We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wat a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“wat a hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I stayed at donnington valley and cant recomend it enough the staff and service was second to none the food was amazing and Anthony cox general manager was excellent in personally ensuring we had a brilliant wkend any1 that wants a nice relaxed wkend in beautiful surroundings and to be truly lookd after go to donnington

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-GM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Sam M
Thanks for taking the time to post a review following your Spa Break with us, and for getting in touch prior to arrival so we could arrange some special touches for this very special weekend away.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Donnington on a future occasion, and of course, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Very best wishes,

Anthony
anthonycox@donningtonvalley.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    371
    173
    87
    33
See reviews for
137
447
32
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We got married here beginning of September, our day was perfect. A lot of our wedding guests stayed and all commented on how lovely the rooms were. We booked the day 16 months prior and the service that the events organiser (Beth Willis) gave us was outstanding. Your wedding should be one of the best days of your life and ours definitely was. We are already planning to hopefully return for our first anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-GM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Amy D
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your wedding held with us in September. It was a wonderful day and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Donnington to celebrate your anniversary. Beth will be in touch directly to arrange this.
Very best wishes,

Anthony
anthonycox@donningtonvalley.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed as a suprise for my 30th Birthday celebrations mid week in early september, for a signiture Spa break it was truly an amazing and relaxing experience!

all the staff were great, and the food was amazing, from the bento box lunch on our arrival day, through to the amazing breakfast the next day. We had a 3 course evening meal included as part of our package and while we did upgrade a couple of menu options from the al a carte menu (we wanted scallops!) all the food was of an equally superb quality. The wine list was massive and so we didnt know where to start but we the sommelliaer (??!!) couldnt have been more helpful and we had perfect match for each course.

The actual facilties at the spa were really nice and tranquil and the treatment was tremendous! both me and my boyfriend, who has never had any treatments before, had a hot stone massage and I would recomend this to anyone.

we had a superior room overlooking the grounds (which was a very nice looking golf course) which was perfect. Overall there is nothing we can fault about this hotel, spa and its staff. We only stayed 1 night, but it felt like much longer as we totally relaxed, the only bad point is that it was hard getting back into normal everyday life again - not that that is a bad point though!!!

Massive brownie points as a perfect suprise from my boyfriend and I can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhianCeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-GM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear RhianCeri
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your 30th Birthday Celebrations here at Donnington in October. The Hot Stone therapies in the Spa are wonderful, particularly at this time of year. We look forward to welcoming you back to Donnington soon. Do contact me directly so I can assist with all of the arrangements.

Very best wishes,

Anthony
anthonycox@donningtonvalley.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. The service and welcome were very good and the special, personal touches by the customer service team were particularly appreciated. We had a twin executive room on the ground floor with a patio. This was a good size room and was clean and fresh. I had been in touch with the hotel by email and explained that we were coming way on the anniversary of my fathers death and just needed some peace and quiet. I would emphasise that this was not a sad occasion but a time to reflect and remember happy times. The staff had put a table and chairs (with ashtray!) outside on the patio and we enjoyed a beautiful breakfast outside in the sunshine. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent as was the service.
I cannot fault this hotel and I'm sure we will return.

Room Tip: we had a ground floor executive twin with patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-GM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear LizReading
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. I was delighted that you had a lovely relaxing stay with us here at Donnington and thank you for the feedback in respect of Isobel, and our team.
Being just up the road from us in Reading we look forward to becoming your regular countryside retreat! Please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me personally to arrange a future stay.
Very best wishes,

Anthony
anthonycox@donningtonvalley.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kerry, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Need to book well in advance.

Good hotel, with pleasent staff and nice rooms, bar area etc.. all very good.

Breakfast can be alittle cold somtimes but in general very good.

Location, well outside of Newbury, need your own car or taxi so as to get into Newbury.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-GM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear mpt101
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us in December – we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Do let me know if I can help with this in anyway

Very best wishes,

Anthony
anthonycox@donningtonvalley.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed on a Saturday night. We enjoyed the Swimming pool, sauna e.t.c which we were aloud to use before and after check in. Reception were excellent with helping with any query, one receptionist lent me her own iPhone to look up cinema times which I thought was excellent of her as the hotel computers were blocked from such searches (Why???). Restaurant staff were a whole different lot, the waiters and waitresses were generally good although when i asked for butter I was met with a blank stare, needless to say the butter never arrived. The resturant managers were rude and made us feel we were just an inconvenience (we were on the inclusive rate). Breakfast was dreadful for the price, service completely chaotic, leaving guests to wait for tables and then queue for hot food, which was not worth the wait!. If you book to have dinner, check what time they book you in, we were automatically booked in for 7.30 and we could'd change it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandyferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-GM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Dear dandyferret

Thanks for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. Food and service in the Winepress is generally strength of ours, and I was sorry to learn of your disappointment as this is certainly not the norm.
Thank you for your positive comments in respect of the reception team – we are always happy to accommodate early arrivals when we can and delighted that you took advantage of this and enjoyed the spa to the full.
I do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future, to showcase what I know we generally do well. Please feel free to contact me directly on anthonycox@donningtonvalley.co.uk

Very best wishes,

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We decided to go to Donnington Valley for a hen party booked months in advance as part of a dinner, bed and breakfast, and spa deal. Prior to arriving, I had numerous calls with the spa staff and even visited in person. With a week to go, there were still mistakes like not everyone booked in, bookings on the wrong day, and potential staff scheduling meaning some treatments chosen in advance would be unavailable. Finally, on the day, there was extra charges that were only disclosed to us as we started our treatments! There was no consistent management or contact, and the disorganisation means we will not go there again.
However, the spa is lovely, clean and well equipped. The treatment was brilliant. The hotel rooms were fine, with great bathrooms. The meal was wonderful, really good food.
Overall, we had a good time but didn't need the stress before my wedding caused by their disorganisation, and unexpected costs being applied. If the spa staff sorted themselves out, this review would be a 4 or 5.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-GM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Dear Jimmi D.
First and foremost sincere apologies for the administration of this booking and the impact it had on your stay with us and I will be in touch personally regarding this. May I also thank you taking the time for your honest assessment of the many positive aspects of your experience and our facilities too. Having got this, arguably harder bit right, I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Very best wishes,

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,746 reviews
0.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
623 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Oxford Road - Donnington | Berkshire, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing