We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed 31 August 2014

16 of us went to this so called 4star hotel. the so called cooked breakfast was cold and the plates were very cold and the main meals very poor room service good drinks highly overpriced our evening meal took over 2 30+mins to serve a 3 course meal. a lot of nicely dressed staff most of did not know what they where doing and when asked a question gave wrong answers. have stayed at a lot of hotels this is by the worst would never recommend very very disappointed G Klassa

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank gerryklassa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience with us. We have just received very positive feedback from the organiser of your stay commenting on the great food and service so I'm sorry that your experience did not reflect that of other members of your party.

Kind regards

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stay in Newbury regularly on business and am forming a pretty clear picture on where and where not to stay. Unfortunately the Donnington Valley falls into the not category. The room itself is quite nice, but as a business traveller I need decent wifi, which is lacking here. When i've done working it's nice to chill with a bit of tv, but even that's limited here as there are only 5 or 6 channels, all with poor reception. Room service took over an hour to arrive, and really wasn't worth the wait, and the bed was rock hard. Given the choice, I'll stay in the globally branded establishment up the road in the future.

Room Tip: Stay in the Hilton North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kcn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you were pleased with your room, but I'm sorry to hear that you had to wait so long for room service. Thank you for highlighting this as it's not acceptable for you to have waited an hour for your order. Some of our bedrooms have softer beds, and we would have gladly moved you to a different room on the night you stayed.

Kind regards

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

i went with a party 16 friends this is a 4 star hotel my opinion no more than 2 the food was very poor the cooked breakfast was cold served on cold plates the toast was not toasted it looked like had come out of the fridge the rest of the food was very poor the diner food not cooked very well the chef or should i say cook liked salt every meal i had had far too much salt i expect to pay a bit for drinks but £8 for a disrano is a bit strong in my opinion all drinks are well overpriced i will not go to this hotel again any one who does check the bar price nearest pub 1mile away our first evening meal took two and a half hours to serve and the bread tasted stale

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us at Donnington Valley. Thank you for highlighting the issues you had with your stay. I’m sorry to hear you weren’t impressed with the food, service and price of our drinks. I hope your rooms were to your liking and you and your friends were able to spend time in our state of the art gym and spa.

Kind regards

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed for 4 nights and it is exceptionally frustrating if you are staying on business because of the lack of phone signal and the hotel wifi was very intermittent.
Having said that it had a good spa and gym and the bar areas had a good relaxed feel. The food was OK and the room very quiet, spacious and clean.
I would class my stay as very comfortable but frustrating due to the poor network and wifi.
I dont play golf but the golfers among us said it was a good and challenging golf course.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. I’m glad that you enjoyed the spa, gym bar areas and you were happy with your room. However, I’m sorry to hear that you found the intermittent wi-fi and phone signal frustrating. Our IT department has looked into the wi-fi issue and this has now improved.

I hope we can welcome you back another time.

Kind regards

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

With the golf course and it's architecture, this hotel is a piece of american countryside in the heart of England. Now about the steaks... that's far from it, but the rest of the food was pretty good - with overly nice waiters. (I think you can call them namby-pamby.)
The wellness section is ok, the pool and the saunas are perfect after a long day's work. Or before...
Room was fine, with comfortable bed and spacious bathroom.
With it's setting, this hotel gives a relaxing atmosphere for business travellers and everyone else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks for your great feedback on your recent stay. I’m glad to hear that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the food and our spa facilities. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I had high hopes of our stay at the Donnington but overall was disappointed. We queued for ages just to check in with small children and heavy bags - and then were overcharged the deposit and had to chase several times to receive a copy of the invoice via email. We stayed as a family of four, with interconnecting rooms. These were a nice size, with a good bathroom and facilities. Biscuits had been left in the room, painted with the children's names, which was a nice touch. However, the sheets were stained with brown marks and the room smelt very antiseptic. We could not use the bar as it was full of guests at an event so had to take the children to the more serious restaurant. Several other guests tutted at our children, which made us feel very unwelcome and the food was lacklustre - not justifying the high prices (although a good value children's menu). The gym was excellent but overall not a hotel I would return to.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lisa_felton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks for taking to time to give your feedback on your recent experience with us. I’m pleased you were happy our gym, with size your rooms and the facilities, and liked the personalised children’s biscuits, but please accept our apologies for the condition of the sheets and smell in the rooms, I will bring these issues to the attention of housekeeping.

I’m also sorry to hear you weren’t entirely happy with the food, check in and post stay service. I hope you still enjoyed your stay despite these issues. If you do decide to stay with us again, please contact me directly and I will make sure that you are looked after.

Kind regards

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is not the most attractive when you approach it there is a feeling of a late 70's early 80's cubic design to it which flows into the rooms which are well equipped but have corporate feel rather than a unique one. Having said that the reception and bar area could have been lifted out of a mansion house and would not look out of place back there.
The jewel in this crown is the restaurant which out performs the rest of the hotel with its limited but very well presented menu, the food arrived in a timely manner and was hot and tasty but the best bit is its wine list which is probably the most comprehensive list I have ever encountered which does seem out of place in a golf club hotel.
The Sommelier is a very enthusiastic man call Chris I believe and he has a fantastic depth of knowledge of all the wines he stocks and introduced us to some that we were unaware were wine producing countries so be sure to utilise him if you stay here as you will learn something I am sure.
Breakfast is fine and is set out in a buffet style but there is a member of staff that's serves you, now to me a buffet service is fine in a 4 star hotel as I am happy to select which particular piece of food I require without having to instruct somebody else to select it for me, it just seems like a waste of staff resources, if you want to serve someone why not serve them at the table?
As mentioned before the bar area is very nice but in the evening it is perhaps a little too dark and reading the bar menu can be tricky if you don't possess 20/20 vision.
The pool area was fine only being let down by a lot of crockery and left over food being left around for too long after being consumed as breakages can occur in an area people walk around in bare feet so this is an accident waiting to happen so more attention in this area is required.
Overall a perfectly usable hotel which I would happily use again as a base when going to Newbury races.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ExcaliberMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your Donnington Valley experience on Trip Advisor. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your food and loved our restaurant. Thanks for your kind comments about Chris, our Head Sommelier. He’s very passionate about wine as you saw and loves to source new wines to add the ever growing wine list.

Thanks for highlighting the crockery issue in the spa area. I hope this didn’t impact too much on the enjoyment of your time spent in our spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,886 reviews
0.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
4.3 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
660 reviews
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#6 of 17 in Newbury
813 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Oxford Road - Donnington | Berkshire, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Price Range: £88 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing