We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”
Review of Regency Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regency Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Liked this hotel. It felt modern, yet comfortable, with bar and lounge areas. Plenty of parking. Stayed one night to attend a function. Spacious room, spotlessly clean. It was light and airy with a small balcony. Despite being at front of hotel, we were not kept awake by any noise in the night.
Reception and bar staff were efficient and friendly.
Buffet breakfast next morning was delicious. Had a look at the Spa area which looked good, but weren't staying long enough to try it.
Plan to return for a longer stay in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowland64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read that your experience with us was such a positive one. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a weekend break. We stayed in an executive double room which was very large with a small balcony. Room is a little dated but well fitted out with modern equipment. The bed was large although a little uncomfortable. The main reason we came to this hotel was the Spa. The pool is big enough for a good swim, it's very clean around the pool area but limited seating and lounging. The gym is modern and well kitted out and has pretty much a full selection of gym equipment that even the most ardent gym bunny would hard to find fault. We tried to book Spa treatments before we arrived but there was no space. Would recommend you book these well in advance. Spa was pretty quiet for the whole of the Saturday. There are specified adult only periods which are nice and quiet. Bit more livelier during the family times but nothing that was over the top. Jacuzzi fits 4 comfortably, six is a bit cosy! Restaurant food is excellent but I would recommend getting the half board package. On it's own the restaurant is a bit expensive. The cheeseboard at £9.95 is eye watering for what you get. Breakfast is good although funnily enough it is the one thing that I would say is below the standard of everything else

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stormm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read your positive comments and will be pleased to share this feedback with the team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

stayed here in august 2013 attending a wedding. Arrived for a late check in and early check out, Reception staff very friendly on arrival even though late. stayed on top floor looking out on back of hotel it was lovely room gave feeling of space as the eave had been built into windows opened full length of room and could hear water fall at night. breakfast good staff helpful, parking available also free.

Room Tip: did not stay long enough to sample spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanneireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

we stayed here for my sisters hen party, and wow! the food in the restaurant was amazing and it even catered for gluten free and lactose free meals, which are really hard to find restaurants to accommodate!
The bedrooms were very clean, beds very comfy and staff in the hotel and spa we're very helpful and really gave you a sense that you were being looked after.
The breakfast was the only let down, due to a staff member being on shift when clearly they shouldn't have been, in my opinion either hungover or just really didn't want to be there, however after a discrete to the other waitress about our concerns, especially after she wiped her nose on her blouse sleeve, she appeared to be promptly removed from sight! However the breakfast as a meal was lovely, as where the cream teas in the afternoon. would highly recommend going there to anyone who wanted a quite relaxing weekend break away from it all, even the drive there if you go the country roads way was lovely! will be coming back soon!

Room Tip: rooms at the back near the spa don;t have an amazing outlook, try getting ones that over look the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetpea_01092003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review following your stay here. I am pleased to note that your stay with us was enjoyable. I am very sorry that breakfast service disappointed – most unusual.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Have used this hotel on many occasions to visit family. As stated in past reviews the bedrooms are large & clean and the staff efficient. Just a few negatives about our recent stay:-
The bedrooms are exceedingly hot and due to the type of windows it is very difficult to get any 'airflow' into the room. (they do provide a small portable fan but it does make a bit of a noise!).
I could not believe the price of drinks at the bar (even more expensive than 4* hotels in central London) and belive it or not we took advantage of a 3 for 2 deal, no wonder there was no one else there!
I also find it difficult to understand the justification of an extra £3 surcharge for a plate of kippers on a already expensive (for what is on offer) breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Movingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review and providing some feedback on your experience. First and foremost I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and you felt we did not provide value for money. A 3 star review is not what my team and I strive to achieve here. Please be assured that your constructive feedback will be taken on board and discussed with my management team
I do hope you will give us another chance when you next visit Newbury.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here overnight following the Battle Proms at Highclere Castle as it was fairly near to the venue. The reception staff were lovely and offered to arrange taxis for us. The decor of our room was quite dated but the room was large and very clean. The shower was good and the bed comfortable. There is air conditioning in the communal areas but not in the bedrooms which meant the room was very hot making it very uncomfortable to sleep. There was also an issue with the lift when we were there and we watched 2 people struggle down the stairs with their cases.

Good base but would probably look for somewhere else in the future

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBorringdocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review following your stay here. I am pleased to note that your stay with us was enjoyable. Your constructive feedback will be taken on board – I have shared the points you have raised with my team.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here with our 2.5 year old son on the 17th/18th August 2013 (dinner, bed and breakfast) on the Summer Saver Rate. This was our third weekend here this year.
We have never been disappointed, the rooms we have had have all been spacious with plenty of room for a cot.
The food is high quality and the wine list is also pretty good.
We also enjoyed the pool which is large and lovely and warm.
The only minor point is the lack of air-conditioning which through this summer has made the rooms we stayed in quite hot. This is the only minor point we would highlight.
The staff have all been very welcoming, on reception, the pool and in the bar/restaurant area.
Last weekend we were really pleased to find an anniversary card from the hotel for our wedding anniversary - a nice touch.

Room Tip: We liked the executive and the deluxe doubles - very spacious by today's standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read that your anniversary experience with us was such a positive one. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
3.3 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
678 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
2.6 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,935 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
3.1 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Park Hotel

Address: Bowling Green Road | Thatcham, Newbury RG18 3RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newbury
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
Price Range: £75 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary AA 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regency Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Newbury
Regency Park Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing