We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,612)
Filter reviews
1,612 results
Traveller rating
666
529
259
108
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
666
529
259
108
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaroma roommarket menuexecutive roomsteam roomcream teapro shopafternoon teadvd playerevening mealsecret escapeslovely hotelgreat weekendset menuchanging roomsrelaxing breakbar arearestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,299 - 1,304 of 1,612 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I recently hosted a 65th birthday party at the Donnington Valley Hotel. I simply cannot recommend this venue highly enough.
All the staff were so helpful and courteious.They did everything asked of them and more.
The food for the buffet was wonderful and the finger buffet that was served later was a great success.
The hotel rooms are very comfortable and well furnished.I have stayed in far worse 5 star hotels.
They looked after all of us brilliantly and considering we had 90plus people all went so well.
A special thanks to the staff who managed the Bar and served the hot buffet. also to all the behind the scenes guys who set tables and cleared them away so well for the disco to start. My thanks also goes to Beth Willis the hotel cordinator who made it all happen.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear mike j,

I am so pleased to hear that your big event was a success, Beth is a wonderful organiser who continuously makes special occassions that extra bit special. I hope we will see you again soon, no need to wait for a celebration to visit!

Best wishes,
Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The best hotel staff I have come across in a while - helpful, polite and friendly right through the hotel from Spa, reception, bar and restaurant. The place is quiet in the countryside and you get peaciful sleep. At the Spa - the towels are vey clean and the staff in there very helpful. the food was superb in the restaurant and the waiters were excellent

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear Peggy A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am so happy to hear your lovely comments, these have been shared with the team here and I very much hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The only reason for saying this is that we felt the hotel was let down by its restaurant. The food was okay, perfectly acceptable but not really up the 2 AA rosette award it holds ( and which we have experienced elsewhere). Breakfast was disorganised - they ran out of bacon on both days, there were queues to be served and the cold buffet was not replenished quickly enough.

In terms of the rest of the hotel - the spa area was great and very clean, service overall was excellent, in particular Isobel at reception who remembered it was a birthday weekend ( bowl of fruit delivered to our room with birthday greetings). Cannot fault our lovely, quiet room overlooking the golf course.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking golf course and preferably an executive room
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear TA Traveller
Thank you for your review following your stay with us and glad to hear that overall you had a good stay and that Isobel managed to make the treat a little more special. My apologies that the food did not 'wow' you as we would wish and that breakfast was chaotic, not our usual standard I can assure you.
I hope we may welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My wife and I found this Hotel more by accident than design. We arrived mid week tired and searching for a bed having driven on the M4 as far as we felt it was safe. The Hotel was extremely busy with a corporate function which was keeping them fully occupied for the entire week. On our arrival they were clearly busy and preoccupied. However the Duty Manager Jamie Johnson was keen to help but explained he had only one room remaining in the hotel. Initially he was reluctant to let it, as he explained it was not up to their usual standard, but agreed for us to see it. Apart from a slight hum from an outside air conditioning unit and a minor noise from a distant function, the room was without fault. It had a very spacious bedroom and bathroom and an additional side room where cases could be stored. The manager arranged a very acceptable rate for this the ‘last and worst room in the hotel’ which included a three course evening meal with breakfast the following day. Before leaving we were also presented with a superb ‘cream tea’ in our room, which made our brief visit both memorable and different. Indeed the cream tea being unexpected, turned out to be one of the memorable events of our holiday and is a feature of stays at this hotel which should not be missed.
Indeed if you are travelling on the M4 and only require a ‘cream tea break’ just leave at Junction 13 and you will find signs to the Hotel from the Service Station. Your visit will be well worth the stop. Many thanks to all at the Donnington Valley Hotel who showed a degree of thoughtfulness and consideration at a time when they where extremely busy and it would have been very much easier not have offered us the ‘Last Room in The Hotel’.

Room Tip: It really doesn't matter! We had the worst room in the Hotel and it suited us fine.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIRSTREVIEW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear FIRSTREVIEW2010

It sounds like Jamie has indeed managed to look after you very well, I know he was concerned about the room intitially as it was above a function room and was worried about the noise levels coming from this but it does sound like you had a fabulous time regardless! Jamie is delighted to have been mentioned and is pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon, we could even do the same room!

Best wishes
Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We booked this 'Splendid Sunday' deal which included one nights accommodation, three course meal and bottle of wine to celebrate my husband completing the Abingdon marathon and it was perfect. The pool area was bigger than other spa hotels we have stayed in and there were plenty of spare sun loungers. On check in we were given a room upgrade which was a nice surprise. Fresh milk in the fridge, a lounge area, robes and slippers are always a winner for me! We couldn't fault the evening meal-the duck was beautiful. In the morning before breakfast I booked in for a spin class at the gym which was a really good workout. Thanks to all the staff for making this a perfect break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickandTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear MickandTara,

Firstly, well done on completing the marathon!

"A perfect break"... always what we strive for so it is so pleasing to hear these words. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the added benefits of an Executive upgrade. We look forward to your next visit to Donnington Valley.

Best wishes,
Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews