We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value, beautiful setting, just a few small housekeeping issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newbury Manor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Terrific value, beautiful setting, just a few small housekeeping issues”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Such a pretty setting, really convenient for Newbury and Thatcham. Booked through Late Rooms and got a terrific deal. Staff friendly and helpful. We had room 12, right up on the 3rd floor, gave us a beautiful view over the millpond and water meadows. Good size, nice bathroom and we didn't hear anything from the functions going on downstairs. Just small niggles - the signal on the tv needs a booster as the picture and sound broke up so badly that we have no idea what the ending of the film was - grrrrrrr. The carpets could do with a light clean and the wardrobe door was sticking. The breakfast was super, good choice - the natural yoghurt was particularly good and the poached eggs on my Eggs Benedict were perfect. My husbands Full Manor was thoroughly enjoyed and very substantial. The Riverside Restaurant is a lovely setting, the paintwork could be improved but I'm sure this is in hand for next season, it must be an ongoing challenge being set over the water. Overall, really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose room 12 for the view if you don't mind stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LincolnLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    114
    73
    38
    24
See reviews for
46
148
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Lovely Hotel, Staff so friendly and rooms comfortable and clean, Riverside Restaurant could do with a lick of paint but Breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked and a beautiful pair of swans to keep us company.
.
We were staying for the night and ended up attending their Christmas Casino night, with a wonderful 3 course meal, Robbie Williams tribute act, Casino and Disco all for £20,00 per person as we were residents....brilliant! Will go back in the Summer to make the most of the gardens.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brindyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had our wedding here, both ceremony and reception, and the day was perfect. We had some troubles leading up to it - 3 different wedding coordinators, so felt a bit disjointed until about a month before. The manager, Jamie, pulled it all together well. I was disappointed that he wasn't there on the day, but Mike, who covered for him was spot on and made us feel like royalty. The rooms were very well decked out and my sister feels that their website doesn't do the place justice and she didn't realise just what good value it would be.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a family get together here at the weekend and it took some organising. The room was good overall and the food we had at the Riverside Restaurant was excellent.

Some of our rooms did not have any hot water despite the advice to run the tap - it never got even warm. Management understanding but nothing done about it - seems to be an onging problem that the hotel should think about spending some money to fix.

I have marked the sleep quality as poor because of the large function on at the same time - Fall Ball for the Multiple Sclerosis Society - the people spent most of the night runnig between rooms laughing and shouting - till 5am. Hotel apologetic but needed to be more forceful about it. (shame on you MS Society - if they are putting your name to things you should make sure people behave).

Room Tip: Room 33 is a nice size twin - ground floor. Large patio door - no view only a brickwall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed two nights. Notice in bathroom states to run hot water tap for several minutes to get hot water. The tap was run for 20 minutes or even more.. still no hot water. My wife could not wash her hair for 2 days. Explained the situation to reception, who said the issue would be passed on to the Management and we are sure to be contacted. As of yet, we have not been contacted and therefore we would not recommend or stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not have Room 17 unless the hot water problem is fixed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAAGS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newbury hotels

Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is the second time we have booked and eaten at the Riverside restaurant and both occasions were special. From the moment we arrived the manager and staff were friendly and attentive. There was plenty of choice on the menu and when the food arrived the presentation and quality was first class. I would recommend this venue, you won't be disappointed.

Thanks to the staff for making our evening so enjoyable!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SueTadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had our wedding 'do' here, we had a small ceremony in Scotland but wanted a chance to see friends & family in Berkshire, having always wanted to dine here when we lived in Newbers, and having viewed the gardens from the canal path we took the plunge and booked ... we were not disappointed and will be booking to stay here or further Newbury visits now we have found this gem in the heart of the town.

We booked the piano bar for welcome drinks and then onto the conservatory for a private dining function, all our needs were met by attentive yet discreet staff, from booking to keeping an eye on drinks through out the evening.

We and our out of towners stayed at the hotel, all very pleased with our rooms.

As someone who works within the hotel industry myself I feel this hotel is really great value, sublime settings and helpful staff ... should be a 4 star rating!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryjane021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.0 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
635 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,791 reviews
2.0 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Newbury London Road
0.9 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#10 of 17 in Newbury
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Manor Hotel

Property: Newbury Manor Hotel
Address: London Road, Newbury RG14 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Newbury Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Manor Hotel Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing