We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot for weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for weekend break”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed here for one night for birthday treat on Champagne Tea package which included Dinner and Breakfast. Great location near to M4 on old Oxford Road towards Newbury. We upgraded to and Executive room before arrival and it was definatley worth the extra money as the room was much larger and had views over the golf course. Dinner was exceptional with good choice on fixed menu (a small surcharge if you wanted to make some choices form a la carte menu). Buffet breakfast equally as good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful despite the fact they were rushed off their feet with a large wedding party going on. Dont be put off by the outside of the hotel looking a bit tired in places the inside and the rooms are all of very high standard and will be staying again when we can get away.

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade to at least Executive room, worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear moandmike,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our executive bedrooms are lovely and spacious and we think they are worth that little bit extra. Do let me know when you are next looking to visit and I would be delighted to assist.
Kind regards,
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    373
    173
    87
    33
See reviews for
137
449
32
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Really easy to find just off the M4 and Newbury by pass but in the green with golf and a nice spa. Doesn't look much from the outside but nicely done inside. Golf is right nextdoor and a buggie can take you to the club house.Restaurant food good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear martinphilip,
Thank you for taking the time to review us following your stay and good news that you managed to enjoy both our golf course and the spa.
Now that you know where we are hopfully we will see you again soon!
Best wishes,
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Excellent 2 night stay which simply could not be faulted.... lovely room, great food, super facilities and very friendly and helpful staff who provide excellent customer service. All adds up to a very enjoyable and relaxing stay

Room Tip: Our room backed on to the golf course and offered every comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 35PaulC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear 35PaulC35,
"Could not be faulted" is a wonderful thing to hear so thank you very much. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we are able to welcome you back in the non too distant future.
Best wishes,
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked a spare of the moment spa break at the hotel including over night stay, champagne cream tea, dinner and breakfast. This was through the hotels website and the cost was very reasonable. We absolutely loved the hotel, spa facilities were excellent and there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the hotel. The staff were attentive and polite. We left feeling very relaxed and ready for the week ahead. Can't wait to come back and we will be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaniebag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Beaniebag1
A personal recommendation is always the best form of advertising so thank you so much for recommending us to friends and family and I am pleased to hear that you plan to return to us also. Please do contact me directly for your next visit and I will be delighted to assist.
Kind regards,
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at donnington valley for 1 night yesterday as two couples and had a fantastic time. Food, rooms, golf, spa and service was all brilliant! Highly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing reasonably priced weekend away :) we will be back again very soon but next time we want a view from the room of the golf course rather than car park :)

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the golf course :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkParham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear MarkParham,
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us and I am delighted you had such a good stay and enjoyed your celebrations. Next time you book, let us know which room you like and we will do our very best to accommodate!
Kind regards,
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Me and a friend stayed on the Love Donnington package and the whole experience could not be faulted!

The check in was swift and personal, the room was immaculate with an amazing view of the golf course, the pool area was spotless with attentive staff and we were welcomed to join an aqua aerobics class of which the instructor was excellent.

The bar staff were very helpful and Emma made the best cocktails! The champagne cream tea and evening dinner could not have been better and there was a good selection of breakfast items.

Every staff member we walked past throughout the hotel greeted us warmly.

My only criticism would be that the treatment area was not open long enough to enjoy a late or early treatment or relax in the relaxation room as it closed early in hotel spa standards and still wasn't anyone in there when we checked out at 10am on the Saturday. We also enquired about times when we were there and the lady on the treatment desk was less then welcoming which let it down a bit.

Overall our stay was amazing and I can not wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Opt for a room facing the golf course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zojgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Zajgo,
Emma was absolutly thrilled to read your review, she is new to cocktails so I am happy to see that she is doing so well. An amazing review following an amazing break is wonderful to receive so thank you very much and I hope you will be back again soon to try some more cocktails.
Best wishes,
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed one night on Dinner bed and breakfast basis. Food was exceptional. Great presentation and service at dinner. Breakfast was good too. Free use of the spa facilities on BOTH days of our stay was great. Very clean and totally relaxing. My wife and a friend stayed here earlier this year as has my son and his partner. We will definitely book a short winter break and try some of the spa treatments.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1neilmckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear 1neilmckenzie.
Chilled out is exactly how we like our guests to leave us so I am glad to hear that you did! Thanks for taking the time to review us anddo let us know when you are looking to return and we can let you know what offers are available.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,746 reviews
0.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
623 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Oxford Road - Donnington | Berkshire, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing