We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic break”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Spend 4 days there. Absolutely gorgeous property. On the first day, we did not get an early check-in so had to wait until 3 for the room. Went into the delightful town to kill time.N ewbury is a 10 min easy drive way, but cabs are crazy expensive. Exhausted by the time we got back so did not notice that the Classic room was tiny and had a very small window that a good view of the golf course though. Next day got a GBP 25 per day upgrade to Executive Room with a large doors opening into the golf course, free internet, etc, then it was much better. Better to be on the golf course side and not the road side. There is some traffic on the road so might keep you awake. The property is very nice. The breakfast in the morning is generous with full hot and cold buffet. Would highly recommend that you include that in the room rate since there is nothing else near by. The staff is fantastic, with a chatty Guest Relations officer; 71 year old Roger William; and a very upbeat reception staff (Sabrina, Judy etc). They will help you plan your day, give directions, print out maps etc. The counter can get busy with a lot of check-ins so be patient. There was a wedding party when we were there but there was no noise or inconvenience in the room.

The spa has good quality gym, sauna, steam, jacuzi and an Aroma room (first for us!). They don't have swimming gear so bring your own or buy it from Newbury.

The golf course is good but not championship standard. It is definitely worth playing and at GBP 25 it is cheap. It is a friendly course with not too much pressure on the game. The back 9 is tougher and you sort of don't expect that after a relatively easy front 9. The 15th and 17th holes are really tough. The par 5, 15th has a steep downhill first shot, steep uphill, blind and dog-leg second shot and a sharp down-hill approach shot. All the greens a very fast (at least compared to Asia) and highly unpredictable. The par 4, 17th has a tee off from a height with an easy carry across a pond but landing area is pretty small. All over the course, if you get it on the fairway the ball will bounce forever, so better to use a shorter club and find more of them. The pro-shop is very friendly and so is the bard.
All in all, a fantastic break and can't wait to get back

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeKAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    368
    172
    87
    33
See reviews for
134
445
32
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed at the Donnington Valley for our anniversary. Although we only stayed one night we got the chance to enjoy a delicious afternoon tea in the bar, a swim, sauna, steam and jacuzzi in the spa area, the luxurious bathroom in our room and a tasty dinner in the restaurant and then breakfast in our room (for a £5 surcharge) in the morning.

We took an executive room. The bed was huge and comfy (on the firm side though) and made up with clean crisp white linen and light duvet. We had complimentary dressing gowns and slippers in the room and they also brought us a complimentary fruit bowl with a card congratulating us on our anniversary. The room had a two-seater sofa, coffee table, large flat screen TV, a dressing table, mini fridge, ironing board and iron in a cupboard, a room-safe and air conditioning. The view out the window was onto the golf course which was lovely as there were lots of trees and lush green grass to greet us when we looked out. We had full length sliding doors onto the outside world. There was a tray in the room of tea, coffee, decaf, herbal and proper milk in the fridge and two delicious biscuits.

The bathroom was spacious and luxurious. There was a large bath (although taps at one end, rather than central, mean that you can’t sit two people in it opposite each other) and a separate shower cubicle. The bath had its own shower head as well, which was very handy.

Both the bathroom and the bedroom were very clean and looked well cared for. The shower had good water pressure and was big enough to accommodate my 6’2” man comfortably. The dimmer lights in the bathroom were nice and meant that popping in for a leak at night was not blinding. Another special touch was that the sound of the TV could be piped into the bathroom so we could listen to the radio in the bath.

On arrival to the hotel check in was quick and easy, the service was friendly and practical. When we got to our room we realised there was a dressing gown missing - they had given us only one - and when I called them to ask for the other one they brought it within about 30 seconds with smiles and an apology.

At the restaurant we had the ‘Market menu’ which is slightly cheaper than the A La Carte - which was very pricey (mains from £20) - but seemed to be good enough. The food we had was nicely presented and tasty - not earth shatteringly interesting though. The service was polite and quite formal and very efficient. The restaurant was full without feeling crowded.

We put a room service breakfast order on our door handle at night time and in the morning were woken by a smiling gentleman carrying our tasty breakfast. We ate this at out sofa and coffee table next to the window looking out on the lush green grass. There was a large pot of tea, and generous portions of cooked breakfast, as per our individual requests. The only draw backs were that the eggs could have been slightly softer and the toast could have been a bit more toasted - but hey these tiny details mean nothing - I couldn’t stop smiling about being served breakfast in our lovely bedroom with such a delightful view.

There was a wedding going on over the same night we were there but they managed to keep the chaos of a large wedding party separate from everyone else and so it didn’t disturb our stay at all. The building is large and some of the architecture very modern but it still managed to feel like a comfortable, stylish and reasonably characterful place. The whole stay was so wonderful that we didn’t want to leave and stretched it out by camping in the bar having coffee amongst other relaxed guests after we had checked out.

The only peeve I have is that the room was a bit too hot at night time even with the air con on full blast. Not sure why this was as it was not particularly warm weather. This bothered me more than my hubby so perhaps it was just the excess of red wine with my dinner that made me feel flushed. Anyway, I would advise that you open the sliding doors overnight to keep air flowing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Stayed there with a group of friends on a golf weekend. Great deal. Faultless stay. Beautiful room and such great helpful staff. One thing that really struck me and we all commented on was after a scruptious breakfast, the restaurant manager came over and said, "gentlemen, the breakfast bar is now closing, is there anything else I can get you?". This was a good 20 minutes after we knew breakfast time finished. I always think that this type of service separates a good stay from a great stay. Then staff were all very professionally managed. Even the house cleaning staff greeted you with a smile when you passed. I would go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoepaulzoe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The breakfast was excellent! The use of the spa was lovely and the new rooms were gorgeous, very spacious. Dinner was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoepaulzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We upgraded our room to a suite which was very spacious and clean. The spa area was very peaceful and again very clean. However the snacks and drinks were pricey. The staff were all very pleasent and helpful especially reception staff. We had a chair massage included in our package price which was very nice. Most other treatments were quite exspensive. The Breakfast was vey nice, very fresh and hot. The small things made our stay very plesant and comfortable. we really liked ther mineral spa products which were complimentary in the shower area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkle605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Stayed for 1 night as part of a spa package including bed and breakfast, 2 x 55 minute treatments in the Spa, and a 3 course dinner in the 'award-winning' restaurant.

The hotel is fine accommodation wise, clean and modern. The Spa is very good, they have a great indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms, and the treatments we had were also very good.

The major let down at this hotel was the food and the service.

We had lunch there on arrival, and waited 40 minutes for a plate of pasta and a salad which was of very poor quality and which I refused to pay for. Later in the evening we had steaks which were sent back as were a lot overcooked. Overall the food was no better than typical pub fare in my opinion, and certainly not of the quality portrayed on the hotels website, and certainly not good enough for the very high prices charged. Wine list was good, however.

Overall we had a good stay and enjoyed the spa, but I wouldn't recommend to others. The food quality needs to improve significantly to make the whole experience come together.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0nd0nSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Stayed here for one night and was impressed.

Very nice room. Clean. Good view of the golf course. Good bathroom and toiletries. Very quiet.

Restauarant was good. Steak nicely cooked. Mushrooms were extremely salty though which let the dining experience down. Dining staff were pleasant.

Didn't check out the health facilities but caught a glimpse of them and they looked impressive.

Overall quite happy - however, I was sold a double room and got one of those twins pushed togther. Not a big deal.

Beware. The hotel as of date has a new part and an old part. I stayed in a new room. I understand that the older part is not as pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E39mSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,739 reviews
0.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
1.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
760 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Oxford Road - Donnington | Berkshire, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Newbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing