We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management don't seem to learn from guest's feedback”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newbury Manor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here as part of a group booking for a Christmas party, general consensus was that we would not be returning any time soon. The hotel has some good points but unfortunately these are far outweighed by the bad. I'm just going to summarise these here:
Good:
location is close to the town but in a very pretty location, you are hardly aware that you are meters from a main road.
Home made buscuits in the rooms instead of the generic mini packs of digestives is a nice touch.

That's it for the good points, I suspect the hotel is resting on it's laurels and milking the location somewhat.

Bad:
Communication between staff is poor and led to confusion and overcharging for some of our party.
Room decor is tired and tatty - this is mentioned in comments dating back as far as 2007 so why on earth hasn't someone done something to fix this. One of our party asked to change their room because it was so tatty and was told there were plenty of empty rooms available, the reasons for this became increasingly clear. One room had peeling wallpaper, more broken bulbs than working ones in the light fittings, very unpleasant stains on the carpet and a broken kettle. Another room had such a soft mattress the occupants could not actually sleep as they just rolled together all night. Nothing worked properly - 'jacuzzi baths' had no instructions and either didn't start or didn't stop, wiring in some of the rooms looked frayed and everything was grubby.
Reception staff seemed overwhelmed and unable to respond to complaints, only one person was offered a refund (£20) as apology and one person was asked to pay twice as the staff were unable to locate the file with evidence that she had prepaid in full. At no point did anyone show any interest in fetching a manager to discuss our complaints.
My friend booked this on behalf of the whole party and paid in advance so there was no opportunity to check reviews first. Having read some of the other reviews on this site there's no way I'd have booked this.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank orangeblossom_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2011

I really cant understand previous negative feedback - our room was very comfortable and the price including breakfast was excellent value. The location outside town is away from the noise of the town centre and a short cab ride away. There is a walking shortcut to the races over the canal but be careful if you are in high heels and a dress!! as can be muddy. We found breakfast very good and the setting overlooking the river was lovely on a nice sunny morning. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I have been staying on business at the Newbury Manor for 2-3 (usually 3) nights a week since Feb 2011. I have eaten in the restaurant probably twice a week during that time - scores of meals. I have never found the food to be anything less than utterly superlative: I am firmly convinced that the chef John is a genius (to put this in context I recently ate at Galvin's Bistro near Baker Street - average food at very much more than twice the price). In my opinion the set menu at £14.95 for two courses represents the very best value I've ever eaten anywhere and the a la carte, though more expensive, is worth every single penny (eat the rabbit ballotine dish and tell me it ain't so, or the 28-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak, or the starter of raviolo of oxtail!). Fantastic location overlooking an old mill stream/pond, friendly staff, attractive building, consistently amazing food. During the 4 weeks Feb-Oct I have _not_ stayed there it has been a truly depressing experience.

We live in a world of mediocrity, and it is wonderfully refreshing - thinking now specifically about the restaurant, but also more generally about the attitude of the staff - to find passionate, talented people who very obviously care about what they do and truly know the meaning of the word 'hospitality'. In the last two years I've stayed in pretty much every hotel in Newbury - having found the Newbury Manor, I would not willingly stay anywhere else. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

An excellent hotel in an unusual location close to Newbury and the surrounding area. The setting is lovely the rooms and the service were excellent.

Room Tip: Get one facing the garden areas and not the entrance drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryScotland49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

very poor hotel, staff trying but the hotel needs a major re-fit.

Breakfast was a chance to redeem themslves but again very poor

will not be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Extremely disappointed! We booked for a treat after a day at the races, it looks stunning on the website, but this is so misleading. The hotel is tired & dated, needs a refit. We had a standard room at £150 for one night, it was relatively clean but absolutely nothing special with dodgy repairs like electrical tape holding on air vents in the bathroom and lumps of dried putty under the sink. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, my husband had back pain for a week afterwards. The biggest gripe however was that we turned up at the hotel river restaurant (the only restaurant) for dinner to be told they were fully booked!! I have never ever not be able to have dinner in a hotel restaurant when I'm a paying guest. The restaurant can be booked by non residents of the hotel, which I feel is totally wrong, if you don't have the capacity to cater for the hotel guests why extend this service to the wider public. In the end we were seated near the cold noisy doorway and served some food (the only other option was room service), after mains we were forgotten, no coffees or desserts offered.
Also the drive way is made of gravel and as the windows and doors aren't air tight you get woken up by every car that drives in, joy!
On a positive most of the staff were friendly and the location is nice, but it's the location they are cashing in on, in summary its a rip off, avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Had a great price of £70 for B&B for one night, felt let down when asked for another night, they wanted £120!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerCaroleswcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
678 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,935 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
1.9 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.4 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#6 of 17 in Newbury
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Manor Hotel

Address: Millwaters Cottage London Road, Newbury RG14 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range: £135 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Newbury Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Manor Hotel Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing