We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, poor dinner, breakfast cold”
Review of Regency Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regency Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed 26 April 2009

They had no knowledge of our booking when we arrived and argued over the price I had been quoted. The fridge didn't work and had some mouldy ketchup in it, although we reported the fault it was not repaired during the two days we stayed. Ate dinner there the first night as very tired, but not impressed with the standard or quantity of food for the price charged; eg mixed grill served without any carbohydrates, chips/potatoes were extra! More argument over the price quoted for my daughter's room the following day, fortunately I found an advertising booklet for the hotel in our room which clearly stated price as I was expecting. Breakfast buffet style, very poor service for tea/coffee, and the hot dishes were cold to lukewarm on both mornings, unfortunately I stupidly ate lukewarm sausage on the Sunday and subsequenty spent that night throwing up and too ill to attend work on Monday.

Nice pool/sauna/steam room, although staff clearly uninterested in keeping an eye on things.

Had hoped from map that hotel would be set in nice grounds, but the only outside area we could find was the car park.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeffalumpEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Regency Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2009

I stayed here in late 2008 on business and was generally impressed by the size and quality of the rooms. The place was clean and the food in the restaurant wasn't bad for a hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exige28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

I booked this hotel last minute for a Valentine's getaway. By phoning and speaking to the hotel directly, I got a better price than advertised on the internet.

Upon arrival, the outside of the building is not particularly attractive and I wasn't very impressed by the exterior. Inside, the hotel is much nicer and our room was spotlessly clean and decorated tastefully in a modern style. Although I had mentioned on the phone that it was our anniversary as well as Valentine's day (how annoying is that!), nothing was different about the room - it would have been nice to have seen some little romantic touches added or maybe even a note with Happy Anniversary on it. I did like the dressing gowns and slippers that were provided - lovely after a bath!

I asked the staff for a restaurant recommendation before I booked and they recommended a local restaurant with a set menu costing £50 for two on Valentine's night. Assuming that this would be a nice restaurant, I felt let down by their recommendation when I took my partner along to the restaurant to discover that it had bright lights on, loads of people crammed in, and looked like a takeaway - not exactly what I had in mind for our romantic meal. We ended up going back to the hotel and ordering room service as the hotel restaurant was full.

The food was delicious and very nicely presented on the plate and well worth what we paid for it. I would say however that the desserts are overpriced for what you receive, especially as they forgot to add the ice-cream onto mine. I was also assured that we could have the dessert delivered after our meal and would not be charged a second 'tray charge'. However this was not the case as when we came to check out, two charges were added and we just paid it because I couldn't be bothered to argue over it - irritating though.

The pool was enjoyable although rather full of people... it's a little uncomfortable sharing a hot tub with other couples you don't know - although this could have been due to the weekend I chose to visit the hotel! Steam room and sauna were good fun and the changing rooms were quite posh and also very clean.

Breakfast was nice enough - Full English type buffet, toast and cereals available. Staff seemed rushed off their feet but cleared used plates away very quickly and the restaurant looked nice. I found all of the staff we encountered friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

My partner and i booked to stay at the Regency Park to get out of London for Valentines Day. The hotel pretty much lived up to how it was portrayed on the website. I concour with other reviews that indicate that first impressions of the exterior may cause you to feel disappointed however once inside i felt better. It is perhaps not as 'contemporary' in ALL places as website suggests however clean and spacious.

The staff were helpful and friendly especially in the restaurant when a few things weren't right they responded well. There was a bit of a debarcle when we went to have some treatments but again was resolved satisfactorly .

Breakfast was nice and the evening meal was nice but as it was a set menu was not great for vegetarians.

The website advetises that it is a gay friendly hotel, the restaurant manager was put a little on the spot when we had our valentines night meal though. Each women was given a very nice rose during their dinner but we had to ask the waitress why we had not been offered one, the manager came straight over very apologectic but didnt know which one of us to offer a rose to so he offered us both a rose. Our first choice of wine was not available so we were happy to take have an alternative and ended up drinking 2 bottles, at the end of the meal we were informed that they were only going to charge us for one bottle as we had had a slight hiccup with our meal. this was a very generous gesture and certainly made a very good impression.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank weelordlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We spent New Years Eve with friends.Black tie event,really nice food and great entertainment.Very good value for the whole package.
The magician was very slick and another year should be allowed to do the magic tricks without having to battle to be heard over the loud music. Also the saxophonist was too loud especially through the meal.Other than this it was a great night and we would thoroughly recomend this event.
Very good brunch the following day.
Breakfast on Jan 2nd was marred by the hotel running out of eggs!! This should not happen in a hotel of this calibre.
But altogether a very good hotel and friendly staff.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank ThelmaandLouise50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

Having treated ourselves to a Spa Weekend back in February we decided to treat ourselves again last weekend on the excellent value dinner, bed & breakfast deal for 2 people.

The staff are very welcoming, rooms spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel and spa area. The rooms are a great size - even the standard rooms and the spa facilities are simply wonderful.

Dinner in the restaurant was another delicious experience with friendly and attentive service. Choice and standard of food is superb from starter to desert and again at breakfast.

All in all they make you feel as though you have had been on a weeks luxury holiday with not a care in the world - we would recommend this weekend break to anyone wanting to unwind and forget the world outside.

We are already planning our next weekend there soon!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSSNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Wow! Great hotel. The room that we stayed in was really big - and the bed oh so comfortable. We didn't eat that night, but breakfast was lovely - staff very friendly and accommodating. Will definitely be staying again if ever in Newbury.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeandaway44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.6 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.3 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
642 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
3.1 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Park Hotel

Address: Bowling Green Road | Thatcham, Newbury RG18 3RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newbury
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#5 Family Hotel in Newbury
Price Range: £72 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary AA 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regency Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Newbury
Regency Park Hotel Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing