We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a couple of days away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newbury
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a couple of days away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

enjoyable couple of days away. comfortable room, clean and well presented. I enjoyed a great round of golf with three friendly guys who were happy to let me join them. The course was in excellent condition, greens very fast. My wife enjoyed the the pool and spa while I was playing golf. The meal both nights were delicious. Not a massive choice but, for a short stay it wasn't a problem. There is a extensive wine list, probably the largest I have ever seen. Service in the restaurant was very professional. Breakfast is your usual large hotel hot buffet, all well cooked and of good quality. If I were to stay in that area again I would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emyr V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I’m so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to make the most of our parkland golf course and spa facilities. Thanks for your lovely comments about dinner and our wine list. Our Head Sommelier, Chris Neeves, is always on the look out for new wines to add to our ever growing wine list, so I’m sure next time he will have chosen new wines for you to try.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    291
    138
    71
    29
See reviews for
89
341
29
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying the hotel itself is really good.

The hotel has a grand feel to it, it's spacious and the outdoor areas are really well kept and beautiful. The food was good and the bar had a great atmosphere.

But this is where the positives ended. The room we stayed in, room 401 completely let the stay down. We stayed during warm weather, and this room had no air conditioning, it was very hot and humid all night. The room had velux windows but by opening these we were woken at 6:30am by a delivery lorry unloading and staff pulling trolleys and cages which made a lot of noise. Then at 7:00 the staff started emptying glass bottles into the bins also just outside our room which made one hell of a racket.

Between the hot room and loud noises we didn't sleep well. It's a shame as other rooms have air conditioning and are much quieter.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay on Tripadvisor. It’s good to hear that you were happy with the feel of the hotel in general and enjoyed the food and bar area.

I’m sorry to hear though that your room experience wasn’t as good. I will speak to our maintenance team about the air conditioning not working to get this repaired and speak to the team about moving trolleys and cages at such an early time of the morning.

I hope your room experience hasn’t discouraged you from booking with us again. And if you have any issues with your room next time, please don’t hesitate to contact our reception team who would be happy to move you to another room if one is available.

Kind regards

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked Donnington Valley based on other reviews and a personal recommendation. We were a group of 12 hens on a civilised hen weekend, we arrived at 10am and were greeted by a friendly receptionist who checked us in with efficiency.

We then headed to the spa where we were again greeted by a lovely chap on the spa reception who ensured we all had locker keys and robes and slippers etc, he then went on to rearrange all the loungers poolside so we could sit together, then came and took drinks orders and lunch orders and ensured all the treatment times were known to everyone. He could not of done more to ensure that our experience was 5*. Even down to arranging a lovely table in the spa cafe for our lunch, complete with table linen from the hotel. The spa treatments were all exceptional and the ladies in the spa all so lovely. Although we were a large group we were dealt with efficiently and with superior service at all times.

We then proceeded to ur rooms where they were spotlessly clean and comfortbale, with lovely views out of the balcony across the golf course. We then went down to dinner which was again exceptional in quality and service. The bar and waiting staff friendly and attentive and dealt with some fussy eaters and food alergies very professionally.

We only had one problem during or whole stay which was that the bar and restauarnt were not very good at charging the rooms with the corect drinks orders, which resulted in a bit of a sort out at check out, although not ideal the receptionist dealt with it calmly and professionally and it was sorted in the end.

Would not hesitate to return and reccommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 15HappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your friend’s hen weekend at Donnington Valley. It’s great to hear you had an enjoyable time with us and were happy with the service you received in the spa and the restaurant. Our golf course is always lovely to look out on so I’m glad you were all able to enjoy the view.

Apologies for the mix up with the billing on your rooms for drinks, but it’s good to hear that this was resolved quickly and calmly.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon for another lovely stay.

Kind regards

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

As soon as we were seated I had the impression that the staff weren't quite geared up for afternoon tea. We were asked what we'd like to drink which, given we'd ordered the afternoon tea with glass of Prosecco, I thought should have been fairly obvious.

The sandwiches, scones and cakes were perfectly good, but the staff weren't at all attentive and we were pretty much left to our own devices. We had to chase them up after the glass of wine to get tea served, and the poor girl trying to take out order clearly had some difficulties understanding what we were saying.

4 stars for the food and drink, 2 for the service. Very disappointing for a well known local 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christophersquiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon tea experience at Donnington Valley. I’m sorry to hear that it wasn’t as enjoyable as expected and service wasn’t up to standard. I will speak with the team about this to ensure this does not happen again.

I hope your experience doesn’t discourage you from visiting us again.

Kind regards

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at Donnnington Valley Hotel on 6-8th June to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This was our second trip to the hotel after finding it very relaxing for our valentines break earlier in the year. We chose the love Donnington package for the Saturday night which included a three course evening meal in the restaurant and a bottle of wine to take home (which we forgot to ask for on check out!) The Hotel is set in a great location that is tranquil and green.

Room: We loved our room as it had a beautiful view overlooking the golf course and the bathroom was very nicely done. We were touched to find an anniversary card in the room on our arrival which was ever so kind. The air cooling in the room was a little warm for our liking which we had not noticed during our stay in February (probably due to the cooler weather). For the times that we were in our room we just keep the patio door open which cooled the room down nicely. We had a small issue with cigarette smoke coming into our room from the guests next door smoking on their balcony one morning however when we called reception a member of the team came down within 30 seconds and fixed the problem instantly which we were very impressed with.

Staff: The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly and even the cleaning staff would smile and say hello as you passed them which was lovely to see. There was a particular member of staff serving at breakfast who was exceptionally helpful and friendly. We were very impressed with his manner and attentiveness – From seeing me struggling to open a jar of jam whilst he was walking through the bar on Saturday afternoon and offering to help to smiling when he saw us the next day at breakfast and little things like asking if we wanted more drinks and if everything was okay with our meal. He stood out amongst all of the staff that we came into contact with and we were really impressed. We met with Sally the hotel manager on the Saturday – it is great to see hotel management taking guest feedback seriously and we could see that she pushes her team to achieve better.

Food: The breakfast selection was simply beautiful. It is lovely to see a great cooked to order selection combined with a full English selection, fresh fruit, yogurt, continental selection and pastries and cereal. We particularly like the innocent smoothies which are a lovely addition. My evening meal on the Saturday night was fab; The lamb was beautifully cooked and presented and the rhubarb crème brûlée was delicious. Andy had the rump steak which was unfortunately over cooked. It was still full of flavour so he didn’t like to send it back as he didn’t want me to be eating on my own. The restaurant was very busy during the time we were there so the staff were not quite as attentive as they were on our last visit. It would have been nice to have been asked if our meal was okay half way through and if we needed anything further as we would have liked some tomato ketchup for the steak and additional soft drinks during the meal.

Facilities: The spa is a lovely area with comfortable loungers and beanbags to lay on. The pool was a great temperature for swimming in and the jakuzzi, aroma room, steam room and sauna make the spa a very enjoyable place to spend the afternoon! We were too preoccupied with the spa on this trip so we didn’t get to use the gym.

Overall, we had a lovely stay at Donnington Valley Hotel and we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffy&Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Happy Anniversary. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay and our staff were helpful and friendly, which added to your experience. I’m glad you had a relaxing time and were able to enjoy all of our spa facilities.

Thank you for your lovely comments about our breakfast selection and I’m pleased you enjoyed your evening meal. We were very busy for dinner, but that doesn’t excuse us not checking on you half way through to make sure you had everything you need, so my sincere apologies for this. Thank you for also bringing the air conditioning issue to my attention, I will speak with our maintenance team to check the air conditioning unit in your room.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent a Saturday evening here to celebrate a friends special birthday. There were about 30 of us and we were so well looked after despite a wedding on the same day. Our rooms were lovely, well appointed, immaculately clean - a shame it was only one night! The leisure spa was wonderful especially as it was a lovely weekend and we could spill out on to the sun loungers outdoors. The pool is a lovely size and great for swimming lengths, and the other facilities attached are all great. Our private dinner was in a conservatory like room and we felt very cossetted. We were looked after by the same Head Waiter all evening, the food was delicious, and there was no rush for us to leave at the end of the evening. Breakfast was good and when we left we were already looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Our room was wonderful so difficult to give any further advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradders57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks so much for a wonderful review. I’m so pleased to hear you had a fantastic stay and had a great time celebrating your friend’s birthday. Thank you for you lovely comments about our spa and I’m pleased you were happy with your rooms and had a great evening.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon.

Kind regards

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

A twin room was booked, and confirmed 4 times but we were given a double- it took 2 phone calls to reception and a wasted hour while it was sorted. We sat on the patio waiting for a lunch menu- we had to ask twice before we got one. At dinner we waited to be seated then waited 20 mins before we were asked, by the manager, if we wanted water, he never came back with it. We had to ask for menus, after waiting another 30 minutes.Food came but incomplete, we asked for the bread and the waitress went to get it but never came back with it, so i went and got it myself- at least 4 other tables of guests were complaining also- but there was 8 or 10 staff members seeing to about 20 guests- no-one knew what they were doing. The food was lovely when we got it, eventually and we were given a free carafe of wine. Not much better organisation for breakfast either, but again, good food.
The rooms were fine, comfortable beds, good air con,everything you need, but all a bit tatty round the edges. The TV remote didn't work properly. Such a shame. A good manager should be able to sort it out.

Room Tip: Check your booking....and if you want a double you may find its 2 singles pushed together..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Donnington Valley. I’m sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t as enjoyable as it should have been. Your comments will be communicated to both the reception and waiting staff to ensure that they understand how their level of service affected how much you enjoyed your stay. I’m pleased that you were happy with your food when it eventually arrived, but I can only apologise for the level of service you received. Thank you for highlighting the issues with your room, these will be looked into.

Kind regards

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
2.0 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
1.0 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa

Property: Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa
Address: Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel And Spa Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing