We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here over August bank holiday week with the travel zoo offer and was a great weekend. The hotel and spa is immaculately clean and I had the best massage ever thank you katie it was amazing. The evening meal was lovely and a very good choice of wines on offer. The breakfast was the best iv ever had in a uk hotel there was everything you could think of from English breakfast to poached kippers to fruit salad if there wasn't something there you wanted you could just ask and they would make it. I would defiantly go back and stay again its very close to Newbury town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshgurl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear welshgurl89,

Thank you for such a lovely review and I am so pleased that we provided such a great stay. Katie is delighted to receive such wonderful praise and I personally love the photo of our eggs benedict!

Again, I thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    315
    156
    77
    31
See reviews for
104
379
30
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have just returned from a two night stay at this wonderful hotel. My husband booked the stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary and also for a chill out. The room was big with a seating area , tv, DVD player. The bathroom had a bath and separate shower and complimentary toiletries. We had a fab view overlooking the golf course.
The spa is well worth a visit whether to swim , sauna, jacuzzi or just relax on the loungers,
All the staff were polite and helpful and on returning to our room we found a bowl of fresh fruit and an anniversary card from Roger ( guest relations) congratulating us. He made a point of coming over to us at breakfast to personally congratulate us , the restaurant staff also wished us well and we had a note written on our desert plate, we really did feel quite special .
My facial was perfect and very relaxing and the spa staff very friendly.
This really is a wonderful place to stay , the staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them . We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzznut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear fuzznut,

'Definately returning' is exactly what we like to hear! I am so pleased that we were able to help with the celebration and relaxation and it sounds like you made the most of your stay with us.

Do contact me directly when you next have a date in mind and I would be happy to help.

Best wishes,

Sally Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hi , I have stayed here a few times on business and it is very good...the rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed..the bar and restaurant are first class (although not cheap)...close to the town centre, and a good golf course

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryP907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Terry P,

A short but wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and I hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed at the Donnington valley hotel for four nights with my fiancée and loved it. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Dinner and breakfast at the winepress restaurant was delicious but we felt a tad overpriced. We made use of the leisure facilities and spa treatments. My massage was perfect and the spa staff in particular are an asset to the hotel. Great location for marco pierre white restaurant and highclere castle. Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear VictoriasAdventures,

Thank you for your review following your romantic break with us, super to hear it was nice and relaxing and even a massage enjoyed!

Do feel free to contact me next time you are looking to book and I would be delighted to assist.

Kind regards,

Sally Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

WE stayed 2 nights with a group of golfing friends (party of 8). Rooms are excellent and breakfasts also. Dinner on first night was poor but much improved on second night(different chef?). Service friendly and quick. Overall excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suethebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear suethebot,

Good to hear that your found us good vlaue for your parties golf break here at Donnington, hopefully we will see you again whilst the weather remains nice enough to be out on the course!

Kind regards,

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My company held a meeting here for a rather large party. It was the second time we had booked the resort. Rooms are comfortable.

Rooms are well-maintained, clean and beds are comfortable.

Reception desk staff service is inconsistent and could be improved. At check-in, front desk staff were rude and at the end of my stay, staff was unable to print my boarding pass without my actual assistance BEHIND the desk!

As I had the last time I stayed at Donnington, I had services at the onsite spa and used the gym. The spa is well staffed and the ladies were helpful and cordial. My spa service (massage) was first-rate. The gym is well frequented by regulars, but I didn't have to wait to use machines,etc.

Although the bar/restaurant was unable to make the slightest exception to my lunch request, even after I'd been assured it was 'no problem' and the order took about 20 minutes too long, overall the hotel restaurant's food was good. The dining room staff was attentive and friendly. When a colleague ordered a customized dessert at a group dinner, he was quickly accommodated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank concetta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear concetta2,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us, I am sorry to hear that the girls on reception were unable to print your boarding pass, they are normally very savvy with IT matters. I am pleased you found the time to enjoy our spa and enjoyed your massage... a little indulgence!

Best wishes,

Sally Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a travelzoo voucher. Rooms nice but bathroom floor had hairs all over the floor! Corridors literally infested with wasps too! Pool area nice but lots of people leaving towels on beds meaning those actually trying to sit down couldn't. Coffee from cafe was dreadful, had to send it back and it was no better on return. Food in restaurant pretty dire too. Service terrible, not quite sure how waiting about 30mins for a bowl of soup is ok, then about another 30 for mains and dessert. The manager came to apologise and then our dessert took even longer to come out! Needless to say we tried to avoid our waitress the following morning for breakfast! This hotel was very much let down by its service. For example, two people serving hot breakfast items while everyone sitting at their tables were waiting for various things! Needs a better F&B manager otherwise they will definitely be losing their AA rating for food! Well positioned for highclere house. Gym facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Ozzycat,

I am so sorry to hear that we let you down during your recent stay with us, we normally receive very good feedback about the team and the service they provide. I do hope that you give us the opportunity in the future to show you that we normally are 'so much better'.

Kind regards,

Sally Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Oxford Road - Donnington | Berkshire, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing