We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We met our friends at the lounge bar to have drinks and food before a concert. The food was excellent (as always), and there was a vibrant atmosphere in the lounge. Service was efficient and with a smile.
Our friends stayed the night at the hotel and enjoyed the treatments they had at the spa. It is fast becoming one of our favourite places to spend an evening out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeefyNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear BeefyNewbury,

Such a lovely review! Thank you very much and pleased to hear that our food and ambience is so highly rated! Hope you enjoyed the concert!

Best,

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

893 - 899 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Good functional hotel with all you need from a good hotel. Food and service good and very good selection of outstanding wines on offer. A little pricey, for this reason may not use the hotel due to company's expenses policy.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bishopsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Bishopsj,

Thank you for posting this lovely review and good to hear you enjoyed or food and wines. Keep an eye on our website for brilliant value packages or sign up so you get all the special deals available sent directly to you.

I hope we do get to see you again!

Best,

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I visited Donnington Valley hotel and spa for a relaxing night when driving back from Cardiff to London. We arrived a little late but were well looked after by the staff and enjoyed a very pleasant champagne afternoon tea. The spa and swimming pool are very nice but a coughing masseuse spoiled my wife's enjoyment of a whole body massage and facial. The restaurant was the right mix of sufficient formality for dinner but casual enough to be cosy. A nice romantic setting and meal. Our executive room overlooking the golf course on the second floor was spacious and modern but had no balcony which was disappointing. The buffet breakfast was ok but not a lot of choice and nothing special.

Room Tip: The new rooms facing the golf course are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTs58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear JohnTs58,

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the champagne went down well after a long drive! We hope we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future or the next time you are passing!

Best wishes,

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed at Donnington for 3 nights in October in executive room which was spacious, clean, well equipped and quite comfortable. The SPA was great, I tried gym and swimming pool. For breakfast you have a variety of choices, English breakfast is traditional . For dinner you either go the restaurant or enjoy delicious burgers at the bar with some tasty beer. The staff was very gentle and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rezi-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear rezi-x,

Thank you for such a lovely review and I am delighted you were looked after so well.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My daughter and I booked the two night dinner, breakfast, 55 minute facial/massage each, package for 11-13 October, and started by arriving late due to traffic and getting lost. However, a quick phone call ten minutes before our dinner reservation letting them know, and they swapped us for an hour later, no problem. The word we kept using for the site, the grounds and the decor was "calming". It's a very relaxing venue. The room was average, but too warm with not very effective controls, and as with many hotels now we were only given quilts for bedding, far too hot, but a bit too chilled with nothing. Next morning we asked reception for a top sheet to be put on the bed, as the quilt was too warm. Staff did exactly that. Put a top sheet, neatly folded, on top of the fully made up with a quilt bed.
The dinners were splendid. A good range within the four choices of our package menu, huge portions, very rich desserts. Absolutely delicious, and some knockout combinations of flavours. An absolute highlight of the stay. Breakfast is not. Completely average spread, with the bacon seeming steamed rather than grilled or fried, and the toast consistently burnt. Lunch and afternoon tea in the poolside lounge takes you back to the excellent though; tasty, varied, generous and creative.
We found out when we fronted for our 55 minute facial/massage that it's actually one or the other, not combined, and they announced they'd booked me for the facial and my daughter for the massage. No consultation as to our preferences, and when we explained our interpretation of the booking we felt quite patronised and insulted by the receptionist's response. This was compounded by the treatments being respectively 20 and 15 minutes short of the 55! Two other guests in the relaxation room at the same time also expressed dissatisfaction, they said they had paid for an upgrade but not only didn't get the additional time, one was ten minutes short of the standard treatment. I had booked additional treatments, and when the next morning's also came up short, we spoke with Jamie the Duty Manager. He patiently wrote everything down, apologised, and tried to get the spa staff to liaise to resolve the matter. Unable to do so (sickness, short staffing) he was more than happy when we suggested that as we'd lost the equivalent time of a treatment, then deduct the cost of one treatment from our bill. It wasn't about scoring extras, just getting what we paid for - or only paying for what we had! So thanks Jamie, for prompt and courteous resolution. Overall the problems can probably be nipped in the bud; ask for the beds to be made up with a top sheet, ask for lightly done toast, skip the bacon, monitor your time in the treatment room, and request they complete the full session. If that's all sorted, then added to the relaxing ambience and lovely meals it will make for a delightful stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annieje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear annieje,

Thank you for your review and I am so pleased Jamie was able to assist following your treatments. We will review all other comments for future improvements and I hope you will be back to see us again soon,

Best wishes,

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We arrived at this hotel on 26th October, a very late, last minute booking! And how pleased we are that we did so.
We arrived to be welcomed by a very friendly receptionist who checked us in, informed us that she had booked us in for dinner at 9pm and gave us information about the hotel dining, room and spa facilities.
We went up to our room and were amazed at what a lovely room we had been allocated (room 302 on 2nd floor) .
As we hadn't packed any swimming wear, I went down to the spa to see if I could purchase any for us, again I was greeted by friendly welcoming staff who didn't need to convince me to purchase swimwear as the pool and facilities looked so welcoming.
After an hour and a half in the spa, and a lovely warm shower we went down to dinner.
We ordered from the a la carte market menu, the choice was good, the food and the wine we ordered was excellent and the service too was faultless!
Breakfast the following morning was relaxed, service was excellent and even though the hotel was full, we could not fault the staff.
Overall, Great hotel, Lovely location, Fantastic room, Wonderful spa, Amazing food and More than anything the Staff were Excellent.
The General Manager at this hotel is doing an amazing job.
We will most certainly return. Do not listen to the bad reviews)

Room Tip: Room 302 at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 734Ali1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear 734Ali1967,

Wow! What a lovely review so thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences. I am so pleased to hear that my team looked after you so well and you were able to enjoy all of our facilities... maybe next time we will have to get you out on the golf course so you can try everything!

Do let me know if I can be of any assistance with future bookings.

Best wishes,

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My parents surprised me with a few spa treatments at Donnington and was very much looking forward to them.
When we arrived it was noted that I would have to wait for approx 10mins however, over an hour later I went into the room.
The lady who done my treatments had a scent of alcohol on her breath and was sniffing and coughing throughtout - its the little things that let it down.
The issue was brought up to the manager who could only offer guest passes - which we did not want as my parents are member and have passes to use - this again, was disappointing.
Lovely place though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazmine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Jazmine G,
Thanks for posting your reveiw following your spa day with us, the details of your treatments have been passed over to my spa director who will be in contact with your parents to discuss directly and resolve.
I do hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
4.3 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
651 reviews
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#6 of 17 in Newbury
805 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Oxford Road - Donnington | Berkshire, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Price Range: £99 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing