We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newbury Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Lodge(Newbury)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Queens Hotel(Newbury)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Reviews (364)
      Filter reviews
      364 results
      Traveller rating
      117
      113
      73
      37
      24
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      117
      113
      73
      37
      24
      See what travellers are saying:
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      196 - 201 of 364 reviews
      Reviewed 7 May 2013

      Lovely grounds & views by the river. Very disappointed by the Restaurant, very over priced....there's a pub over the road and you get better priced food and more for your money.
      Rooms weren't fantastic, TV channels were very hit & miss and the shower was awful....drip drip drip & thaton full power!
      If your looking for somewhere just for a nights stay without any luxury then this is ideal and good location for the Racecourse.
      Staff were very friendly & helpful so guess that's a bonus!

      • Stayed: February 2013
        • Value
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Hector2011
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 6 May 2013

      Stayed 4 May 2013. Newbury Manor has beautiful grounds with riverside restaurant, weir, and acres of water meadow. Beautiful to look at on sunny day. Probably less attractive in the rain as the restaurant is in separate building from the hotel. The weather was sunny for our weekend.
      First room (7) TV did not work - moved to room 9. Refused to serve dinner at restaurant at 6:30 even though empty. Room service suggested by Receptionist. 6 attempts to call room service over an hour yielded busy every time. Asked at reception and they were told that kitchen was "too busy" to serve room service so they had taken the phone off the hook. Advised by receptionist to eat at the Sizzler pub across the road.
      Breakfast (served 8-10:30am) we arrived at 9:30am. There were still half empty beer glasses on outside tables left from the night before. By this time they had no Tea pots, cereal bowls or juice glasses. 40 minutes to be served. Throughout restaurant they seemed to get orders wrong. Coffee request but poured tea, Wrong kinds of eggs, just about everything that could be wrong went wrong. Everything seemed too much trouble for the staff. 3 servings staff for just 13 inside tables where breakfast was served would seem to be enough if they had any idea of how to run a restaurant. Polite but incompetent is probably the best description of the service.
      Food when it arrived was good but probably not what you ordered.
      I spend over 20 weeks each year travelling on business and staying in hotels. The service we received at Newbury Manor was the worst in 30 years. On leaving other guests were complaining to receptionist at checkout. I felt sorry for the receptionist who was clearly trying her best!
      This hotel is good for a day trip visit but do not try to stay there and expect service. Our romantic weekend away was an embarrassing disaster. This hotel would not be suitable for young children as there is miles of unfenced river and 3 fast flowing weirs in the grounds. Although the restaurant has disabled ramps, it would be difficult to get to most other parts of the hotel and grounds in a wheelchair as there are so many steps. There were two steps to get to our "ground floor" room. No elevator to many upstairs rooms. The grounds had no paved paths beyond the entrance drive and even the car park was rough gravel.
      A hotel only good as a backdrop for pictures I am afraid.

      Room Tip: Do not select room 7 - window view obstructed and TV did not work. Room 9 is ground floor looking out over front of hotel with French windows and view over river. If you want to eat in the restaurant you need to book before you book the Hotel. Expect a very long wait for food - or better take sandwiches. Do not expect room service, or indeed any real service at any time.
      • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Neil H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 5 May 2013

      Having selected this hotel on the glowing recommendations of other Trip Advisor contributors, let me add another perspective. The hotel is pretty spectacular as you arrive in the grounds.
      I was optimistic, as I am likely to be a recurring visitor to Newbury, on business.
      The receptionist was arm-wrestling with another guest, who clearly wanted to change her room, when I arrived, so I already ascertained that the hotel was fully-occupied.
      I was allocated a room on the ground floor – the room was like a fridge when I arrived, but I was able to turn the heating up; the bathroom (even colder) had no heating; the double patio doors had a view of a grey concrete wall about ten feet away, and nothing else.
      The shower completely failed to produce hot water in the morning.
      The Wi-Fi and mobile phone signals were woefully weak and intermittent, in the room.
      Dinner which I had reserved in the restaurant, took 75 minutes to emerge from the kitchen, amidst profuse apologies from the hapless and un-managed staff (the food was fine).
      Upon checking out in the morning I asked for the manager, who had not arrived. The receptionist, having established that I wanted to complain immediately offered a £10 reduction from my bill, but that was the maximum allowed, or as an alternative I was invited to withhold my payment until the manager had called me later to discuss my complaints.
      I elected to pay, on condition that the manager rang me next day, which the receptionist offered, and noted my phone number correctly.
      Well, nearly a week has passed, and he didn’t bother…so sadly, here is my visit report, unexpurgated and the absolute truth, which is all you get from me on this site.
      I’ll be fascinated to see if the manager bothers to post a response, or back-pedals through the paperwork and calls me.
      So, fellow-travellers, if you decide to stay here, you know what to check before you accept your room allocation!

      Room Tip: See above - try to get a room with a view!
      • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank TheRoliingMcStones
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 May 2013

      The Newbury Manor Hotel is set in beautiful water filled gardens and is surprisingly peaceful considering how close it is to the busy A40. The decor in the room & bathroom were basic but it was well-equipped and the bed was comfortable. The restaurant was an excellent standard and the view stunning. the staff in both hotel and restaurant were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
      One word of warning - if you are going to the Racecourse, as we were, it is most definitely NOT 10 minutes walk away. More like 20-25 minutes and not to be recommended in heels. Get a cab its only a fiver each way.

      • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Tracey R
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 29 April 2013

      Just a one night stay. Hotel is a little old fashioned but room was huge with great view of river. All the facilities were good but shower was a little weak. Bed large and comfortable. Breakfast was in restaurant with stunning view, well cooked breakfast and friendly staff. Good stay

      Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
      Thank Charlie H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews