We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
reading
1 review
“Best stay”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We had a fantastic stay.Excellent food and friendly staff.It was a Birthday treat for my husband and he throughly enjoyed the whole experience, especially the spa treatments.We had a lovely room which was very clean and spacious.We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear shanti1,
Thank you for this lovely review following the big birthday treat stay! It is always a delight to be able to share this feedback with my hard working team so again, thank you.
Please do feel free to contact me directly for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sally Russell
sallyrussell@donningtonvalley.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    329
    160
    83
    32
See reviews for
114
393
30
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Excellent stay, we were here for a company anniversary. Friendly staff,excellent service and food. Even when we adjourned to the bar after midnight the staff were still cheerful! Apart fr om my husband who thought the pillow was uncomfortable, we had a lovely spacious room with a large bathroom. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodystours14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Woodystours14,
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such a good time with us and that you enjoyed your company anniversary. The team will be thrilled to receive such positive feedback particularly the late night bar team!
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Best wishes,
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I stayed here with a group of 20 other people for a work team building event and the staff were all very helpful and friendly.

The Sommelier was very helpful in the restaurant and was particularly proud of an award they had won recently and took to the time to stop and tell me briefly about it as I admired a display they had on it.

There's a pool and spa with a huge range of treatments and the rooms are all very nice and clean and modern looking. Nothing majorly special but certainly good quality amongst hotels of this sort of price range.

Bar staff were a bit slow in the morning when we ordered coffee/tea and it wasn't even all 21 of us together, only 2-3 at a time as we arrived but they were still very polite and friendly and got the job done with a smile in the end!

We used a conference room which was well lit and had all the equipment we needed provided to us plus refreshments and morning pastries.

There were a couple of other companies having meetings, etc, there too so it's obviously popular and their lunchtime buffet had a good range of hot and cold foods as well as vegetarian choices, as there were two in our party.

The evening meal, however, was only ok considering the price. We enjoyed it but the portions ere not very large either.

My only real complaint however, would be about the lack of sound proofing! The maids should be reminded that the walls and doors are very thin because at about 7.20am I had three or four starting their shift outside my room (not sure if there was a store cupboard nearby or something) and loudly discussing who was doing what that day until I opened the door and hung the Do Not Disturb Sign on it. An hour or so later, I had two more talking loudly right outside, one clearly new having the days routine explained to her.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Nicole S,
Thank you for your review following your event here at Donnington Valley. I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular our new wine awards! Please be assured that I have shared your feedback on your 'early morning wake up calls' from our maids with our head of housekeeping to prevent further occurances. I hope you will be visiting the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Our weekend away was great, it was very relaxing, the service was good, spa great, room quiet and the location of the hotel very convenient for us. The only disappointment was the evening dinner as the quality was well below the price tag on it. So if we return we'll definitely eat out for the evening meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the couple of days we spent at hotel. Lovely, lovely room, lovely, lovely staff , loved our attententive restaurant waiter. One tiny gripe, the restaurant person who asked us to move into hotel area after breakfast on our 2nd morning I felt was slightly out of order because we were not the last people in the dining area, neither were we likely to be too much longer!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notfaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We recently stayed for a weekend at Donnington Valley. Our deal included a room upgrade, which we found spacious and clean with an extremely comfortable bed, although the room was on the ground floor (not our usual preference) and had no outlook other than onto a pathway and a grass bank! The bathroom had a lovely big shower and bath, unfortunately the poor fitting tap that wobbled on the basin stopped it from being 10 out of 10!

The food was delicious and on our first morning our pre arranged dietary request was fulfilled, unfortunately on the 2nd morning ignored, probably due to the increase in guests! We found most of the restaurant staff poor to average, lacking in communication skills, (with the exception of Lee who was superb).

The spa facilities did not disappoint with an excellent gym, 3 hot rooms, Jacuzzi and plenty of loungers to sit, relax and chill out. One thing... it would be nice if spa times for children were adhered to by their parents and upheld by the spa, so that adults could relax in peace!

Overall an enjoyable, comfortable stay. This hotel has a “corporate” feel to it, with every box ticked for cleanliness, standard room style, etc.etc. but we felt lacking in a little character and individuality.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms don't have much of a veiw especially if you face the golf course. Pathway at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seagazer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Seagazer2,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Donnington Valley and I am glad that all of the plus aspects of your stay appear to outweighed the negative. I hope that we may welcome you back again soon, please do contact me directly should you wish to book and I will be delighted to ensure a beautiful view!

Kind regards,
Sally Russell
sallyrussell@donningtonvalley.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My partner and I have just come back from a relaxing couple of days at Donnington Valley Hotel. We booked in for a Bacchanalian Feast stay and made the most of the facalities available. Have to say that the whole experience was fantastic.

With the Bacchanalian Feast we had a selection of wines choosen by the sommelier to match each of our chosen courses. The sommelier was excellent, very knowledgeable and attentive. The wines chosen were different to our usual selection but each one was very nice and complemented our individual food courses. On the following evening we was greeted by the sommelier who presented us with a wine list and details of our previous nights selection, which was a very nice touch.

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The spa and treatments were also very nice.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our only minor grumble would be the standard of the hot breakfast which we found over cooked on our last morning.

We will definitley be returning as soon as we can :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Denise R,

Thank you so much for your review and our Sommelier Chris Neeves is delighted to hear that his wines were a success! We are continuing to run our very popular Bacchinalian Feast break through 2013 so I hope we will see you again soon to sample some more new wines.

Best wishes,
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Oxford Road - Donnington | Berkshire, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing