We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day at the races”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newbury Manor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My husband and I used the Newbury Manor Hotel while visiting newbury races a week ago. Aside from being close to the racecourse the hotel also proved to be quite lovely. The restaurant was first class and in such a beautiful setting. I would certainly revisit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear blue j

Thank you for your kind words. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

Well i stayed at this hotel on business. Was really impressed with the location and
the lovely river and waterfalls. However, i was not impressed by the service or the room or the breakfast. The room had peeling wall paper, the shower had a hair (not mine) in it, the breakfast i asked for was scrambled egg on toast, this arrived on a massive plate with a simple none buttered piece of toast with a dollop of scrambled egg on top. I found the waiters and waitress whilst friendly seemed to be a bit slow and didnt speak english very well. On my checking out i was not asked how my stay was and so just left a comment card. I m a bit surprised really that such a lovely hotel looks wise can charge the amount for a room in that state and the crap service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smiler12312312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear smiler12312312

Thank you for your review. I am saddened to read your comments. I apologise that we did not live up to both our expectations at the hotel and can assure you that this is not a true reflection of the service and standard offered. I do hope that you will return in the future so that we can restore your faith in the hotel.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

My wife and i have just returned home from yet another lovely stay at The Newbury Manor and wanted to let people know what agreat place for a short break this place is. On arrival the staff at reception could not have been more helpfull. The rooms are very spacious,beds very comfortable.The bathroom i thought could have need of a little TLC but exceptionally clean.We stayed for two nights B&B and the breakfast was excellent,great selection of hot and cold food.The staff were also very welcoming and nothing was to much trouble in the River restaurant.The hotel is perfectly situated within walking distance of the racecourse and town centre which was ideal for us. Value for money,we will be returning with our friends in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the Manor house would be quieter as the gravell driveway ensures cars c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear kevin m

Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to read kind words and certainly makes the teams day. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over Xmas 2012 and ate three times a day!
Our rooms [we were 2 couples] were spacious and comfortable with a largish bathroom. Weather was cold outside but the rooms were warm. Bed comfortable. Breakfast was OK with hot options available, which were quite tasty. There was also a self serve buffet with cereals and the usual suspects.
The real treat was lunch and dinner. The menu choice is fairly wide with non-meaters reasonably catered for (ie more than one choice a course). There was a fixed price / set menu for lunch as well as ala carte. From three lunches and three dinners, we were not once disappointed. The food was very good, service quite good too. I recommend calling-in for a bit to eat [largish carpark out the back].

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doingittough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear doingittough

Thank you for your kind review. We are very proud to read your comments regarding you stay and especially the food which we pride ourselves on. I do hope that I can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Stayed as a group of 8 during January 13. Could not fault the hotel. Staff were very attentive and polite, the room was spotless and generally the hotel appeared to me newly decorated. The meal in the Garden restaurant was superb and the attention to detail and service could not be faulted. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Although the grounds were unfortunately flooded I imagine it is very picturesque in the summer. A huge thanks to all that made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: A room in the front will get you a lovely view of the river and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandgEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Dear jcdEsswx

Thank you for your kind review. It is a pleasure to read that you all had a memorable stay with us and hope that I can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We held a weeks worth of meetings here, with a team of between 20-30, dependent on the days events. After experiencing slow service over dinner on our first night, the staff reacted immediately and the rest of our stay was superb. Nothing was too much trouble and the friendliness and helpfulness of everyone was a pleasure to experience.
We had a couple of our team members who felt unwell, after being involved in a minor car accident. Food was delivered to their rooms and they were helped with their luggage etc. back to their cars when they left. I had some business meetings across the week and we were given, at no extra cost, the small meeting rooms behind reception to use.
Carol (sales manager) and Jack (junior manager) were our two main contacts during the week and were exemplary.

Room Tip: I stayed in a suite facing the river, so the sound of running water (running high because of recent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Jim W

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to look after you all and I am glad we got over our 'teething problems' after the first evening. Both Carol and Jack thank you for your positive comments and we all hope that you can return to the hotel soon whether it be business or pleasure.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Lovely hotel with polite, attentive staff. We stayed n/o 12th January to celebrate a friends 60th birthday. The meal was of excellent quality and choice as was the wine, both red and white choices. The river alongside the restaurant had burst its banks, so the gardens were underwater but this didn'y detract from our stay. The rooms appear to have been recently decorated and all in all I cannot fault this hotel - nor would I want to - excellent value for money and lovely setting. Would definately use this hotel again and will recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Only tip - if eating in the restaurant in the winter months as we did, take a jumper or cardigan as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clive h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear clive h

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are all delighted that your party enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to look after you all. I do hope that you are able to return for the next birthday celebration when I am sure that we will offer you the same experience at the same price.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,908 reviews
2 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
5.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
664 reviews
1.9 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#8 of 17 in Newbury
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Manor Hotel

Address: Millwaters Cottage London Road, Newbury RG14 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range: £135 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Newbury Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Manor Hotel Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing