isolated incident due to a large party arriving much later than their booked time.
I do hope you will consider us again in the future when visiting Newbury.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Spent one night here a few weeks ago, had a great break; having been to another spa close by, I was initially a little disappointed by the spa facilities - it all feels a bit too 'local leisure club' rather than 'spa break', although the jacuzzi is lovely. The room was pleasant and clean, although the bathroom was a little tired, but what really made this stay for me was the food. Three course meal in the evening that I couldn't fault (and as a foodie this is a big deal!) and an excellent, freshly cooked breakfast buffet in the morning were excellent. Having booked through spabreaks.com I thought this trip was great value for money, very nice and friendly staff, and totally on top with regards to the food! The hotel facilities in general could do with a spruce up, but otherwise a really good trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leggat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the food and service and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A delightful well managed hotel on the outskirts of Thatcham, with very efficient, friendly and helpful staff and excellent facilities. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and quiet, overlooking fields at the back. Good quality bed linen and towels. The food was excellent. We stayed in the week when it is possibly less busy than at weekends, or race days. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMC47186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read that your experience with us was such a positive one. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Well this will be a mixed bag of a review, but aside from a poor performance by the restaurant, there is a lot of good to be said about the Regency Park which is at Thatcham near Newbury. First impressions count and Gemma and Anne on reception couldn't be a better front of house anywhere. When we asked to move for a walk in shower, no fuss, and what a delightful room we were given. 208, 2nd floor corner. huge, large comfy double bed, sofa, two chairs, two tables, desk with chair, flat screen, oodles of power points for the much used gadgets, walk in shower, dated bath and accessories but all clean and presentable, plus a fan to combat the heat and 3 large opening windows. Downstairs and a great bar, full air-con, happy bar staff, good prices - large rum and coke £8, cocktail menu as well, cider on draft. Bar snacks excellent. Club sandwich very good. Well that's the good part. Now the downside. Hopeless restaurant. Big retraining job to be done. Service fell apart on first night, never got to 3 courses and coffee lost the will to live. Lots of complaints by guests. 2nd night better but no cigar, Still took over 30 mins to bring a cheese board with 3 small pieces of cheese? Breakfast gives all the usual suspects but weakest tea possible, just too much water in the pot. At check-out offered and accepted the refund of a bottle of wine. But at £250 for a 2 night Summer special, how do some pay less I ask myself? £ 50 in the bar, and a few bits and pieces It isn't the bargain of a lifetime, still it was the best room in ages.

Room Tip: Just ask for 208, you won't be disappointed. Has a separate shower and bath. a bit dated but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review following your stay here. I am pleased to note that overall your stay with us was satisfactory. Your constructive feedback will be taken on board – I am sorry that we got the service at dinner so wrong on your first night. This was an isolated incident due to a large party arriving much later than their booked time. However to disappoint again on your second night is inexcusable and has been discussed with the team
I do hope you will consider us again in the future when visiting Newbury.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We usually stay here when visiting our UK office in Newbury. I find the hotel to be adequate, with good restaurant and br facilities, very good breakfast and nice, safe location. The rooms are good, nothing spectacular, but still neat and clean and spacious compared to other European hotels I sometimes stay in.

I can definitely recommend this hotel for a business accommodation option.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed there one Sat night before the cycle race starting from Newbury races on Sunday. While my man was at the cycle event for 5 hours, I enjoyed the Gym, large pool, steam room and sauna. Sauna and steam albeit being small, were in perfect working order and had them all to myself. The gym has enough equipment to satisfy anyone.
The pool once the kids left was fantastic, had it nearly all to myself for an hour.
The hotel restaurant The Watermak was excellent. Had possibly the best salmon ever, with fresh pasta and delicious greens. The chocolate mousse cake was good, but I like it darker/more bitter. Bread roll was below average, what you would get at a canteen or a plane...
The hotel itself is a maze of rooms on 2 floors, lots of beige but clean and spacious rooms. The fan in our room was a considerate touch which on this hot weekend was very much appreciated. Loved the pillow as it was slim, the way I like mine. Mattress was quite soft but we actually slept very well.
The view, is on the parking lot, this isn't a hotel where you can stroll from as you are in the middle of big roads. Not quaint. I recommend a drive to Newbury market where there is the cutest canal to walk along, full of houseboats and parks.
The morning coffee pot at breakfast was excellent, which is rarely found in hotels. Waitress brought me hot milk as requested. Loved it. Shame none of the juices are from fresh, all from concentrate, but the brown toasts and jams are quality. So were the orange and grapefruit slices.

Room Tip: bring body lotion as rooms only provide shampoo and shower gel. Shower was very tricky to work out h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo_Ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review following your stay here. I am pleased to note that generally your stay with us was satisfactory and you appreciated the leisure facilities and the restaurant. The Regency Park Hotel is a great get away destination at weekends for visiting the wonderful Berkshire countryside, shopping in Newbury, visiting the Racecourse or Highclere Castle.
I do hope you will consider us again in the future.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.6 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.1 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.3 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Park Hotel

Property: Regency Park Hotel
Address: Bowling Green Road | Thatcham, Newbury RG18 3RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newbury
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#5 Family Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary AA 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Newbury
Regency Park Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing