We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newbury Manor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic night away”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Myself and my partner went to Newbury manor this week for a late valentines celebration. We were impressed with just about every aspect of the hotel - in particular the staff. Both in the restaurant and the hotel itself, we were treated well above and beyond the usual level of service we have received at similar establishments. The food was wonderful, cooked to perfection, the room was not what we expected by the pictures on the website, but was clean and quirky. We had a hot tub room, which was well worth the money. It was a fabulous experience from start to finish. If you get a chance - have the afternoon tea too, but don't eat it too late (we had to change our dinner reservation time because we were so full from it!). Can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Go for a hot tub room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Megan C

Thank you for your kind words. It is extremely pleaseing for both the team and myself to read your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    114
    73
    38
    24
See reviews for
46
148
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

There are modern, clinical and soulless hotels and there are old hotels with quirky charm and character. The Newbury Manor is a Grade II listed building very much in the latter category. The reception rooms have had a recent makeover but my bedroom was looking a bit dated. The room was clean however but the electric wall heater was fairly ineffective and there appeared to be no heating at all in the tiled bathroom so very cold this time of year. As you would expect, Tea and Coffee making facilities are available but a nice touch is the jar of home made cookies! Free WiFi access was available. The best feature of this hotel is the River Bar and Restaurant, situated in a Grade II listed watermill. The evening menu was very reasonably priced, a good selection and well presented, breakfast was included in my tariff, was cooked to order and very nice. With all the recent snow and rain the river was in full flood and the water looked ready to swamp the restaurant, it didn't though. I have stayed here in the summer when the water levels were normal and it is certainly a lovely place to start the day. Reception was very efficient and friendly, restaurant staff were efficient but could be more cheerful. Overall Very Good but rated Average because of the room and how cold it was. Would I stay again? Yes.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veteran75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Veteran 75

Thank you for your review. We are currently in the process of renovating all our bedrooms and it seems that the room that you were staying in had not been updated yet. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and the staff. These will make the team happy. I look forward to welcoming you back when hopefully your bedroom will ensure a higher rating.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My husband and I used the Newbury Manor Hotel while visiting newbury races a week ago. Aside from being close to the racecourse the hotel also proved to be quite lovely. The restaurant was first class and in such a beautiful setting. I would certainly revisit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear blue j

Thank you for your kind words. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Well i stayed at this hotel on business. Was really impressed with the location and
the lovely river and waterfalls. However, i was not impressed by the service or the room or the breakfast. The room had peeling wall paper, the shower had a hair (not mine) in it, the breakfast i asked for was scrambled egg on toast, this arrived on a massive plate with a simple none buttered piece of toast with a dollop of scrambled egg on top. I found the waiters and waitress whilst friendly seemed to be a bit slow and didnt speak english very well. On my checking out i was not asked how my stay was and so just left a comment card. I m a bit surprised really that such a lovely hotel looks wise can charge the amount for a room in that state and the crap service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smiler12312312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear smiler12312312

Thank you for your review. I am saddened to read your comments. I apologise that we did not live up to both our expectations at the hotel and can assure you that this is not a true reflection of the service and standard offered. I do hope that you will return in the future so that we can restore your faith in the hotel.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

My wife and i have just returned home from yet another lovely stay at The Newbury Manor and wanted to let people know what agreat place for a short break this place is. On arrival the staff at reception could not have been more helpfull. The rooms are very spacious,beds very comfortable.The bathroom i thought could have need of a little TLC but exceptionally clean.We stayed for two nights B&B and the breakfast was excellent,great selection of hot and cold food.The staff were also very welcoming and nothing was to much trouble in the River restaurant.The hotel is perfectly situated within walking distance of the racecourse and town centre which was ideal for us. Value for money,we will be returning with our friends in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the Manor house would be quieter as the gravell driveway ensures cars c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear kevin m

Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to read kind words and certainly makes the teams day. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over Xmas 2012 and ate three times a day!
Our rooms [we were 2 couples] were spacious and comfortable with a largish bathroom. Weather was cold outside but the rooms were warm. Bed comfortable. Breakfast was OK with hot options available, which were quite tasty. There was also a self serve buffet with cereals and the usual suspects.
The real treat was lunch and dinner. The menu choice is fairly wide with non-meaters reasonably catered for (ie more than one choice a course). There was a fixed price / set menu for lunch as well as ala carte. From three lunches and three dinners, we were not once disappointed. The food was very good, service quite good too. I recommend calling-in for a bit to eat [largish carpark out the back].

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doingittough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear doingittough

Thank you for your kind review. We are very proud to read your comments regarding you stay and especially the food which we pride ourselves on. I do hope that I can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Stayed as a group of 8 during January 13. Could not fault the hotel. Staff were very attentive and polite, the room was spotless and generally the hotel appeared to me newly decorated. The meal in the Garden restaurant was superb and the attention to detail and service could not be faulted. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Although the grounds were unfortunately flooded I imagine it is very picturesque in the summer. A huge thanks to all that made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: A room in the front will get you a lovely view of the river and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandgEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, General Manager at Newbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear jcdEsswx

Thank you for your kind review. It is a pleasure to read that you all had a memorable stay with us and hope that I can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Jamie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.0 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
5.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Manor Hotel

Property: Newbury Manor Hotel
Address: London Road, Newbury RG14 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Newbury Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Manor Hotel Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing