We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newbury Manor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Hotel re furb without notification on any web sites, overpriced restaurant, food quality sub standard. Ashame could be nice!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criticLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2010

We booked a room here as we were having our work Xmas party at the hotel. Well what a shambles this hotel is it should be cautoined under the Health and Safety Act. We were shoehorned int a room that should have had a maximum of 100 guests but we counted 300 God help us if there was a fire. The serving staff put one of our guests meal in front of them and the space was so tight that she broke our guest's wine glass which smashed into her dinner- they replaced the meal but we had to ask for a replacement glass of wine. Our table had the misfortume to be next to the kitchen so every time the staff appeared with food we were in fear of our lives of getting burnt or having food descend upon us, and we were asked to move in every time a waiter or waitress came through, so we ended up playing musical chairs most of the evening. I am afraid greed overcame customer care on this occassion and we did not enjoy the experience one bit.
One of our colleagues was ill all night she thinks due to food poisoning as the queue for the bar was so horrendous it certainly was not having over indulged in alcohol and she only managed one glass of wine all night. We would have had a better time at the local prison and we wouldn't have had to pay the extortionate prices this "hotel" charges- do yourselves a favour and give it a very wide berth.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blueandwhitehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

this hotel is old and dirty ,poorly maintained, only the gardner and his dog are friendly,
the food is not recommended, there isn,t any breakfast left on the buffet after 8.30,
the waitresses don,t know what hospitallity is,they won,t talk to you or give any response at your questions, they only have eyes for the son of the boss and if there is any chef-cook at all he don,t know how to prepare a decent meal, it has no taste at all.
fire that man!!!
expansive and horrible food, no management to complain
we,ll ever never go to the manor again
it is a shame

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingrid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Mold in the shower... over priced and the food and service was terrible

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kisbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

There are two superb elements to this 'hotel'; one the friendliness and politeness of all the staff and second the wonderful restaurant which could not be faulted (what is this chef doing in such a place?).
As a hotel though it simply isn't. Managment is so clearly lacking in so many areas and there is no attention to detail of any kind. The room we had (supposedly a suite but it contained only 1 chair and 1 bed!) was freezing cold and the heating did not work. We were moved to another room which was no more than acequate although it was clean
The place obviously caters for weddings and christenings and consists of s series of dreary, poorly furnished function rooms. We arrived during the afternoon, asked for afternoon tea but were told such an item had to be ordered in advance!! No sign of such information on the website.
Altogether a totally forgettable experience and a place to be avoided if you are expecting to find an efficient moderately sophisticated hotel. Considerably overpriced except for the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inkleton18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Couldn't fault any of the staff...............really friendly, attentive and relaxed.......excellent breakfast and service.

Stayed in Room No 6 for two night. On 1st entering room looked good and was nice and clean and tidy. Went to make a cup of tea, could just (after a few Krypton factor moves!) fill the kettle in the sink. The kettle then had to be balance on a soft chair as the plug was no where near where the kettle and tray were......very odd! Bed had no head board, TV channel reception was very poor on all channels. Picture light above the desk area (where the kettle was with no nearby plug) was very loose and coming away from wall, shower bracket was also loose with exposed fixings, toilet seat was loose, curtains didn't block out light and again there were lose fixings with exposed screws. There was coiled telephone wire on top of radiator and ............yes .......no in room telephone although there was a list of phone charges.. Hot tap on sink was loose and hot water stopped when showering at 19.00..........on the Friday evening.

The hotel was hosting a function on Friday evening and got woken at 02.30 by rowdy guests outside room.

At a rate of £100 a night this did not represent good room value - would suggest staying in another room.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank SH2Ponderosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Lovely hotel on the river! The staff were very friendly and helpful and we dined in the River Bar which was fantastic. The setting was stunning. The hotel was near the town centre however you felt like you were in the middle of the countryside! Breakfast was also pretty good not the best but satisfactory!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samsam_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,850 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
651 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
1.4 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
805 reviews
1.9 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Manor Hotel

Address: London road, Newbury RG14 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range: £135 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Newbury Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Manor Hotel Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing