We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
London
Level Contributor
237 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Booked this place through Groupon and it was not a bad deal. The deal included stay, dinner, breakfast and a bottle of wine(which I'll tell u about)

Firstly the hotel is nice with a touch of character to the building mixed with a few modern additions.

The room is nice, clean and spacious. It has a fridge and tea and coffee facilities.

Tv was great for me as quite a few sports channels but no movies. There is a cd and DVD player if you want to bring your own entertainment.

Bathroom was again nice and clean with a separate bath and shower cubicle. Shower needs a little more power but was ok.

Restaurant was ok and service not bad. Couple of birthdays being celebrated whilst we were there and nice to see the staff made a fuss of it by dimming the lights, bringing in a cake and singing happy birthday.

Used the gym a few times which was of a good standard. Didn't get a chance to use spa.

They have a large golf course which I didn't use as it's not my thing.

My only gripe that if checking out on a Sunday they should have a late one as standard without having to ask.

Also the deal included a bottle of wine which you can only have when you checkout. Makes no sense surely you should be able to have with your evening meals. Is it because the wine in the restaurant are far more expensive and this is where they make their money back?

I would go back

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roni2047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Roni2047,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reveiw following your stay at the weekend, overall I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you would return. Keep an eye on our website for the latest deals and even some packages that include wine with your meal rather than to take home!

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Very best wishes,

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    312
    156
    77
    30
See reviews for
104
378
30
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was my 3rd stay at this hotel and I am already looking forward to planning another trip here. We booked the Bacchanalian Feast 2 night break and were very pleased. The spa facilities are good, the rooms are spacious and the staff are friendly and helpful. On our first night we had matching wines with our dinner, picked for us by the assistant sommelier Katarina - who did an excellent job and took her time to explain the wine to us.

Had an excellent time here. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChantellePeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear ChantellePeat,

Feedback like this from a regular visitor is fantastic to hear!!!

I am so pleased that you continue to enjoy your breaks with us here at Donnington and next time you are planning a trip then do let me know directly and I will be happy to help with any arrangements.

Best wishes,

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our room was spacious, quiet, comfortable and clean. The spa facilities are good and staff (especially Drew in the bar) are friendly and helpful. Put together, it adds up to a relaxing and enjoyable weekend away. The bar menu is good and whilst the restaurant menu is not extensive and quite traditional, the quality of the food was good. The only complaint, and it's a mild one, is that one of the steam rooms in the spa was out of order.

Room Tip: The rooms the furtherest away from reception seem slighly larger and 3rd floor is the top so no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear gcac_10,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us here at Donnington. I am pleased you had a nice 'away break' and to hear my team looked after you well, Drew was delighted to see a personal mention! My apologies for the maintenance issue which I am glad did not impact your stay too much.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I booked here as part of a trip to Newbury Races. We chose it because of the weekend offer of £319 DBB for two people. The price also included matching wines during one dinner and a case of wine to bring home with you. We couldn't believe what good value it was and I am pleased to say that it lived up to its promise. The hotel staff were extremely helpful throughout and we got a very thorough welcome when we arrived to check-in. We were upgraded to an executive room (without asking). The room was spacious, clean and quiet and overlooked the golf course. Our meals on both nights were extremely good. As part of the deal you could choose three courses from the market menu - about 5 choices of starter, main and dessert. On the second night the sommelier matched wines to our choices - so we tried wines we probably wouldn't have done otherwise. Choice at breakfast was very good with a wide selection of fruit and cooked items. We didn't use the spa but the pool looked very well looked after and clean and it was a decent size for a hotel pool. When we checked out we were presented with our 6 bottles of Australian wine - a perfect end to a perfect weekend! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_m_hurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear r_m_hurst,

Thank you for your review post racing weekend and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Bacchinalian Feast break, I do feel that any offer which includes wine is always a winner!

I am so pleased you were well looked after, well fed and even found time to relax around the pool.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stay here on a fairly regular basis for work and always find it welcoming, clean, good quality and comfortable. What else do you need?!

Never used the spa, but hear its very nice - the food is is great and the breakfast is always delicious.

Well worth a stay if you're in the Newbury area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorUK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear PMJF,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, feedback from our regular visitors is always good to receive!

I hope to see you again when you are next in Newbury,

Best wishes,

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Would highly recommend Donnington Valley, I went with my husband for a night away without the children. When we first got to the hotel there was a wedding on so we initially thought oh No because it was so busy, but we arrived for our cream tea, service was excellent and food was great. Went to a lovely clean and spacious hotel room . I relaxed while my husband went to the gym which was the best hotel gym he had ever been to.

We went to the pool and sauna again plenty of room, relaxing environment, great facilities.

We had a 3 course evening meal booked and the food was great, we had service with a smile, we weren't rushed even though it started to fill up and we had a thoroughly enjoyable time.

Cooked breakfast in the morning was lovely so all in all from someone who tends to find something to complain about absolutely nothing wrong with the hotel at all would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear RuthH_11,

Five out of five across the board... thank you so much! I am delighted to hear that we looked after you and you had a super experience with us here at Donnington.

I hope to welcome you again soon!

Very best wishes,

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have just had our 2 day leadership conference at the Donnington Valley Hotel and I have to say how amazing the staff , hotel and food were. The service was impeccable. Nothing was too much trouble and my delegates had a very comfortable and enjoyable experience. The food too was also brilliant and I had no complaints at all which is rare for this group of people. Well Done and special thanks go to Nicole, Adam and Roger :-)

Room Tip: Ask for Adam to manage your event - supper efficient, polite, kind and attentive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatAllen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear NatAllen79,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review following your conference with us, it is such a joy to read! The team are delighted they were able to help in making your event a success and I thank you for choosing Donnington!

I hope we are able to welcome you again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Oxford Road - Donnington | Berkshire, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing