We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newbury Manor Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Altrincham
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Old manor house set back from the main road so no traffic noise and adequate parking space. Bedroom spacious and light. Large bathroom on the cool side as heated towel warmer not working and no maintenance staff available.
Restaurant certainly worth a visit - interesting menu with well cooked and presented dishes. The restaurant is situated by the water and would make an ideal spot for an outdoor lunch on a fine summer's day.
The complex would benefit from a little TLC here and there but very pleasant stay.
Overall very good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    114
    73
    38
    24
See reviews for
46
148
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Booked same day. Given excellent twin room (31) for £80 inc VAT. Probably more expensive in the week. We were delighted. Staff gave perfect balance between friendly and professional. Room excellent. I like fresh air and room gave onto car park where a few late leavers and early arrivals woke us. Sad. Beds very comfortable. Furniture quality fine. No "big hotel chain" impression.

Best was our evening meal. Real five star quality in flavours, presentation, service. Restaurant location is also amazing, as others have said. If we lived locally we would be there every month for a special meal out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We recently stayed here one night, and check in was easy as was check out. The room even if there was no view was quiet and well decoratedand the furniture showed no signs of wear as does big chain hotels. Breakfast choice could have been better, but overall would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteno, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Husband and I stayed here for two nights in early September while in the area to visit Highclere. Hotel is in a beautiful quiet setting, although I would have liked to see more flowers! We had number 17 with a lovely view and balcony. The staff was friendly and helpful. Restaurant was fine,enjoyed sitting outside. We would definitely return if we are back in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illinoistraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago and was very impressed with the hotel. Checking in was very efficient and friendly. We stayed in room 15 that had beautiful views of the river and the restaurant. It also had a balcony that was lovely to sit out on enjoying a glass of wine or two !!! We also ate in the river bar restaurant which has a great location situated between the two rivers, we were seated on a window table so could appreciate the location of the restaurant while enjoying their delicious food, which was also a very fair price compared to other hotels.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay at newbury manor and look forward to staying there again soon, perhaps to visit Highclere castle on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajwh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I travel to Newbury a lot and hadn't stayed at this hotel before, but last night I decided to try it. First impressions were what a lovely well kept old manor house with lovely views. I received a friendly welcome from reception and headed to my room. The corridors smell badly so some air freshener wouldn't go a miss. The furniture downstairs looks a little out dated. The room was large but to cut a long story short (because the water was reported in the evening) I had a broken bed that tilted down at the shoulder level when laid down, the TV signal just broke up all the time so no TV to watch. No WIFI working in the room despite it being advertised and even a card with the password on it in the room. The worst thing was the water. I scolded myself twice because there was no cold water coming to the shower or bath. Bizarrely the hot tap valve rotates itself making it hotter and hotter but if you try turning it to cold the water just stopped (as there's no cold water pressure). I didn't get a shower last night or this morning despite assurances last night it was fixed. I have a 9am meeting and feel tired and dirty. Not what I need when ive just paid £120 for the privilege. I mentioned all this to reception this morning and all I got was a "sorry for that" - not even a hint of recompense. Not good enough. simple as that.

Room Tip: whilst rooms overlooking the rivers are nice for the view the small waterfall makes a lot of noise s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazzer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newbury hotels

oxford, england
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Beautiful location, you would not think you were just of a main road. Sat and had drinks on the terrace followed by a good meal in a lovely setting. The room had a balconette and was just fine. Would go again any time. Try to negotiate a deal for dinner bed and breakfast, this worked out £160 for two. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burntbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.0 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
5.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Manor Hotel

Property: Newbury Manor Hotel
Address: London Road, Newbury RG14 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Newbury Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Manor Hotel Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing