We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ideal for the races”
Review of Regency Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regency Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
england
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“ideal for the races”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

we stayed here on the weekend of the Hennessy Gold Cup, so as you would expect there was lots of like minded guests Hotel was easy to find with loads of parking Check in was efficient & friendly
Our room was huge with a sofa & 2 chairs The bathroom was an ample size but a bit dated with a beige suite Shower very powerful
We went straight to the pool after we had checked in - good amenities, comfortable poolside furniture & a very warm Jacuzzi The pool had plenty of space for everyone
We had booked a dinner , b&b package , so we ate in the Watermark Restaurant The service , food & presentation were all faultless You can see why it has been awarded AA rosettes
Out bed was very comfortable - only let down by pillows which were lumpy
Breakfast was again very good & plentiful
Checkout speedy
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPritchett, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest
I very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that you were impressed by our food and facilities. The Team and I get a great sense of satisfaction when we receive such a rating.
Best wishes
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    260
    141
    47
    32
See reviews for
104
317
23
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Travelling with a group of friends we stayed for 2 nights.
The hotel has a modern feel to it.
The twin rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet.
The hotel has a gym and swimming pool which we enjoyed using.
The bar stocked what we expected and the drinks were well kept.
A good selection for breakfast. The bacon was to a high standard but the sausages were poor. Items needed replenishing on saturday morning as the hotel was busy. This was done quickly and was not a problem. As the review title suggests why was there no white bread?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niceguyeddie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPritchett, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review following your stay here. I am pleased to note that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Your comments have been taken on board – I have shared the points you have raised both the head chef and restaurant manager.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future
Best wishes
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have stayed many nights at the Regency Hotel in the past year. There is nothing to fault! The rooms vary from really old (yet perfectly acceptable) through to really modern. Never have I had cause to complain about the cleanliness, noise etc etc The staff on Reception are really welcoming and friendly as are those in the restaurant. Breakfast is a delight. The pool is very good for a hotel pool.
no complaints
Keep it up Regency!

Room Tip: avoid the rear wing where air conditioning can make a bit of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith_sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to read your positive comments and will be pleased to share this feedback with the team – I know that they will appreciate your kind words. Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the last year and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and the hotel was lovely. The bed was ridiculously comfy and the beef medallions for dinner were perfectly cooked. The only thing was that the jacuzzi was broken, which was a shame as we came partly for the spa facilities. Other than that, top notch!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read that your experience with us was such a positive one. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon. The Jacuzzi was repaired and back in service as quickly as we were able to get it fixed.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have just enjoyed a wonderful overnight stay with friends and family. To celebrate a special birthday. Admittedly, we were not paying the bill ! The service was excellent, particularly Philip in restaurant/bar. Nothing was too much trouble for him. The hotel was busy, but we all enjoyed a lovely dinner.
Bedrooms were comfortable, spacious and well appointed. Could only fault them, on fact that some bedrooms still had blankets, and bathroom had a fixed shower, rather than flexible hose. We would certainly enjoy to return if we were in the area. Wifi was free and accessible throughout hotel. No air con, but fan was available in wardrobe.

Room Tip: A twin bedded room is always a good choice. We overlooked the front, and it was very good. Everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay here at the Regency Park Hotel. I was pleased that you enjoyed your celebratory visit, in particular the service from the team, your room and the food. We really appreciate such a helpful review.
I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked eight rooms and 17 people for dinner to celebrate a special birthday for my wife. The room and dinner package was good value (via bookings.com). There was a slight hiccup with the rooms as we had booked a particular type and on checking in they were not available for the whole party, however this was a minor issue. The Executive Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. There was strong and fast free wifi access in our room.

We had time to try out the pool, jacuzzi and sauna in the spa area which was all very pleasant.

Friends and I had some requests of the restaurant manager Philip Dawes in early evening regarding the table layout, surprise decoration, cake table etc. Philip was excellent.

After cocktails and being well looked after by the bar staff, we went into the restaurant. The meal was thoroughly enjoyed by all of our guests, each commenting on the good quality. There was a good choice and it was very well presented. Again, Philip and his staff could not have been more helpful. We retired to back to the bar afterwards where we were left free to carry on the celebrations for as long as we liked.

In the morning we met friends for breakfast which was also very good even though busy, but Philip was there once more to look after our every request.

I can highly recommend the hotel if affordable good accomodation is required in the area and the venue is excellent for a small to medium sixed celebration such as ours.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WokinghamWonderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest
I very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and that you were impressed with our facilities and services. We all get a great sense of satisfaction when we receive such a rating and I am delighted that Phil and his team looked after you so well. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A great deal - an executive room, with dinner, bed and breakfast for two. Room was large, well-appointed. In room safe. Great free wifi throughout hotel. Staff very pleasant. Food in restaurant was very nice. The restaurant staff worked very hard. The maitr'de was excellent. We were pleasantly surprised at the overall quality of this hotel. Breakfast was excellent. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read that your experience with us was such a positive one. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.6 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.1 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.3 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Park Hotel

Property: Regency Park Hotel
Address: Bowling Green Road | Thatcham, Newbury RG18 3RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newbury
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#5 Family Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary AA 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Newbury
Regency Park Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing