We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The breakfast was excellent! The use of the spa was lovely and the new rooms were gorgeous, very spacious. Dinner was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoepaulzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,262)
There are newer reviews for Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2010

We upgraded our room to a suite which was very spacious and clean. The spa area was very peaceful and again very clean. However the snacks and drinks were pricey. The staff were all very pleasent and helpful especially reception staff. We had a chair massage included in our package price which was very nice. Most other treatments were quite exspensive. The Breakfast was vey nice, very fresh and hot. The small things made our stay very plesant and comfortable. we really liked ther mineral spa products which were complimentary in the shower area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkle605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Stayed for 1 night as part of a spa package including bed and breakfast, 2 x 55 minute treatments in the Spa, and a 3 course dinner in the 'award-winning' restaurant.

The hotel is fine accommodation wise, clean and modern. The Spa is very good, they have a great indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms, and the treatments we had were also very good.

The major let down at this hotel was the food and the service.

We had lunch there on arrival, and waited 40 minutes for a plate of pasta and a salad which was of very poor quality and which I refused to pay for. Later in the evening we had steaks which were sent back as were a lot overcooked. Overall the food was no better than typical pub fare in my opinion, and certainly not of the quality portrayed on the hotels website, and certainly not good enough for the very high prices charged. Wine list was good, however.

Overall we had a good stay and enjoyed the spa, but I wouldn't recommend to others. The food quality needs to improve significantly to make the whole experience come together.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0nd0nSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Stayed here for one night and was impressed.

Very nice room. Clean. Good view of the golf course. Good bathroom and toiletries. Very quiet.

Restauarant was good. Steak nicely cooked. Mushrooms were extremely salty though which let the dining experience down. Dining staff were pleasant.

Didn't check out the health facilities but caught a glimpse of them and they looked impressive.

Overall quite happy - however, I was sold a double room and got one of those twins pushed togther. Not a big deal.

Beware. The hotel as of date has a new part and an old part. I stayed in a new room. I understand that the older part is not as pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E39mSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

My sister and I stayed for a 1 night spa break and enjoyed every aspect of this hotel. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. A nice touch was the little bottle of milk in the fridge instead of usual tiny portions. The 3 course dinner included in the deal was served by excellent staff in the restaurant and was very good. The pool is large and we lounged in our dressing gowns between beauty appointments upstairs in the beauty salon. The beauty therapists gave lovely service and treatments, we would love to return later in the year. Breakfast was as good as the dinner, with huge field mushrooms. I had 1 complaint of other guests who returned drunk and noisy at 2.15am and woke me with shouts and banging doors.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southampton1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I spent one night here to celebrate an old friend's birthday and was impressed by the excellent facilities. My room on the ground floor was spacious and had a very comfortable bed, and a nice view over the gardens. The service in the bar was friendly and the breakfast on the following morning had plenty of variety - kippers and smoked salmon, as well as the usual array of bacon, sausages, eggs, etc. The service was once again first class

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Perhaps golfers are too distracted,weary or inebriated after the 19th hole to notice when lousy service and grubby staff are as obvious as a smack in the mouth with a 9-iron.
As non-golfers,visiting family,we cannot comment on the quality of the Greens;but we do know when "the friendliest hotel in Newbury"(so they boast ),falls below an acceptable standard in so many other ways.
Pleasant,light, good-sized room was,nonetheless,noisy through the night.On arrival and finding no soap in the bathroom ,request for such resulted in our being delivered the last bar of soap in the hotel - or so they said,(delivery problems apparently).The shower head was in such a state that a wonderful horizontal spray largely missed its target ,but,at least washed the floor,aided and abetted by a poorly sealed shower divide.
Tea in the room but no milk,wrong breakfast order arrived at the table,staff were not altogether in abundance and the majority of those that were (ie 3 out of 4) had obviously recently risen from their beds and saw no reason to change clothes before beginning the day's work;I've yet to see a filthier teapot ,and with such a quaint ill-fitting lid ,and so on and so on.There were a couple of noisy hen-groups in the breakfast room,sharing,unbidded, the pleasures of the previous night's drinking and vomiting,so maybe we just hit a bad weekend.
I wrote formally,expressing my concerns,and received an e-mail reply,the writer somewhat deficient in the ability to construct a sentence which would satisfy GCSE examiners.
Don't be fooled,this place is grouped with as fine an hotel as the Vineyard at Stockcross -but,unless you have a desperate desire to try for a hole in one,this is one hole to avoid methinks.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DalesUncompromising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
4.3 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
642 reviews
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
792 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Oxford Road - Donnington | Berkshire, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Price Range: £83 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing