We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regency Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Regency Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newbury
Holiday Hound, Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

Having treated ourselves to a Spa Weekend back in February we decided to treat ourselves again last weekend on the excellent value dinner, bed & breakfast deal for 2 people.

The staff are very welcoming, rooms spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel and spa area. The rooms are a great size - even the standard rooms and the spa facilities are simply wonderful.

Dinner in the restaurant was another delicious experience with friendly and attentive service. Choice and standard of food is superb from starter to desert and again at breakfast.

All in all they make you feel as though you have had been on a weeks luxury holiday with not a care in the world - we would recommend this weekend break to anyone wanting to unwind and forget the world outside.

We are already planning our next weekend there soon!

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms, great food and wonderful spa facilities.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSSNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    252
    137
    44
    33
See reviews for
103
308
21
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

Wow! Great hotel. The room that we stayed in was really big - and the bed oh so comfortable. We didn't eat that night, but breakfast was lovely - staff very friendly and accommodating. Will definitely be staying again if ever in Newbury.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homeandaway44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

Not that many good hotels in this area, so only booked this hotel as it had parking and was close to the race course.

Very easy to find, though when we pulled into the car park (lots and lots of free parking) my first thought was Travel Lodge, the kind of place that Alan Partridge would stay in.

As soon as you walk through the doors that thought disapears.
Good efficent check in, though not chatty and didn't give too much infomration about the hotel. Very good sized room, the hotel had had a refit and although it's not modern by european standards, I would say it's more in the way of a USA hotel with it's fittings. Great bathroom, with nice White Company items, very good bathrobes and slippers.

The room was very clean, great fittings and furnishings (although not my personal taste), you could see thought had been put into this.

Excellent breakfast, even though full with wedding guests, people visiting the races and the Newbury show. Great breakfast room service too,

We booked a meal for the second night of our stay and very pleased we did (the village is about a twenty minute walk and not really the best place to eat). Excellent meal wth great service.

Please note although the hotel has a pool, its part of a spa and not really a holiday hotel pool. So if you do have children it might be worth keeping this in mind, the hotel doesn't make any claims that I can see on the website that it is anything other than a spa pool.

All in all a great stay and if I'm ever in the area again, I wouldn't go any place else.

  • Liked — Almost everything
  • Disliked — A bit more information when you check in would be good
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dribbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

Had a disappointing overnight stay with my family at the end of August. Generally did not find the staff very warm and friendly from the onset. Room was very spacious but looking at their website, was expecting something modern and contemporary, however, very old fashioned. The pool was nice but not very child friendly. Did not find the hotel child friendly - they extended no hospitality to my young daughter. The evening meal in the bar was very good quality and enjoyed, although again, let down by poor service. breakfast in our room was very poor - stone cold. When I mentioned the poor, cold breakfast on checking out, did not even receive an apology. Will not be returning.

  • Liked — Quality of the bar food.
  • Disliked — Poor service.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dance01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

This is a great hotel, me and my family stayed here for a wedding in September. We all had great rooms, very comfy beds! The facilities within the hotel are good, you can use the swimming pool, jacuzzi, gym and sauna/steam room free of charge. Food at the hotel was pricey but was great! The hotel was a great place for the wedding reception! and had a great time.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Emelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

After staying at various other hotels throughout Newbury over the past few months it was a pleasure to find a hotel with such fantastic bedrooms. It appeared my room had been recently refurbished to a standard that easily betters any other bedrooms I have stayed in within the area.

The service throughout the hotel was also very impressive, from the check-in at reception to the excellent buffet at breakfast.

Would definately recommend.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank simonebDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire uk
Level Contributor
254 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

More than a little concerned when on arrival they had absolutely no knowledge of our reservation. Could have been a real problem had they been full, but at 18.00 hrs the whole place was deserted and took on the resemblance of the Marie Celeste. I had booked on their internet site and fortunately had a copy of the transaction with me . After many searches of their computer system sincere apologies were eventually offered from a pleasant receptionist and we were upgraded to a junior suite. An assurance was given that she would investigate further with her Reservations Dept. but when I enquired later nothing had been discovered.
The hotel and leisure complex looks a bit of a hotch potch having been obviously developed from an older dwelling. The feel of the whole place was one of functionality rather than individuality. But everything worked in the room which was well appointed in that 'faceless style' one comes to expect from business hotels. The restaurant was pleasant enough rather than outstanding. Only two other couples in the large ultra modern room with views of a TV garden makeover water feature. The prices probably scare off the bottom end expense claimers! The female restaurant manager was very new but most efficient and in view of the lack of diners she had time for a friendly chat about her South African roots.
True the hotel location is a bit out on a limb, but that ensures a quiet nights sleep, and obviously it has a share of the lucrative local international business market. The plus point for us was its close proximity to Newbury Racecourse. Probably would stay again if we had to, but would definitely book over the telephone!!

  • Liked — Convenince of location
  • Disliked — Internet booking service
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cannytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
4.1 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
3.1 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Park Hotel

Property: Regency Park Hotel
Address: Bowling Green Road | Thatcham, Newbury RG18 3RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#4 Family Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary AA 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Regency Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Newbury
Regency Park Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing