We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignore the website”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newbury Manor Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ignore the website”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Booked a night for my wife as a weekend away to visit Highclare Castle. On arrival I was not best pleased. The reception has damp patches on the walls and the roof was leaking onto the reception carpet. The surly receptionist grunted directions to our 'suite' on entering the suite I took all of five seconds to turn around and go back to reception and complain. It is obvious that they have one good room and that's what you see on the website as our 'suite' was a large room with a bath within that room and separate bathroom, the bed was straight out of a 70's hotel......it was made of bamboo!!!! In fairness the manager offered to reduce the rate but the full price of this room was £240, I got it on offer for £170 and he offered to reduce to £130 with a bottle of champagne. However, trust me you could get a nicer room in a nicer hotel, closer to the town centre by staying and the Premier Inn 200 yards away.

Room Tip: Yes, stay somewhere else or pay for the room shown on the website.....it's their only one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank them0ssman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear them0ssman

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the room was not what you expected and not to your taste. We do however get a lot of requests for this room and this is the first negative comments I have recieved. I have spoken to the Head Receptionist regarding the issues that you had apologise for this.
I do hope that in the future if you wished to return that you contact me personally and I will ensure a relaxing stay with us.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    114
    73
    38
    24
See reviews for
46
148
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Me & my husband stayed here the night of our wedding and we loved it. We had stayed there a few times before to check it out. The Riverside restaurant is absolutely amazing, the staff have such a passion for food and the chef produces some amazing dishes. Great bottles of wine on the menu which the waiting staff are happy to recommend. The hotel itself is quirky and has a quaint old feel to it. Really nice touches in the rooms like home made cookies. They were very happy to make me a sandwich at 12:30am when we came back from our wedding venue!!

Room Tip: They are all good size rooms, some have hot tubs. The one at the top is massive and looks over the R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear MissMidge

Firstly can I congratulate you on your recent wedding. I am proud to read the kind comments you have made and have passed these onto the team here at the hotel. I do hope I can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My husband & I stayed at this hotel last Saturday night as part of my 40th birthday celebrations. When I booked the hotel, I was pleased that they had a wheelchair accessible bedroom but wasn't asked if I required twin / double. On arrival, the room was arranged as twin but the Manager very swiftly rectified this for us. The room was clean and the bathroom nice and big. My husband and I enjoyed a couple of pre-dinner drinks and then sat for our meal. To say the food was amazing doesn't do it justice. For very reasonable prices, we enjoyed the best meal we have had in a long time. Service was excellent, the restaurant light and airy. Our meal was above all our expectations. Breakfast in the morning was also very good quality. The only minor fault was that the hot water took so long to get to the taps in the bathroom that we gave up waiting and had a lukewarm wash.

However, I would recommend this hotel & restaurant and we will return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear Demzi

It is a pleasure to read your kind words and these have been passed onto the team. I look forward to welcoming you personally to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south east
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Thank you for such a lovely time - great food great service. Great place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millyfp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear millyfp3

Thank you for your kind words. I look forward to welcoming you back soon when hopefully you can join us for afternoon tea or a bbq by the river.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswolds
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

This place has a beautiful setting, in its own grounds with the river running through and quiet despite being so close to central newbury. We only stayed one night but I can imagine sitting out on the deck outside the restaurant on a balmy summer evening would be amazing.
Room was spacious with a jacuzzi in the room but it could do with a bit of an update and painting throughout.
Rate was pretty good though and it was a relaxing spot so will consider a return visit. Not bad value overall. Could be an absolute goldmine with some investment

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bollingerbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear bollingerbetty

Thank you for your kind review. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel now that the weather has improved so that you can experience our outside dining at the river bar and also enjoy our new BBQ area beside the river.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We visited this hotel due its close location to my sons who unfortunately could not put us up. We had visited before and loved the hotel and its location. This visit we had a room that overlooked the back car park and the hot tubs beneath our window and this was noisey on the morning when we wanted a lay in. The rooms over looking the rivers with balconies which we had previous were much better.
Breakfast what a disaster.........having read a previous review on 12th April nothing has improved. we had to ask twice for tea and coffee and our order for breakfast was taken at 9.30 at 10.05 they came to clear our table we had not had our breakfast the waitress looked confused we had a pressing engagement so could not wait any longer so got up and left. I really feel that this length of time is very unacceptable there seemed to be plenty of staff most spoke very little english and some were hard to understand most of the time they seemed to hang round not aware of what was going on around them.This hotel needs to get this sorted or I feel it will lose business. The paintwork on the outside of the riverside bar needs to be looked at lots of bare patches, the decking could also do with a coat of staining.
Must say this was a very disappointing visit wish I could be more positive and because we will be travelling down this area a lot in the future Im unsure if I can trust this hotel to come up trumps again. We had considered booking our sons wedding here as well think it may be back to the drawing board......

Room Tip: choose one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sashyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Arrived late at the hotel after being stuck in traffic, check in was seamless. Bar had closed and room service had finished but they still offered me a drink to be sent to my room should I wish and brought up a lovely glass of wine. Room was large and clean. Bedding crisp, white, clean and bed and pillows overall very comfortable. Good powerful shower which is always nice with plenty of hot water. Breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the water was perfect start to my day. Free parking also and very central location.

Room Tip: There are stairs up to each floor didn't see a lift so if that's an issue ask for room on gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gem03x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear gem03x

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to read about your positive experience and thank you for this. I hope that I can personally welcome you the next time you stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.0 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
5.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Manor Hotel

Property: Newbury Manor Hotel
Address: London Road, Newbury RG14 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Newbury Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Manor Hotel Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing