We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve”
Review of Regency Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regency Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Went to the Spanish Tapas Evening for New Year's Eve. The whole evening was excellent and well organised.
We have stayed at the hotel before and the rooms are well equipped, comfortable and clean, all staff are polite and friendly and the food is excellent.
We used the spa facilities and again found them clean and the staff friendly and polite.

Thank you Regency Park for a great evening and stay !!!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Jube1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPritchett, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much. We all work hard to provide great hospitality and it’s very rewarding when we learn we’ve got it right.The Tapas evening was a new event for us, so I am pleased you felt it was such a success. The team and I appreciate your kind comments.
We hope to welcome you back sometime soon
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here with our family over new year eve. Te black and white ball was excellent. The food was good and tables were decorated up beautiful. The disco was good. An excellent night. 10/10

The bedrooms were very clean and a nice big bed. Bathroom had all we needed.

Staff at check in and check out all happy and willing to help

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank 123taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPritchett, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read that your experience with us was such a positive one. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were first recommended to stay in this hotel in November 2012 when we were celebrating a special Anniversary with our family. The staff were so kind to our Grandchildren and they loved the Leisure Centre swimming pool.

This time we stayed from Sunday 29 December, 2013 until Thursday 2nd January, 2014 for a New Year break. We were a party of 8 adults.

All the staff were smiling, extremely helpful and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. As soon as you asked for something, it was dealt with.

The bedroom was very clean and well appointed with everything you needed.

We had Dinner and Breakfast in the hotel every day. The food was hot and of excellent quality.

We attended the Black & White Ball for New Year's Eve. The Reception consisted of a glass of Champagne and Canapes. and the meal was hot and delicious with wine throughout dinner. The function room was decorated in a Black & White theme, with novel touches on the tables such as a little black box containing a balloon, blower, streamers and popper., a black top hat for the men and a feather headband for the ladies and black crackers. The disco was excellent and played music for all ages but not so loud that you couldn't hear yourself speak.

Newbury and Reading are not too far away and there are lots of things to do and see in the surrounding areas.

We highly recommend this hotel and look forward to going again when we want a weekend break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPritchett, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Wow, what a lovely review – much appreciated. We all work hard to provide great hospitality and it is very rewarding when we learn we’ve got it right. I am so pleasesd you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. The team appreciate your kind comments.
We hope to welcome you back sometime soon
Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Regency over the Christmas break whilst visiting relatives locally. Breakfast and meals were of a high standard and reasonably priced. The staff could not do anymore for us and we would recommend the Regency. Our only negative was that there were not enough toiletries provided in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windygales68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPritchett, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read that your experience with us was such a positive one. I only wish you had requested more toiletries, as we would have gladly provided more. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Second time we have stayed here, excellent room, food, hospitality and leisure facilities - even some magical deer appeared in the car park on Christmas eve! Thoroughly recommend.
The staff are very friendly and efficient, and go out of their way to ensure that you have a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our room had balcony facing the car park at the front of the hotel - extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPritchett, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your return visit with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back a third time very soon
Best Wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

we stayed here on the weekend of the Hennessy Gold Cup, so as you would expect there was lots of like minded guests Hotel was easy to find with loads of parking Check in was efficient & friendly
Our room was huge with a sofa & 2 chairs The bathroom was an ample size but a bit dated with a beige suite Shower very powerful
We went straight to the pool after we had checked in - good amenities, comfortable poolside furniture & a very warm Jacuzzi The pool had plenty of space for everyone
We had booked a dinner , b&b package , so we ate in the Watermark Restaurant The service , food & presentation were all faultless You can see why it has been awarded AA rosettes
Out bed was very comfortable - only let down by pillows which were lumpy
Breakfast was again very good & plentiful
Checkout speedy
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPritchett, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest
I very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that you were impressed by our food and facilities. The Team and I get a great sense of satisfaction when we receive such a rating.
Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Travelling with a group of friends we stayed for 2 nights.
The hotel has a modern feel to it.
The twin rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet.
The hotel has a gym and swimming pool which we enjoyed using.
The bar stocked what we expected and the drinks were well kept.
A good selection for breakfast. The bacon was to a high standard but the sausages were poor. Items needed replenishing on saturday morning as the hotel was busy. This was done quickly and was not a problem. As the review title suggests why was there no white bread?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niceguyeddie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPritchett, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review following your stay here. I am pleased to note that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Your comments have been taken on board – I have shared the points you have raised both the head chef and restaurant manager.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future
Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.6 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.1 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,850 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
3.1 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn, Newbury town centre south
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Park Hotel

Address: Bowling Green Road | Thatcham, Newbury RG18 3RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newbury
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#5 Family Hotel in Newbury
Price Range: £75 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary AA 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Newbury
Regency Park Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing