We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - go to the Vineyard instead”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Average - go to the Vineyard instead”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Here for a work conference and was not impressed generally with the service. Asked for a specific room and when I arrived late from a flight was told it was not available. Apparently it's first come first served. So get there early! Large queues at reception for check in and check out.

Rooms did not feel luxurious, not what I would have expected for a "spa" hotel. The whole hotel was overly warm, you didn't need to venture into the sauna to work up a sweat. This was not comfortable. The evening meal was pretty poor and got grumbles from the party.

However the find of this stay was that we went to The Vineyard for wine tasting and a meal. The wine tasting was well run and great fun and the food was amazing. I would recommend there rather this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear cherylhinton,
Thank you for posting a review and providing some feedback following your stay with us back in March. First and foremost I am sorry that we did not meet your groups expectations on this occasion and I am disappointed that you did not experience our normal high levels of service. Of course I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our five star sister hotel The Vineyard but I hope we can welcome you back here in the future.
Kind regards
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    346
    164
    86
    33
See reviews for
122
419
32
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Celebrated a hen weekend and stayed at Donnington Valley. Rooms are neutral and calming with a lovely big bathroom. The hotel is surrounded by a large golf course so nice green views from the windows and peaceful surroundings. The spa is adequate with an aroma room, steam room and sauna, jacuzzi and large swimming pool. You can walk throughout the hotel in your spa robes to truly relax. Donnington castle is only a 5 minute drive away and makes a lovely site for a romantic picnic or relaxing afternoon also.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Natalie N,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and it sounds like you managed to make full use of our wonderful spa for a lovely relaxing celebration! I do hope the wedding is a success and maybe the next visit will be a honeymoon?
Best wishes,
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wokingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Just come back from our 4th visit to Donnington Valley, and it was even better than before.

We spent the day in the spa, and due to the lovely weather, our sunbeds were taken out side onto the patio where we stayed all day. Only went inside to use the pool and jaccuzi. Had lunch in the spa, which was excellent.

On this occasion we didn't actually eat in the restaurant in the evening, as we had booked a table at the pub down the road. But haven spoken to other people staying there, and from our previous experiences, the food is very good. We did go back to the bar in the evening, which is a lovely setting.


We asked if it was possible to have room 240 again when we booked, and we were lucky enough to get it again. 240 is a lovely room, with a great view across the golf course. Lovely big bed, flat screen tv with dvd player. Water and milk in the fridge, lovely big bathroom and great toilettries.

The staff are all very pleasant and helpful, and the whole place is spotlessly clean. Only 'slight' niggle is that we didn't find the food at breakfast very hot, and the coffee was luke warm. But it certainly didn't spoil anything for us.

A great place to spend a relaxing weekend, and I know that we will be back again before very long.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Wendy8312,
Thank you for your lovely review and I am extremely pleased we were able to make your 4th visit 'even better'! All of the team loved reading your very kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back for the 5th visit soon.
Kindest regards and do feel free to contact me directly.
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

Just spent weekend at Donnington Valley Hotel. (28th-29th July 2012). Our second time in this hotel and again we are not disappointed.

My husband booked a Executive room and were very pleased with it. The lady at the reception named Isobel was very helpful and although we already have an allocated room prior to our arrival, Isobel changed it to a better one with the view of the golf course.

The guy at the restaurant named Amit recognised us as a return guest and welcomed us wholeheartedly.

Room is very clean. Bathroom with separate shower is immaculate. We discover more feature in the hotel this time that we missef last time we stayed.

We had cream tea on arrival. Spa is adequate and nice.

Hubby played golf in between thunder and lightning and had the best game so far. Golf course is very well kept and had superb view of the countryside.

We promised to go back again in a couple of months in this hotel.

Here's hoping it will be sooner.

Thank you Donnington Valley Hotel team for making out stay relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maltese_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Maltese_Angel
Absolutely delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for another "wonderful weekend!" I have passed your thanks on to Isobel from guest relations, who will be delighted to ensure you get your favourite room next time, she can be contacted at guestrelations@donningtonvalley.co.uk.
Kindest regards
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The health club makes up for a lot, but not for ridiculously small rooms for a countryside hotel, a reception desk which is either deserted or has 5 guests in waiting in line, and wifi slower than a modem connection.

The concept might work for vacationers, but it gets very frustrating for business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EfficientTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear EfficientTraveller.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us and I must apologise that our reception staff were not as visible during your stay as I would wish, nobody wants to wait in line after a busy day. I am sorry that your room did not live up to expectations and just to clarify that we do offer executive bedrooms which are much larger than our classics for those wishing some more room. We do also offer an updgraded wifi service to our basic free service but if you do stay again and continue to have slow service then do let a member of the team know so we can try to rectify this for you.

I do hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you again and if you do then please do contact me directly so I can make the arrangements for you.

Kind regards
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We visited Donnington Valley for two days of golf, and an overnight stay. The public areas and rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and comfortable, and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The food in the restaurant was also of a good quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear CityGent, Thank you for the review and it is good to hear that this weather has not kept you off our fabulous course! Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We booked this stay, for our 36 th annivarsary. We booked the Bacchanalian Feast option. Upon arrival we were advised that they were fully book on double beds which we had book. We were very happy to find that we had been up graded to a suite with a double bed. Check in was smooth, when we got to the suite, we had been given 2 single beds pushed together very disappointing!! No other options.
Food was good staff were excellent and could not do enough especially the restaurant. Chris Neeves the sommelier was very knowledgable, and his selection was very complimentary to the food.
We also booked 2 full body treatments, both of us enjoyed the whole experience and the 2 girls who attended to our needs were very professional and very competent to our needs

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Howard B, many thanks for your review, Chris does enjoy his wine and is always keen to pass his knowledge on! Apologies for the mix up with the room but I am glad you were able to enjoy your treat. Do contact me personally again on your next visit at sallyrussell@donningtonvalley.co.uk.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,701 reviews
0.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
615 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Oxford Road - Donnington | Berkshire, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing